CRATER LAKE LODGE: CHRONOLOGICAL HISTORY
This chronology arose from the need for more historical information
on the Crater Lake Lodge when rehabilitation efforts began to accelerate
in late 1989. A narrative history was prepared as part of the historic
structure report on the building in 1982, but funding and planning
problems delayed its publication until 1984. The information in the HSR
was augmented by the BOOR/A report of 1986, which led to the formulation
of alternatives concerning the disposition of the lodge and the
circulation pattern of Rim Village. In February 1988, a Development
Concept Plan was approved so that the rehabilitation of the building
could be funded as part of a package aimed at redeveloping Rim
When the DCP was approved, it was thought that the lodge
rehabilitation would take place at the end of the ten year funding
package. Structural problems connected with the closing of the building
in May 1989 changed the construction schedule and accelerated the design
program for the lodge. After an inventory of salvageable items
was done by DSC architects and park staff in September 1989, the need be
came apparent for a technical supplement to previous work.
Project Team Captain Craig Frazier requested that a building
chronology be undertaken that would cover initial construction,
subsequent alteration, and changes to the immediately adjacent
landscape. In stead of an addition to the HSR, it was agreed that a more
effective presentation of the additional source material made available
since 1982 would be a concise, referenced chronology that could be read
in con junction with other work about the lodge and Rim Village. The
most important sources for context are the following:
1. Greene, Linda. 1982. "Historical Data Section," pages 17-134 in
Arbogast, et al., Historic Structure Report, Crater Lake Lodge,
Crater Lake Lodge, Crater Lake, Oregon. Denver: USDI, NPS, Branch of
2. Unrau, Harlan D. 1988. Administrative History, Crater Lake
National Park, Oregon. Denver: USDI, NPS.
3. Mark, Stephen R. 1990. Chapter 17, Planning and Development at Rim
Village: 1886 - Present. Continuation of the park's administrative
4. Gilbert, Cathy, and Luxenberg, Gretchen. 1990. Historic
Landscape Report: Rim Village, Crater Lake National Park.
Forthcoming. Seattle: USDI, NPS, Cultural Resources Division.
||Park is created; an informal campground has earlier been established
on Victor Heights (now the picnic area) and near or on the site of the
||A road to the rim is completed by Superintendent Arant. The last mile of
the road approximates the present location of the Raven ski trail and
replaces a wagon track made by the Sutton Party in 1869 which is now
part of the Dutton Creek trail. (2)|
||Crater Lake Company is formed, W.G. Steel and George Woodbury are
majority stockholders. Crater Camp is established adjacent to the site
of the future lodge. (3)|
|Summer of 1908
||Southern Pacific head E.H. Harriman visits the site of the future lodge
and suggests that an outside fireplace be incorporated into the exterior
of the building. Steel gives himself credit for choosing the building's
location, but this may have been more a reaction to the existing
road/trail system than anything else. Apparently no consultation with a
geologist was made. (4)|
||Steel states that a rustic hotel will be constructed this season as will
an electric lighting plant (generator) and tent houses for guests who
will stay near the hotel site. Portland developer Alfred Parkhurst is
now the company's majority stockholder, supplying much needed capital
for the park development. He accompanies Steel to the rim to make
measurements for a water system and to pick a site for the building. (5)|
||Workmen are engaged in constructing a water system to serve the future
hotel and the present wooden dining facility. The system (which will
utilize Munson Spring) will utilize wooden pipe. (6)|
||A telegraph line has been put in that allows for communication between
the rim development and park headquarters at Annie Springs. By the end
of the season, the new hotel's foundation has been completed. (7)|
||Parkhurst goes to the park and states that this summer will see the
lodge completed. He says that the hotel was originally planned to be a
frame building, but this has now been superceded by stone. The lodge is
to be ornamented in design, be 150 feet long, have glassed porches
facing the lake, and contain four great stone chimneys. (8)|
||Parkhurst states that the "guest hall" will be 50 x 80 feet in size,
with a great fireplace at either end. At the north [actually west] end
of the lodge will be erected a huge outdoor fireplace where campfires
will be held. (9)|
||The company uses cars known as Locomobiles to haul tourists to the rim.
This is due to the durability and gearing of these vehicles, which allow
for transport of people and supplies up the last mile of road. (10)|
||Frank Keyes is the company's building contractor. In a newspaper
interview, he states that the lodge will be constructed of stone
throughout. The material is to come from one of the "nearby volcanic
ledges" and will be hauled about half a mile. Although rough, it is
supposedly splendid building rock but is a little difficult to handle
and must be put into walls as it was fashioned by nature as it will not
stand much hammering. "A large amount of cement will be used in the
setting for these stones and when the walls are completed and the roof,
which is to be of tiling, is put on, it will defy the ravages of the
elements for all time to come." In each room, there will be a large
fireplace and mantle "like the old-timers of the back woods country were
used to." (11)|
||The water system is completed and a hydraulic ram at Munson Spring is
installed. By the end of the season, much of the kitchen's exterior has
been constructed of "hewn" rock, and in one account, the room is
occupied, but no further detail is given. (12)|
||R.N. Hockenberry of Portland is named as the lodge's architect in a
letter from the Secretary of the Interior. (13)|
||Parkhurst states that there has been difficulty in cutting
rock and getting building material to the lodge site. He at first
expected the hotel to cost $5000, but estimates now run in the $25,000
to $30,000 range. Arrangements have been made for the Burns and Utter
sawmill (now the site of Wilson's Cottages) to provide lumber. An
artists conception of the lodge is published, showing the north side to
have large plate glass windows and a pergola. A mock Tudor exterior is
shown above the stonework, much like other Craftsman designs of the
||A newspaper article states that the north wall of the hotel will consist
of glass throughout and that the building will have four massive
fireplaces besides the one outside. (15)|
||Masons are said to be close to having the stone walls of the lodge put
up, but the walls are incomplete at the end of the season because of the
time-consuming task of quarrying the rock for the walls and hauling
it by wagon to the rim. In a separate newspaper interview, Steel
says that the north wall of the "assembly hail" is now finished. The
dining hall will seat 100 guests and he hopes that the entire building
will be enclosed during the fall months. Cook (1980) indicates that the
origin of the building rock shifted to the Annie Springs area at this
time because it was better quality. In a letter to Steel dated 1/18/12,
Parkhurst describes the 1911 season as being short and full of problems.
He says that 80 percent of the kitchen wing is completed, and the
stonework of the lobby and dining hall is finished. The only lumber
source is a little mill at Wildcat (just outside the old south boundary,
some three miles inside the present one). Parkhurst has lumber brought
to the construction site, but cannot get carpenters. He has to leave
9000 pounds of roofing material, 50 chairs, 30 beds, and provisions in
storage in Klamath Falls because the items cannot be freighted up.
||Parkhurst tells Steel that the hotel can be finished by the end of 1913.
Financing difficulties compel Steel to go to Washington and lobby for a
20 year lease. Parkhurst says that he will walk away from the project
without the lease. It is obtained, and Steel begins a campaign to
replace Arant once Wilson is elected President. (17)|
||A Department of Interior inspector comes to the park to see what Steel's
case is against Arant. The inspector describes the hotel construction
as being 40 percent complete, with 90 percent of the stonework done. He
states that the lodge will 2/15/13 have a frontage of 162 feet and a
veranda 16 feet wide that will run full length of the building. The
inside arrangement provides for 40 guest rooms, a great hall, office and
lobby, baggage room, kitchen, two bath rooms with wash basins on each of
the upper floors. The wooden structure of 1907 near the hotel supplies
water from Munson Spring and pit toilets are provided near the tent
houses west of the lodge. Refuse is buried some 300 yards away from the
hotel, but there are plans to install a large septic tank about 200 feet
south of the building outside the drainage area of the water supply
(this is near the manhole that backed up in 1975). A September windstorm
severely damages the tents, prompting Parkhurst to submit plans for some
simple gable roofed cottages drawn by Hockenberry. They will have short
concrete footings to raise them above ground and will contain six rooms
on each side and a lavatory room in the middle. (18)|
||The kitchen and dining room are expected to be ready for the 1914
season, but the roof over the east end of the dining room has yet to be
completed. A pergola is expected to be built on the north end of the
building in 1916. (19)|
|Winter of 1913-14
||Snow does severe damage to the lodge's roof, much of it collapsing into
the basement. (20)|
||Army road crews open a new road to the rim to replace what had been
built in 1905. This route reaches Rim Village just east of the present
Employee Dorm and continues north to the lodge, veering west from there
to begin the Rim Drive. (21)|
||General Superintendent for National Parks Mark Daniels arrives to
consult with Steel and Parkhurst on a development that he calls "Rim
Village". Crater Lake is one of several parks proposed to have a village
modeled after Daniels' plans for Yosemite Valley. (22)|
||Steel recommends that the Government acquire all hotels and improvements
made by private parties in the park in his annual report to the
Secretary of the Interior. The properties would then be leased back to
interested parties. Apparently hinting at Parkhurst's financial
difficulties, Steel suggests that this be tried in the park because
"construction of private improvements is in its infancy at Crater Lake."
||Parkhurst states the hotel is 95 percent complete and that in
June of the coming year carpenters will be put to work finishing the
interior. Upon the building's completion, the company's tents will be
moved from the rim to Annie Springs. Daniels' consulting firm does a
drawing for the lodge's lobby counter and main staircase. (24)|
||Parkhurst states that there are nine rooms on the second floor and nine
rooms on the third floor that are supplied with hot and cold water.
These rooms will be "extra well furnished" and are worthy of an extra
charge of 50 cents a day. He contemplates charging 25 cents a day for
heating stoves in rooms if guests want them. An extra charge of 50 cents
will be made for baths (which are not in the rooms) because the plumbing
costs $3000 to install. (25)|
||An article in the Saturday Evening Post states that golf links are
proposed for the area east of the lodge and that cottages will take the
place of tent houses at the rim. (26)|
||Lodge opens with dinner served in the dining room. The hotel supposedly
has 68 bedrooms on three floors and is about 50 feet from the rim. The
dimensions of the building are 50 by 120, with the dining room 30 x 40,
great hall 40 x 50, and lobby 30 x 40. (27)|
||Cook (1980) recalls being told that the company's Locomobiles had for
several seasons been hauling all of the rock from Annie Springs to the
lodge site for the building's foundation and walls. Until July only
Parkhurst and a few others live in temporary quarters in the lodge and
meals are served in the kitchen. He says all meals are served in the
dining room after the lodge opens and that most employees are housed
there. He states that the Rim Camp trail begins east of a hogback near
the rim and descends west over the hogback for a short distance, then
east before switchbacking on hair pin turns. In 1972, he visits Rim
Village and cannot find the trail, saying that erosion has moved
headward and the edge of the rim seemed to have moved closer to the
lodge by 20 feet. The hogback was gone. (28)|
||Mark Daniels is said to be working on water color designs and plans for
Rim Village. Like the original plans for the lodge, these drawing have
||Newspaper report that some lodge rooms have hot and cold water, and that
there is a plan to build a 16 foot porch and pergola along the entire
north side of the building during 1916. (30)|
||Lodge manager H.C. Tuller is quoted as saying that the building will
offer first class accommodations beginning in the 1916 season. (31)|
||The sleeping accommodations of the lodge are pressed to the limit by 258
guests registering for one night. Shakedown beds and chairs are used in
the great hall to handle guests who do not have rooms. (32)|
||An inspection report states that paint and plaster residue are on the
finishes of the mantles of the two interior fireplaces. Candles have
been used for lights, and there is lumber for construction of an office
piled in the great hall. Outside of the building, there are now wooden
floor tents available for 100 guests. Visitors using the campground have
to come to the lodge for water, there being no water or sewer system to
serve them. (33)|
||A complaint letter to Congressman Sinnott describes the Rim Camp trail
as exceedingly dangerous. The writer notes that the lodge has no fire
escapes and an "imperfect" water supply. The building is not completed
and is illuminated above the first floor by kerosene lamps and candles.
||Staehli in BOOR/A (1986) says that original interior wall and ceiling
finish in the guest rooms was tar paper-like and supplemented by beaver
board. The exterior was built mostly with sawn planks and boards like a
conventional house. Sawn planks 2 x 10 to 2 x 16 were nail laminated to
make beams. Walls were stud framed with reinforcing horizontal plank
beams added at the eaves. Roofs were similarly framed, but heavier and
closer spaced. Lumber used was Douglas-fir, larch, western hemlock, and
Ponderosa pine. (35)|
||There is telephone communication between the lodge and Annie Springs.
Snow banks extend upward to the front dormer windows of the building.
||Bush (1953) states "the interior [of the lodge] was not completed and
the bark slabs lining the huge living room or "Foyer" covered only half
of the wall space. The great fireplace was there, however, and was the
center of hotel life." (37)|
||The Portland Chamber of Commerce says that the lodge should not be
confused with an elaborate hotel of the summer resort variety. They say
the building has 54 rooms, some with hot and cold water. Bathrooms and a
good dining room are available. Earlier in the season Superintendent
Sparrow opens a new trail to the water using an earlier design by Mark
Daniels. It starts on the north side of the lodge and is called the Lake
Trail. The trail is 1.25 miles long with a 15 percent grade. (38)|
||The company's tents are still located west of the hotel. Sparrow plans
to make a definite parking area away from the rim but near the lodge. A
new cesspool will be dug further away from the building because the
already overflowing cesspool had sewage discharged into it in 1917. This
caused the sewage to well up and run on the ground with a noticeable
odor dominating the vicinity. (39)|
||A large tank is built in the campground and water pipe laid for an NPS
water system to service the rim campground for the 1919 season. Pumping
equipment will be installed at Munson Spring in 1919 so that the system
will be operational. (40)|
||Maximum capacity of the lodge is said to be 200 people. Director Mather
hints at closing the building on his tour due to the unsatisfactory
conditions he has encountered. He is accompanied by the NPS's newly
hired and first landscape architect, Charles Punchard. A brochure for
the season shows that the 1907 frame structure is still next to the
||A visitor complains that there are no keys to any of the lodge's guest
||Four steel fire escape ladders are placed on the building. Three are on
the south side (leading down from the third floor men's room, room 317,
and room 301) and one on the north side (from room 310). (43)|
||A Delco lighting plant (generator) is installed next to the lodge near
the present transformer house. An inspector reports that the building is
still unfinished. (44)|
||The holiday weekend fiasco results in Parkhurst's ouster as hotel
manager eight days later. A newspaper account also includes a
description of blankets being fine, heavy, and woolen of good quality.
The linen is good also, but rooms are cold because the windows once
opened cannot be shut. Many win dows are difficult to open. (45)|
||A branch store is maintained in the lodge lobby while the main one is at
Annie Springs. In his report for the 1920 season, Punchard advocates the
use of volcanic rock in CRLA buildings, either alone or in combination
with logs in the design of buildings. A photo taken in August shows that
cars are parked along the west side of the hotel and that a circular
turnaround area along the south side has been developed. (46)|
||One of the charges against Parkhurst is that there are no toilets on the
first floor because of a lack of plumbing, while on the second floor the
toilets in the two restrooms are not properly screened from the bath
||A "Crater Lake Committee" appointed by Governor Olcott details its
findings about Parkhurst's operation of the lodge. They say that the
guest rooms are not completely or well furnished, that the lighting
system has been inadequate, that the outside fireplace is not properly
sheltered from the wind, and that there is no garage. It is stated that
the lodge is weatherproof and in generally good repair, but consider
able money should be spent to improve the interior. The 1907 frame
building, now used as a storehouse (located about 100 feet from the
hotel) is unsightly and in disrepair.|
In their recommendations, the committee states the hotel does not have
adequate pumping facilities and so has run short of water on several
occasions. Laundry facilities are said to be 85 miles away in Medford,
but the beds are comfortable and the mattresses, pillows, and bedsteads
are of fairly good quality. They comment that the rooms are poorly
arranged and generally inadequate, and that no ice or fresh milk is
||Parkhurst has control of the lodge for the time being and announces
the appointment of E.E. Larimore (formerly of The Oregon in Portland) as
manager and J.C. Fritz (of the Arlington and University clubs) as cook.
He says that accommodations will be three times as extensive as the
previous year and will consist of 50 tent houses, six 8-room cottages,
and a comfort station with baths and hot running water. A week later,
Parkhurst eliminates himself from management "voluntarily".
||The Crater Lake National Park Company is formed by E.V. Hauser and
R.W. Price. Carl Y. Tengwald (formerly of the Holland Hotel in Medford)
is now manager. An option to buy out Parkhurst is given to the company,
who will operate concessions in the park on a trial basis. On the same
day, Albright writes Mather that Parkhurst is incorporating the Oregon
Resort Company and will bid to develop a resort at Union Creek proposed
by the Forest Service. (50)|
||Crater Lake National Park Co. plans to place its newly outfitted tent
houses to the east of the lodge. The tents have wooden floors, have wood
walls eight feet high, and have screens. (51)|
||Assistant Director Albright credits A.B. Dohrman, President of the
Yosemite Park Company, with get ting leading Portlanders to endorse
creation of the Crater Lake National Park Company so that Parkhurst's
share of the concession operation can be bought out. (52)|
||Hauser and Price plan to have a pianist, drums, and saxophone as part of
an evening orchestra in the lodge. Four maids and five waitresses are
||Violin sections are played at the lodge in evenings with the great
hall "beautifully decorated" with greens. Steel gives evening talks in
the lodge and shows his Claude Lorrain mirror to visitors who supposedly
take a great interest in seeing the lake reflected in it. The lodge is
now using its new office which has a store (west side of great hall, is
connected to the registration area) for the convenience of campers.
||New plumbing has been installed throughout the lodge. Some photographs
in the Steel Scrapbook for this season show a rustic railing west of the
great hall fireplace to separate the orchestra from the audience.
Another photo shows an Indian motif wall hanging on the great hall's
southeast wall and a standup Victrola next to the great hail's north
door. A photo of the great hall's west wall shows chairs and the new
||The desk, store, and manager's office in the lodge are reported to be
complete. New banisters of logs are finished and are in place on the
stairs and window of the landing. Five private baths have been
installed on the second floor and the rooms are newly calcimined, "greatly
improving the appearance of the guest rooms in the lodge". (56)|
||Outside fireplace dedicated by Mather, Secretary Fall, Olmsted Jr., and
Southern Pacific President McCormick. Later that evening there is a
roof fire burning out of the big flue because the masons had not removed
the wooden formwork when the chimney was constructed. Although the
fireplace has been used several times since construction, no fire until
this one has burned hot enough to ignite the wood. Damage is reported to
be slight. (57)|
||The exterior walls of black building paper are covered by shingles and
stained brown. The roof is stained green. A comfort station is built
east of the lodge to service the company's tent houses. Its appearance
is intended to match the stonework of the new Kiser Studio and that in
the annexes of the lodge. (58)|
||A relief map of the park is placed in the lobby. W.A. Kamps (formerly of
Portland's Multnomah Hotel) is appointed manager. Price lets his lease
on Portland's Mallory Hotel expire and becomes more active in company
management. The summer season has brought a 42 percent increase in the
number of visitors and a 48 percent rise in the number of cars in the
||A photo of Steel is hung over the mail box "in the most prominent place
in the lobby" and an electric light is placed over the picture. (60)|
||Auto mechanic John Maben is appointed as the first winter caretaker for
the lodge. He serves in this capacity until the spring of 1929. (61)|
||The company has its headquarters in the Multnomah Hotel and states
that it will exercise its option and take over the business from
Parkhurst. It plans 35 additional tent houses and a new wing for the
lodge. A builder (F.P. Salter) is now at the lodge preparing sketches
for the addition. The article concludes by saying that all plans, even
to colors, must first be approved by the NPS. (62)|
||Hauser says that the company needs $60,000 for construction of the new
wing, $20,000 for repairs, and $40,000 to buy Parkhurst out. (63)|
||Maben reports that snow is 16 feet deep at the lodge and that it is
banked up to the second story on the north side of the building.
||An affidavit from a 1920 visitor is brought into evidence against
Parkhurst when he refuses Hauser's offer. It states that the one male
toilet on his floor was situated in an inside room and was separated
from the only bathroom on that floor by a seven foot partition. The
walls of his guest room had cracks that al lowed an adjacent room to be
viewed when lights were put out. In this room and others, the walls were
made of plaster board which was of wood fiber composition. There was a
crack of about a quarter inch between the joining of the boards that
allows a person to look through it. (65)|
||Newspaper article says that the annexes will supplant the old lodge when
they are finished, so that the original lodge can be reconstructed
throughout. Great difficulty is being experienced in procuring the
building materials. The first step is to open a rock quarry so that
stone for the annexes can be obtained. (66)|
||Parkhurst denies that he has sold his interest in the concession to the
Crater Lake National Park Company. The lodge supposedly has 64 sleeping
||Punchard's successor, Daniel Hull, wants the annexes to look similar to
the original lodge in stonework, windows, and roof. After talking to
Price and the contractor Salter, Hull notes that the fire escapes on the
west end of the annexes are drawn on the plans and represent the "best
they could do without expending a large sum." (68)|
||Salter hopes to have the stonework of annexes complete in a few days so
that carpenters can do the framing during the 1923 season. The "granite"
used for the annexes comes from the Watchman area, lumber and supplies
from Chiloquin, while sand is hauled from Union Creek. The annexes will
have 86 rooms, of which 36 will have bath, toilet, and wash basin; while
23 rooms will have wash basin and toilet; the remainder (25 rooms) will
have a wash basin (referred to as a "lavatory") only. The season's
visitation goes up 25 percent from the previous year to 35,000. (69)|
||Crater Lake National Park Company receives a 20 year contract that is
made retroactive from 1/1/22. It promises completion of the annexes by
the 1924 season. (70)|
||Newspaper article notes that there is a gas-driven generator at the
lodge for interior lighting, but no out door lighting so far. (71)|
||In a 1987 letter to the editor, Medford's Archie Pierce recalls hauling
stone from the west rim (Watchman?) for the completion of the annexes.
He states that he also transported lumber from Chiloquin to the
Superintendent Thomson notes that a rustic screen was built to eliminate
the lodge's clotheslines from view (in the service area near the comfort
station?). Visitation for the season goes up 50 percent to 52,000. (72)
||Contractor is reported to be working on the interior of the annexes.
||Mather says that the war and the establishment of the budget system have
been responsible for the failure to carry out the original CRLA
(Daniels'?) program. (74)|
||The annexes are to make a total of 147 well furnished rooms in the
lodge. A large number of these are to have private bath and all will
have running water. Price says that the lodge along with the tent houses
should suffice for some time to come, "the annexes with its furnishings,
additional water supply, and sewage disposal system represent a sizeable
investment with no assurance of immediate return." (75)|
||There are news and cigar stands in the lobby of the lodge; a telephone
is hooked up in the building. (76)|
||The company completes the furnishing of 22 rooms in the annexes.
Unprecedented auto traffic allows the park to be the only one in the
system to have paid its own way. Construction does not erase evidence of
a somewhat circular turnaround area in front of the building's entrance.
The 1907 storehouse is demolished. (77)|
||Travel to CRLA will break all records. Mather announces the approval of
a five year NPS development plan for the park. The annexes are to cost
$100,000 before they are complete and will comprise 85 rooms. The
basement and stonework were done in 1922, while the superstructure and
roof were built in 1923, and a portion of the interior completed in
1924. Twenty rooms have been finished and are now in use. The building
is being finished "in rustic fashion in the interior with the use of
yellow [Ponderosa] pine." (78)|
||Refrigeration at the lodge is accomplished by use of snow in an "ice
box" that is unscreened until the U.S. Public Health inspection.
Inspector recommends that the company run a four inch line from the
storage tank in the campground to the hotel. This should be connected
with the two 2" line mains from Munson Spring now in use that feed the
storage tank. Thomson wants a pump house constructed at Mun son Spring.
Construction begins on a new sewage plant for the lodge that utilizes
crushed rock. (79)|
||Maben recalls the previous winter at the lodge. He says that shutters
were put on the windows of the lobby and dining room at the close of the
1924 season. His quarters are in the basement, where in summer the
supplies and stores are kept, aligned so that he sleeps under a window.
States that items had to be gathered from the kitchen, bakery, and
pantry and put down in the basement. Pumps had to be put away and
pipesdrained. He says that the storm of November 1924 shook the
building, so that windows rattled and every joint in the timbers was
creaking and groaning, "the fourth floor was like the deck of a ship in
moderately rough weather." The wind drives snow through with such force
that it sifts in around window casings, through the dormer roofs, and
between the shingles. He states that "there is hardly a square foot on
the storm side that the snow does not find its way through." Maben
cannot have a fire during the storm because the wind comes down the
chimney with such force that it will lift the lids off of the stove, so
he has to eat cold canned food. In March 1925, he says that he could
step from the snow to the roof on the north side of the lodge. (80)|
||Nine rooms are completed in the lodge. The sewage disposal system is
finished at the end of the season. Laundry is now being taken to Klamath
Falls daily. Price does not allow dancing in the lodge, so guests go
over to the Community House where there is a phonograph. Patterson's
postcards are one of the few things sold in the lodge's store. A piano
is in the great hall and there are nightly singing programs. Lights go
out at midnight because of the Delco generator. (81)|
||A gigantic earth and rock slide just below the hotel does major damage
to the Lake trail. (82)|
||In a letter to Mather, Steel recalls that Parkhurst sold his real estate
development in Portland for $50,000 to finance the original lodge.
||NPS begins an extensive improvement program for the park. A new pumping
plant and water system will be constructed at Munson Spring, while a
small comfort station will be built near the water at the foot of the
Lake trail. (84)|
||In a Standard Oil Bulletin, there is a photo of lumber piles on the
ground near the west annex on the south side. One hemlock tree still
stands south of the lodge where the present roadway is, and some grass
grows in the turnaround in front of the building's entrance. The first
road oiling project is begun at the rim to fight the blowing pumice dust
after a new road from Munson Valley reached Rim Village. The route
changed the village's circulation pattern considerably because it now
enters the area at a plaza created by the NPS instead of near the lodge.
The 1914 route is abandoned. (85)|
||Seven percent of the visitors patronized the lodge during a year when
113,000 came to the park. No physical improvements are made in the hotel
structure and no new furnishings or embellishments are added. The
largest grading project ever attempted on the rim is done is front of
the lodge with Fresno scrapers. A pump house is constructed at Munson
Spring and water pipe laid in Rim Village. (86)|
||A veranda on the lodge's north side has been started and will be
completed by the end of the 1929 season. (87)|
||Planning for definition of roadways and a promenade is begun. A log
parapet is planned for the control of parking until stone curbing is put
in. A drainage culvert was put in during 1928 in the fill area to carry
run off. It is 18" corrugated pipe and 40 feet long. (88)|
||Albright tells Price of visitor criticism that rooms are inadequately
furnished, especially with regard to curtains and rugs. "Effort was made
to keep the rooms clean but they were in such an unfinished condition,
from a standpoint of paint and furnishings, that it was impossible to
make them look attractive. Money should be spent to make the lobby
attractive and only a small amount should be involved in making the
guest rooms attractive and liveable." (89)|
||Price is now the sole manager of the lodge and is assisted by his
daughter. He says that Frank Salter, as usual, will be in charge of all
the company's building this year. (90)|
||The NPS opens the Crater Wall trail that begins from the promenade near
the new cafeteria following a route earlier blazed by Fred Kiser. The
Lake trail is abandoned. (91)|
||Public health inspector notes the leakage in lodge's plumbing. He
questions whether the water system can provide enough for the NPS
"naturalization" program on the rim. An agreement is then hatched
whereby a half acre west of the lodge is sown to grass as an experiment
to gauge water usage. He notes that the NPS plans to grow a lawn in the
open area west of the lodge and plant shrubbery around the lodge
||Landscape architect EA. Davidson orders six foot wide walks be staked as
diagonal paths to augment circulation along the promenade. The first
planting soil is secured along the west rim road about half a mile away
from Rim Village and out of sight. Some time is spent investigating
areas adjacent to the rim for suitable shrubs and small trees to be used
for the autumn transplanting work, but the best area seems to be what is
now Steel Circle. Davidson recommends a change in the water system from
the two foot high stand up faucets to box faucets. Superintendent
Solinsky's idea about having a sidewalk on the north side of the log
parapets is adopted, but not implemented until stone curbing is put in
several years later. (93)|
||A small spring is located on Garfield Peak that is thought to be of
possible use in the naturalization pro gram. (94)|
||The veranda is near completion. It is 80 feet long and constructed along
the older section of the lodge. It is built of large rocks cemented
together in a wall about six feet high around the edge of the veranda,
rising about two feet above the floor. It has a concrete foundation and
steps that go down to the promenade. During construction, one of the
lodge's windows is covered, as is what had been referred to as the "ice
chute". The graveling of paths that Davidson recommended is partly
||A lawn will extend about 1000 feet west of the lodge. In the
experimental area, loam has been hauled in and fertilized. Four days
later, there is a report that the veranda has been paved and railed,
with a $600 awning added. Rocking chairs have been placed on it. The
lodge has done its greatest business in history so far this season. A
confectionery counter is located in the lodge. (96)|
||NPS correspondence states that the lodge has 105 sleeping rooms, but
only 20 have a private bath. Public restrooms on second and third floors
are small and need constant attention to keep clean. Visitation jumps
to 128,000 for the year. (97)|
||About ten percent of the rim area has been planted and walks need to be
completed. The log parapet has been finished along the road and in the
turnaround loop in front of the lodge entrance. (98)|
||Rudy Lueck is now lodge caretaker and says that five pigeons which had
nested under the lodge's eaves have been found dead from the cold.
||Report that reiterates the Summer 1929 correspondence about the lodge
having 105 sleeping rooms and only 20 rooms have private bath. There is
a photographic studio in the lodge, but the entrance to the lobby should
be widened and made more attractive. The veranda is a great improvement,
but something similar should be added on the south side for the
unloading of guests. There is not enough electric power to heat rooms.
The entire upper floor of the lodge is now in disuse because the NPS
water system does not provide enough to the bath and washrooms. A
storage tank should be built on Garfield for an adequate water supply.
Tent houses to the east of the lodge should be removed and a fence built
around the hotel's service yard. (100)|
||The original stove in the kitchen was wood-burning. Laundry is done in
||Solinsky says that 40 rooms in the lodge are yet to be finished and
furnished. Some $40,000 is needed to do the job but he recommends that
this money be put into constructing "deluxe" cabins. The only power now
available to the lodge is generated by two or three small gasoline
plants, and they furnish barely enough light to see by. (102)|
||Newspaper describes the chairs on the veranda as rustic and states that
there is a magazine counter in the lodge. (103)|
||The park's post office is established in the lodge. (104)|
||NPS makes a concerted effort to locate the main circulation area of Rim
Village away from the lodge. The Sinnott Memorial is built, as is a
comfort station in back of the cafeteria to serve the housekeeping
cabins. This allows for eventual abandonment of the tent house area east
of the lodge and the removal of the 1921 comfort station there.
||Visitation jumps 27 percent over 1929, to 153,000. (106)|
||Newspaper criticism states that little has been done at the lodge since
1921 except add rooms. There is still no garage, the entrance to the
building is described as a freight shed, and building's light is too
poor to read or play cards. In addition, there is no heat in the rooms,
the great hall has kitchen tables for writing desks, and has no
decorations such as Indian rugs or artistic hangings, while the chairs
are arranged so closely together that one has to push them aside in
order to get near the fireplace. (107)|
||Steel says that the lodge is located right where he wanted it. (108)|
||Company says that it lost money in 1930 because it had a smaller volume
of business than in 1929. (109)|
||A new water system is being constructed that will replace wood pipe with
steel. Munson Spring water has been pumped into five wooden tanks
located on a hill in the campground area, but the new Garfield reservoir
will eliminate two of these tanks. Water pressure is now expected to
average 275 pounds. (110)|
||The overhead telephone lines from Munson Valley to the lodge are placed
underground. The lodge has one of six lines in the park. (111)|
||The lodge's dining room closes early because of a drop in business.
||Visitation increases to 170,000, a gain of nine percent over 1930. The
NPS plants shrubs on the north side of the lodge. (113)|
||Power is delivered to a transformer substation at the lodge, marking the
first time that generators do not have to be used. (114)|
||A report notes that 445 feet of parapet wall along the promenade is
needed to finish the walk. All of this is located east of the lodge. A
large fill (what would later become the parking area) is being built
south of the graded area that was done in 1928. (115)|
||An 11,000 volt transmission line constructed during the fall of 1931 has
eliminated the use of seven gas driven generators formerly in the park.
Like the phone line, power cables are located underground be tween park
headquarters in Munson Valley and the lodge. (116)|
||Lodge's dining room closes because of the drop in business, and the
company knows it will sustain a loss for the season. Visitation drops to
109,000 for the season. (117)|
||Parapet wall near the lodge is completed. Shrubs are planted near the
steps of the veranda to the promenade. Considerable planting of
shrubbery and sodding is done along the north side of the hotel. Three
large hemlocks from Munson Valley are planted on the northwest corner of
the lodge. (118)|
||Landscape architect Merel Sager reports that the planting of Kentucky
bluegrass has become quite bunchy. He likes pink spirea and mountain ash
as shrubs. Much of this year's planting was done on the north side of
the parapet wall between the Sinnott Memorial and the lodge. He states
that stone curbing has been placed from the plaza to the lodge. Sager
also says that planting needs to be done on the south side of the hotel
and that he is trying to get the company interested in what he calls
"foundation planting" around the building because he says that the lodge
is unattractive as it is. (119)|
||A construction report provides some detail about the bays built in the
parapet wall below the lodge. The report has several pictures. Parking
at the lodge is on the graded surface south of the entrance. (120)|
||The park's post office is to be located in the lodge once again this
||A fire inspection report notes problems with knotted drop cords in the
guest rooms and hallways of the building. Fire escape balconies have
been damaged by snow or are rotten and need replacement. The kitchen
chimney has a sizeable hole in it where the metal pipe takes off from
the "brickwork". Sparks could escape to the shingled roof and building
codes are cited about park chimneys not having spark arresters.
||All meals will be served in the cafeteria. The lodge is on a strictly
European plan. Rates are lower than in 1932. (123)|
||The lodge's water system is made up of various sizes of "unsuited pipes"
that were originally laid close to the ground (in some cases 6" from the
surface) so that frozen pipes are a continual expense. A new water
system of steel pipe is laid by Civilian Conservation Corps enrollees.
Faucets are placed at "convenient intervals" along the walk in the
landscaped area. (124)|
||The planting of shrubs to the west of the lodge is completed. Visitation
for the year drops to 90,000, about a 18 percent decline. (125)|
||Sager's naturalization report states that preparation of soil was done
for planting the turnaround area near the entrance of the lodge. This
was done by hauling mostly sedge peat from Munson Valley and bringing in
top soil from the east entrance road (power line area, near a tributary)
one half mile from headquarters. The area was then sodded, with shrub
and tree beds prepared and placed informally. (126)|
||Stone curbing is being constructed on the south side of the lodge,
defining both the turnaround area and a future parking lot adjacent to
it. The curbing is 8" thick, 24" deep, and between 30" and 84" long.
C.C.C. crews work on shrub bed between the veranda and the steps to the
||Resident landscape architect Francis Lange says that the turnaround area
(which he calls the "circular drive") requires constant attention with
respect to the watering of the landscaping. The sodding of the circular
drive is complete. Large trees are being placed within the circular
drive and he says that this is desirable because an immediate effect
is gained rather than having to wait for growth. A walk has been staked
through the area; its construction will allow the landscaping to be
||The lodge receives its first staining on the roof and exterior walls
since the 1920s. (129)|
||Visitation increases to 118,000. Stone curbing in front of the lodge
is completed a year after new entrance steps and landing are built at
the building's main entry. Price arranges with Solinsky to have a
concrete porch built on the hotel's south side for $200, using park
materials and labor. But $500 is ex pended and this becomes one of the
charges investigated prior to Solinsky's indictment. (130)|
||Lodge dining room closed and is now used for the storage of automobiles.
||The circular drive has been completed with a bitumen walk, but the lower
parking area is unfinished. Lange says that the circular drive stops
visitors from parking. He also states that the now abandoned tent house
area and old horse corral need to be cleaned up by the concessioner.
||Price announces that the dining room will reopen and the company will
spend money on furniture and equipment in the lodge. (133)|
||A report on the concessioner contains complaints that the lodge's beds
are poor, one has to be careful that they do not roil out. The beds are
described as "old iron affairs" while the rooms are said to be finished
in beaver board. The dining room is still closed and employees have no
distinguishing uniform or badge as required by the contract. (134)|
||Lange says that the south side of the lodge is improved. Trees, shrubs,
plants, peat, top soil, and sod were added to the rear of this (the
lodge) unattractive layout and improvement took place in the vicinity of
the lower parking area. He compares the scene with 1931 and states that
the NPS and CCC work has produced an interesting landscape despite the
unattractive exterior of the lodge. (135)|
||The lower parking area near the lodge is reported to be finished, with
landscaping of it scheduled for 1936. A photo shows just a few trees in
the circular drive, with pumice only in the parking area. (136)|
||Lange recommends the debris in the hotel's basement be removed and that
better cleaning methods need to be found around the entrance. A tennis
court is proposed for the area southeast of the lodge in the pumice flat
formerly occupied by the tent houses. (137)|
||Company completes ten rooms on the third floor of the annexes,
supposedly finishing that level. The exterior of the annexes are
getting an entirely new covering of redwood shingles on their exterior
walls. The walls of the basement floor and windows are in need of repair
and repainting. (138)|
||The tank house at the campground is removed and the area landscaped
because all Rim Village buildings are on one water system. (139)|
||Lange says that the reshingling of the annexes' exterior walls was
completed in September. The company's plan is to give the same treatment
to the original portion of the lodge during 1937. The entire building
will be restained when the 1937 work is completed. (140)|
||Several old roads to the east of the lodge have been obliterated.
Landscaping of small areas east of the lodge continues through the fall.
The planting of weathered boulders and logs around the hotel has been
completed. He says that there remains only small landscape details about
the operator's lodge, but it can't forsake its barn-like architectural
characteristics. During the month the building's exterior walls and roof
were stained the approved park color (brown and green, respectively).
||All rooms in the older portion of the building are supposedly papered
and painted. The Superintendent's Annual Report states that 16 rooms
were completed in the lodge and that its lobby underwent extensive
alterations to provide for increased business. Price says that all rooms
on the second floor are now "finished" (probably meaning that 3/8-inch
sheet rock has been used). (142)|
||A report contradicts the Annual Report by stating that only ten rooms
were finished during the year, bringing the total usable rooms in the
lodge to 87. (143)|
||The account for surfacing and paving parking areas has had the
difference in cost of the lodge's porch charged against it [the actual
($500), less what Solinsky quoted Price ($200) for its construction].
Much of the road work is done during the summer of 1933, when a large
part of the parking area in front of the lodge was graded by hand. Some
3760 cubic yards of material is moved for the parking area, with about
950 yards coming from the parking area; the remainder is from Munson
||Price states that the lodge's laundry requires only one washer. He also
writes that all of the sewer system was laid out at the time that the
building [meaning the annexes] were constructed. The annexes were
erected with the expectation that a laundry would be installed
||Price sends Superintendent Leavitt the plans for the laundry plant that
is to be located in the lodge's basement. A six inch concrete floor has
been poured, which will be the base for a washer, extractor, ironer, and
fluffer. The plumbing for the plant was put in during 1922 but for 16
years laundry has been done out of the park. Price states that the
company's construction program began in 1922 and continued until 1929,
when it stopped for the depression and did not start again until 1936.
With the rooms completed in the past two years and the increased
travel, it became necessary to 'complete our [building?] pro gram with a
laundry plant." (146)|
||The new laundry has been completed in the basement of the lodge. There
have been no changes to the building's exterior, except that 1000 feet
of lineal walk has been placed at the lodge's parking area. (147)|
||Review of the newly installed laundry reveals that the Portland cement
plaster varies 5/8" in wall thickness. A recommendation is made for a
louvre vent in one of the four existing windows in the laundry room.
Vents should also be placed in the door of the water heater room and in
a selected place in the foundation wall. A better type of flooring is
needed between the laundry and the water heater room than the existing
dirt floor. (148)|
||A new cabin development is planned for the area next to the lodge,
partly in response to the noticeable deterioration of the housekeeping
cabins after only ten years. (149)|
||Leavitt urges Price to clean up the lodge's basement, especially the
toilet and the approximately ten 50 gallon capacity oil drums. (150)|
||Twenty of the 26 bowl and pitcher rooms in the lodge are occupied by
female concession employees. (151)|
||The company has installed a fireplace screen for the "lobby"
fireplace and roped off an aisle leading from the fireplace to the front
exit. Four "stempel pistol type" fire extinguishers are added, as is an
automatic shutoff on the laundry boiler so that an explosion from lack
of water will be prevented. A 24 hour watchman service is instituted.
||Four fire hydrants are installed with public works money near the lodge,
as part of new water and sewer lines put in by CCC enrollees. Their
locations are: to the east of the building, at a point southeast on the
circular drive, at a point southwest, and west along the promenade.
Leavitt's annual report notes that the company has installed better beds
and mattresses in the lodge. The park has the greatest number of
visitors in its history (236,000), but the concession shows a loss for
the year. (153)|
||Lange reports that redwood shakes have been used as a minor improvement
on the south side of the lodge to replace damaged members on the
||Water hammer problems in the lodge's pipes. The filter trenches built to
service the building failed due to the increased volume of waste from
installation of the laundry plant. (155)|
||Leavitt recommends that the company receive another 20 year contract.
||Four foot high wood piles have once again made their appearance east of
the lodge. Vehicle tracks have been made by concession employees across
the pumice flat area near the building. (157)|
||Leavitt writes that the lodge has five types of rooms: those with
bowl and pitcher only, some with hot and cold water only, those with
wash basin and toilet, some with the previous two kinds of amenities and
a bath, those with all amenities and twin beds. He wants the company to
install a hot water heating system, and a furnace that burns fuel oil
instead of visitors and employees attempting to use space heaters. A
Grinnell-type automatic sprinkling system should be placed throughout
the building and fire doors should be installed in the corridors.
||Company receives a new 20 year contract some seven months prior to the
expiration of its current agreement. It agrees to install a water
heater system to replace portable electric heaters and commits itself to
a lodge fire safety program. The lodge is said to have 102 guest rooms, a
figure that includes those where employees are housed. (159)|
||The company proposes reshingling a portion of the building so the NPS
recommends use of vertical grain cedar shingles similar to those
existing on other parts of the lodge. (160)|
||Safety violations are cited because 19 female concession employees are
housed in a series of small attic rooms that open onto a narrow
corridor. The attic corridor is finished with "a composition paper type
sheathing which appears highly inflammable." It is noted that the metal
fire escape ladders are not considered a means of exit by the NPS, and
that "the matter of how to get through such a small window opening and
onto the ladder would present problems best solved by a side show escape
||The NPS recommends the removal of highly combustible paper wall and
ceiling finish from all rooms and corridors; installation of
non-flammable wall board or paper finish is recommended. Also
recommended is a metal fire escape with exit door near room 402. Fire
axes should be placed in the hallways. (162)|
||Leavitt calls for plans to connect the lodge sewer line to the NPS
system located south of headquarters. At this time, garbage from the
lodge is hauled from Rim Village to the dump located in Munson Valley
(the site of Steel Circle). (163)|
||A ski "bowl" is located south of the lodge and used by visitors.
||A memo to Director Drury notes that an automatic sprinkler system
for the lodge was first suggested in a NPS 1939 fire safety report, but
this was rejected by the company as financially impractical. Although a
new dormitory building is desireable, concession employee housing may
have to be provided in the unfinished west wing of the lodge.
||The lodge's dining room provides all meals because the cafeteria is
closed for the season. (166)|
||Last day for accommodation at the lodge until it reopens 6/15/46.
||In his Annual Report, Leavitt writes that new furniture, bedding,
and mattresses were placed in some 30 of the lodge's rooms during the
season. He states that all of the building's rooms have now been
refurnished. Visitation has gone from an all time high of 273,000 in
1941 to 100,000 because of the onset of World War II. (168)|
||Some damage is done to the 1919 north side steel fire escape ladder by
snow loading. (169)|
||The lodge is called a "fire trap of the worst sort" and a recommendation
is made that it should be replaced as soon as possible. The Rim Village
development is further described as an unsightly con glomeration of
buildings which should be demolished and "the entire area except for the
road and parking area allowed to revert to nature." (170)|
||Leavitt notes that a number of rooms (on the fourth floor?) in the
annexes have not been completed. Employees are housed in the attic space
upstairs. The parking space outside has space for 44 cars. (171)|
||Chief Landscape Architect Tom Vint questions whether it is wise to
continue with overnight accommodations in the park when most of the
visitation has been observed to have shifted to a day use pattern.
||The underground power cable to the lodge is worn to the point where
power to the building cannot be provided. The NPS suggests that the
company operate the cabins, store, and lunch counter from the cafeteria
until this can be repaired. (173)|
||Leavitt states in a planning report that the small spring located on
Garfield Peak currently cannot be found. (174)|
||An NPS planning chart shows the lodge with 95 rooms and total capacity
of 240 persons. Some 35 rooms (capacity 74 persons) have bath
||Leavitt states that the cover of the lodge's septic tank caved in during
the period that the building was not in operation [1942-45]. He notes
that U.S. Public Health Service inspectors recommend a sewer pump near
the lodge and a connection to the septic leach field system serving the
||The fourth floor of the lodge is no longer used to house employees.
Approximately $10,000 was appropriated to replace an electrified cable
between Munson Valley and Rim Village in order to restore service that
had failed during the war years due to deterioration of the old cable.
||A gasoline-driven rope tow is installed on the weekends in the ski bowl
south of the lodge. (178)|
||The company puts new ranges and heaters in the lodge. (179)|
||Leavitt notes that the lodge's wall and roof shingles need replacement
and that guest rooms need new linen and blankets. Fire escapes need
repair and replacement, while the dining room should have new utensils
and dishes. It is during this month that the company closes off the
fourth floor. (180)|
||An inspector's report states that the food storage area in the
lodge basement has only a dirt floor. The toilet facility in the
basement is said to be inadequate and much of the building's plumbing is
described as being improperly installed. (181)|
||A NPS inspection of the lodge notes that there is no fire alarm in the
building, but all of the waste baskets in the guest rooms are of the
"metal type" and ash trays have been provided in similar numbers. Some
of the lodge's old electric wiring has been replaced by new #8 and #10
||A notation is made that the lodge's plumbing fixtures are leaky and
waste much water. (183)|
||Leavitt writes that hotel accommodation should be provided outside the
park and all concession facilities at the rim should eventually be
||The company has placed an order for a dishwasher whose capacity is 1000
pieces per hour. A vegetable peeling machine is ordered, as are meat
blocks for the lodge's kitchen. (185)|
||Leavitt estimates that the cost of a sprinkler system for the lodge
would be $60,000 and difficult to put in an old building not designed
for it. (186)|
||Price's attempt to sell the company to Michael Lee of Oakland falls
||Leavitt tells the company that the NPS wants plywood instead of paper to
line the rooms and hallways of the "China quarters" (above kitchen). The
only toilet, bath, and wash basin facilities for these quarters are
currently in the basement under the kitchen, necessitating a two story
descent. These quarters also need fire escapes. In an internal NPS
letter of the same date, there is comment about the south side fire es
capes. To use them, a guest would have to get access to an often locked
room and then step up on a chair to reach the window sill. Panels need
to be placed between stairs, especially on the third floor because
sweepings are going into the recess formed by the panels and sidewalks.
There is a need to enclose the vertical openings which exist in all
bathrooms and toilets. Vent shafts are not lined with any fire-resistant
material and have been sealed in the attic and ground floor. The company
still uses a great number of 20 and 30 ampere fuses. No fire alarm has
been provided and combustible materials have not been removed from the
attic, bathroom, or lean-to(?) to the kitchen. (188)|
||Some facilities for the China quarters are near completion and fire
stops in stairways are "well along". Fire escapes are being repaired and
wire reinforced glass for all stair and hallway doors has been in
stalled. On the same date, NPS Director Drury writes Secretary of
Interior Krug to say that the company's fire safety improvements of 1947
are not up to standard. He states that the cost of a sprinkler system
would exceed the value of the structure, but that a strict watchman
service should be instituted. The removal of the lodge should be made a
condition for granting a new contract in 1960. (189)|
||The company reports that it has been or intends to fix the swinging
doors in the hallways so that they will stay closed. They plan to
install fire alarms and modernize the building's fire extinguishers.
||The company agrees to employing a combination telephone and telegraph
operator in the lodge for the season. (191)|
||WASO Safety Chief Ahern prepares a 12 page report on the lodge. He
writes that electricity is provided by California Oregon Power Company,
whose voltage is reduced through an oil-cooled transformer located in a
room that does not meet the standards of the National Electrical Code
and which was not designed for that purpose. An underground vault is
recommended if the transformer continues to be oil-cooled, with
installation a responsibility of the NPS. Ahern states that the 75
person dining room is heated by a propane gas unit heater; other rooms
have electric heaters but some remain unheated. Two oil burning boilers
are present, one in the basement of the building's south end to furnish
hot water for the kitchen. The other is located at the basement's north
end to furnish hot water for the guest rooms and steam for the laundry.
There is a small ironing room in the north basement.|
Ahern's recommendations are many. He wants the main entrance doors to
open outward and be equipped with panic hardware. The dry powder
extinguishers in the hallways should be removed. Since sparks have
ignited upholstery of chairs, the great hall's fireplace screen should
be kept closed. He wants standard enclosed exits (instead of steel
ladders that go down from guest rooms) near rooms 301, 310, 340, and 354
even though some rooms would be lost. In each guest room Ahern wants an
ash tray and a metal waste basket. (192)
||Much outside trim of the lodge is painted. (193)|
||Several WASO personnel agree that the lodge should be adapted to a
two-story structure which could house NPS public contact functions, a
museum, and offices. (194)|
||The company writes to Leavitt and lists some of their improvements for
the lodge since January 1941. They mention that there is a new
dishwashing machine, furniture, rugs, and fire equipment (alarm, exit
lights, and fire wall in kitchen basement) in addition to the remodeled
quarters for the Chinese help. (195)|
||Many rooms have supposedly been redecorated, there have been new carpets
laid, and a new runner carpet has been placed on the second floor
hallway. It is probable that asphalt tile on the first floor made its
appearance during this period (1948-1950) because it is referred to in
the 1953 Haner report. (196)|
||Acting Superintendent D.D. Crumley writes that the NPS has considered
installation of a transformer vault several hundred feet away from the
lodge, but this would entail considerable expense and would re quire a
special snow chimney for winter access. (197)|
||Leavitt writes that the company purchased about 60 Wessix space heaters
for guest rooms at the beginning of last season. The lodge's great hall
is heated only by a large fireplace. Liquid gas is used to heat the
dining room. Employees eat in the cafeteria. "Store service" is provided
in the lodge and consists curios, magazines, newspapers, postcards,
pictures, candy, and bottled drinks.|
In the same report he states, "Furniture for most of the rooms
(knotty pine type) was constructed by the company m the winter of
1938-39 and replaced old, worn-out, obsolete furniture. New mattresses
and blankets and other bedding was provided at that time...Heating in
the bedrooms was provided by electric heaters when commercial electric
service was provided in the park in 1934." (198)
||Leavitt tells Price that the proposed transformer vault will have a
paint storage area about eleven feet square so that the company can
store their paints and reduce the fire hazard inside the lodge.
||Structural reinforcement necessitates the installation of eight-by-eight
wood columns in the great hall. (200)|
||The NPS suggests that a "coin box" telephone be placed in the lodge
lobby and that all guest calls be made through it instead of line
charges continuing to accrue. An example of successful operation at
Yosemite is cited. (201)|
||Director Drury writes that recommendation for sprinklers in the lodge
was first made in 1936 and that "the implication that such protection
was not known when the two wings were finished in 1937 is incorrect."
||Leavitt reports that Price fired Fyock (his son-in-law, who had taken
charge of the lodge's improvement program) after a quarrel and Price had
proceeded to fire a number of employees without cause throughout August.
||Transformer vault is reported to be 80 percent complete. Installation of
the transformer and the placement of a rock facing on the exterior
(never accomplished) still need to be done. (204)|
||Assistant Superintendent Been suggests that rock facing not be put on
the transformer vault and recommends instead that its walls be stained
brown. "Without the rock facing, the stained vault will be a much neater
structure than the frame (cold storage) shack which stood where the
vault is now." He notes that the unsightly boarded up windows [of the
kitchen wing and the building's southeast corner] are like that the year
round. The company proceeds to put its cold storage room in the basement
of the lodge where the NPS transformers formerly were located. (205)|
||Leavitt notes that "when the footings for the transformer vault were dug
the concrete in the walls of the lodge was found to be in such poor
condition that rather than to use the lodge walls at all, all four walls
of the vault and the roof and floor were made of reinforced concrete
which gives us an excellent structure. The concrete that is in contact
with the walls of the lodge has strengthened and reinforced them to a
large extent." (206)|
||The company wants to use four rooms on the third floor formerly occupied
by employees as guest rooms. (207)|
||San Francisco regional office sends the company's contractor samples of
stain suggested for the lodge. Stating that the following are good for
NPS buildings, green is suggested for the roof (Creo-Dipt, no. 239 or
237); brown (Creo-Dipt, no. 226 or 233, alternatively Cabot's Creosote
Stain no. 247) or gray (Cabot's Creosote Stain no. 243) for the walls.
The wall choice is given because the NPS has recently come to the
conclusion that gray may be as suitable for exterior walls as brown. By
September, the contractor had completed the staining of the lodge, using
the approved green and brown colors at a cost of $8000. (208)|
||Sketch plans are made (see drawing 106-lA) because the original plans
for the lodge are not available in the park, regional office, or through
the concession. It is noted that the beams on the first floor of the
original building are sagging and bear directly on the stone walls.
Construction methods for the kitchen are said to be poor as seen from
the sagging members. The basement below the kitchen consists of part
concrete, part wood, and part earth floors and contains an unvented
bathroom. Two concrete piers are in good condition but the 8 x 10 wood
post is unsound and subject to dry rot because it is in contact with the
earth floor. The basement under the dining room has a walk-in
refrigerator in the southwest corner with a wood floor that is now about
to break through due to dry rot. The annex basement is praised as being
better than the original building but moisture enters there also. Where
earth floors occur, the company has placed mats of pleated wood.|
The first floor guest baths and public w.c. are interior and not
vented. In the employee's wing, however, the wall finish consists of
1/2" thick rough fibre or insulating board (similar to rough fibered
masonite) of a light brown color and unpainted. It should be replaced
with a sanitary plaster board that offers some fire resistance. The w.c.
and lavatory at hall end are also finished with this material. Annex
wing on the second floor is of fair construction but the quarters for
the Chinese help is in poor condition (pine floors, plywood walls, wood
stairways with no fireproofing, and a shingle roof on this wing is
deteriorating rapidly). Third floor annex wings are fair, and it is
noted that the help's quarters are in the "east wing". There are a
number of roof leaks on the fourth floor, which result in wall board
peeling off ceilings and walls. The wall board is an obsolete make,
consisting of card board stiffened by a backing of wood lath, with the
latter set in a type of coal tar or asphalt.
North facade window sills have been split or sheared off due to collapse
of the "marquee" over the terrace last winter. The concrete terrace
facing the lake has cracked the entire length and has settled so as to
drain water into the sub-fill below the terrace. Double hung wood sash
are not weather tight, especially at meeting rails. There is a
recommendation that garbage cans near the kitchen wing should be fenced
and screened. Immediate reroofing and strengthening of the kitchen wing
should be undertaken. The report concludes by stating that an outside
engineer should make a complete structural survey before repairs are
||The lodge's roof and sides are restained and trim repainted. Price's
doctor will not allow him to return to the park because of his health.
||The NPS regional office discusses water reservoir requirements of a
proposed sprinkler system in the lodge, but is handicapped by not having
a set of complete plans for the building. (211)|
||An inspection report notes that the dining room ceiling is seriously
deteriorated and in need of major repair and finish. The lodge's septic
tank is reported to be inadequate and effluent discharges in seepage
trenches that are seriously overloaded, resulting in effluent "running
in considerable volume from the seepage trenches down the mountain to
the valley...Sewage disposal at the lodge is totally inadequate and its
correction calls for emergency action before reopening next season."
||Company attorney Joe P. Price writes that the stone wall in front of the
lodge veranda is leaning at a sharp angle toward the lake and is in
danger of collapsing. (213)|
||The plans for the original part of the lodge are said to be at WASO.
Photostatic copies are later provided Ross and Tunks so that they can
prepare the Haner Report. (214)|
||The Haner Report is done by S.A. Ross and H.V. Tunks on contract with
the NPS. This report is a structural survey to determine if removal is
warranted economically or whether measures could be taken to extend the
building's life. Ross and Tunks observe the conditions in 1953, often
comparing them with the Hockenberry plans.|
Ross writes that alteration work is in progress for three rooms on
the lodge's north side, second floor, lobby section. Cabinets,
lavatories, and showers will be installed. The third floor of the
original building has employees housed over the great hall, while the
lobby and dining hall sections are used for storage (the fourth floor
over the great hall is also used as storage space). In the annexes, the
fourth floor is unfinished and used for drying space and storage.
The Hockenberry plans showed a half timber stucco wall finish above the
second floor line. Ross notes the difference between the eave line,
dormers, and level of masonry in the as-built condition and the plans.
The original lodge was sheathed with asphalt felt weather sheet under
the later shingles. Original room and corridor finish on the second,
third, and fourth floors was wood lath and asphalt-bonded paper board
applied directly to the lath, but a considerable amount of paper board
has been replaced or covered by insulation board or plywood with a four
foot plywood wainscot. The annex interior finish on three floors is wood
frame and gypsum board with plywood wainscoting.
Structurally, the exterior stone walls should have been constructed with
pilasters (as per plans). The great hall was to have concrete footings
and piers in the plans instead of allowing stone and mortar walls to
rest on original ground. Four dormers were constructed on the third
floor of the dining hall and lobby sections (vs. 2 in plans) and five
dormers were built on the fourth floor of the great hall (vs. 3 in
plans). The heads of stone masonry in the windows are arched instead of
flat as planned. Ross notes that the annexes were built substantially
as shown in plans, but have no weather sheet on exterior walls. He notes
that stone masonry walls were originally laid up with lime mortar, with
individual stones chinked rather than bedded solid. Except for the
chimney projection above the second floor, existing stone masonry was
repointed with Portland cement mortar.
Ross states that the windows appear to have been recently painted, but
this treatment is good only for appearance. The window trim and sills
are badly deteriorated. Original flashings on the lodge roof around the
chimneys are rusty and need replacement. Shingles on the northeast corner
of the dining hall under the eaves are riddled by bird peck. When the
exit platforms were cut into the rake of the roof, the roofing material
was damaged. The platforms are not weather proof and should be redecked.
Dormers should be removed because they prolong snow loading and are the
major source of interior water damage.
A floor by floor condition report is also included. All rooms used for
guests have been refinished, but some employee rooms over the great hall
and dining room on the third floor have not been. Wood floors on the
second and third floors are in poor condition, having been cut up for
pipes and are now sagging. Asphalt tile covers the first floor in the
lobby, great hall, and dining room; Ross speculates that the kitchen
floor has been renovated. Basement under the kitchen is cement, but that
under the great hall is dirt and is used for food storage.
Ross states that the installation of a sprinkler system is desirable,
but not mandatory because the annexes were completed before the
adoption of the Pacific Coast Uniform Building Code. He says that the
second floor beams were spiked together instead of using one inch cross
bolts. An illustration shows that the dining room retained its original
14" timber beams. A photo of the great hall shows that the "Indian"
motif design still hangs on the east wall as it did in the early 1920s.
Ross states that 12 rooms need (wall?)papering in the great hall section
and that an extra layer of 1/2 inch gypsum board is needed on the inside
of all exterior wall surfaces of the original lodge. A lodge expansion
is feasible to the east by building an addition similar to the annexes,
but it would be necessary to increase the dining and kitchen facilities.
||Superintendent Wosky notes that the company added showers and toilets to
four rooms during the sum mer. Three of the rooms are large and have
been serving family groups. He writes that they converted two rooms by
putting showers and toilets in during the 1952 season. (216)|
||Price sells his 90 percent interest in the concession to Harry and "Pop"
Smith. The Smiths begin a five year program of expansion that correlates
with increased revenue and use of the lodge. (217)|
||A new power and metering panel is installed in the Lodge's transformer
||The Smiths have a new cocktail lounge, the Caldera Room, substantially
completed. Done are the ceiling, wallpaper, plumbing, and wiring
||Caldera Room opens. (220)|
||An a la carte breakfast service is added in the dining room in addition
to the table d'hote service. (221)|
||A broken water main causes a large amount of water to leak into the
basement of the lodge. The cause was later found to be a broken 3/4"
hose connection off of the 3" line. Little apparent damage to the
building is done, though the Garfield Reservoir is virtually drained.
||The Smiths propose to put an addition onto the dining room of the lodge.
||A ten year development plan is presented to the NPS by the Smiths. The
concessioners have found that their volume has increased since taking
over, with both profits and use of the lodge showing gains each year.
This pattern of successive rise in business will continue throughout the
Smiths' tenure at the park, from 1954 to 1959. (224)|
||A new steam boiler is installed in the basement of the lodge to serve
the laundry. The portion of the basement adjacent to the boiler room has
an earth floor converted to concrete. (225)|
||New electrical circuit installed from the basement to the third floor of
the lodge and a system of outlets is placed in 25 employee rooms. This
measure is intended to relieve the old, overloaded circuits and reduce
the fire hazard. (226)|
||Evening naturalist programs are held in the great hall, a room that now
has Indian motif lamp shades over the once bare light bulbs, a magazine
stand in the northwest corner, and metal folding chairs throughout the
||Improvements have been made in lodge accommodations but few details are
given. The lodge supposedly now has 114 rooms and a pillow count of
294, a figure that includes 90 employees. (228)|
||The lobby, great hall, and dining room now have a false ceiling
installed by lodge caretaker Glen Happel. Much plumbing work has been
accomplished with the placement of bathroom facilities in six rooms.
||Happel has been painting the new false ceiling on the first floor. He
has been preparing nine rooms for painting in which toilet facilities
were installed. (230)|
||The painting of the false ceiling is completed and work is progressing
on construction of a new souvenir display wall and case. (231)|
||New display cases, counters, and walls have been completed in the
northwest corner of the great hall. Renovation of nine guest rooms is
||Ralph Peyton and Jim Griffin buy the concession operation from the
Smiths. The signing of a new con tract is anticipated, but a series of
extensions follows until late in 1967. (233)|
||Lodge opens without a new contract, but can now serve wine with meals in
the dining room. Three days later, a small roof fire breaks out in early
morning. Concession employees handle lodge guests and control the
blaze, which causes little damage. (234)|
||Negotiations begin regarding the sale of the lodge to the NPS for
conversion into a visitor center. (235)|
||A field agreement is reached about the sale of the lodge between the
concessioners and Superintendent Yeager. (236)|
||After a $500 appraisal, $297,000 is programmed to acquire the lodge by
the NPS. It is thought that the building will be converted into a
visitor center, with construction starting in July 1963 and completed by
July 1967. On September 20, WASO transfers $30,000 of this amount that
was intended for museum exhibits. (237)|
||The lodge is undergoing "plant improvement", but what is done is
||Peyton and Griffin want to match the money that they will receive from
the sale of the lodge and put it toward construction of a new hotel.
They are adamant that the new building should have a view of the lake
because they would be giving up a site with that feature. (239)|
||Concessioner improves the kitchen floor and electrical system, removing
what Yeager terms as "all unsatisfactory equipment." The intention is
to install new tables, dish washing facilities, and other kitchen
equipment before the 1963 season opening. (240)|
||Deteriorated log guard rails are removed from the lodge parking area and
replaced with asphalt curb. (241)|
||Reroofing of the lodge is started, but the job has to be done again in
1965 because felt paper had not been put down under the shingles.
||The programmed acquisition of the lodge no longer appears in the Mission
66 monthly progress reports.|
||An unexplained hole (16" x 24") in a dormer roof appears on the
north side of lodge. Sections of 1" x 4" sheathing and shingles are
||A start order is given to the contractor for a trunk sewer that is to be
built from Rim Village to Munson Valley. It is to cost $40,000 and
contain three manholes, one of which is to be the source of the water
crisis ten years later. (244)|
||Peyton and Griffin finance the installation of new carpeting and
furniture in the lodge. This program continues until the NPS acquires
the building in late 1967. (245)|
||Superintendent Volz writes that an additional 6" water line is needed to
service a proposed sprinkler system for the lodge. (246)|
||Volz writes that the lodge has 76 rental rooms and urges that a new
concession contract not include ex tended use of the building. (247)|
||A new 200 amp circuit is installed in the lodge's basement, and three
junction boxes are moved to the center of the basement. (248)|
||Director Hartzog visits and stays overnight in the lodge. He has an
informal meeting with Peyton, whereupon an agreement is made for the NPS
to buy the building. The plan is to reduce the lodge to a "low profile"
structure, the height of it being approximately to the top of the
exterior masonry walls. (249)|
||An appraisal is done of the concession and NPS buildings at Rim Village
and Munson Valley, so that Peyton can ascertain the value of NPS
property at park headquarters. This is done because Peyton is willing
to trade his Rim Village and Denton Park property (in Fort Klamath) for
much of Munson Valley. He hopes to use the proceeds from the sale of the
lodge to finance this new development. (250)|
||Development of the lodge into a two-story structure is planned to be
accomplished by 1970. (251)|
||The NPS draws plans for a sprinkler system to be installed throughout
the lodge. (252)|
||Happel has begun remodeling work on ten rooms and one bath on the
lodge's fourth floor. (253)|
||A new 30 year contract is executed with the expectation that the
concessioners will embark on a $2 mil lion development program for Rim
Village and Munson Valley. The lodge is conveyed to the NPS, but no
maintenance agreement is made. The concession assumes routine
maintenance until the water crisis of 1975. (254)|
||The lodge has a sprinkler system installed throughout the building. At
the third floor level, 1/2" steel cables are placed diagonally to help
stabilize the building against snow loads. (255)|
||Fire doors are installed as a requirement for fourth floor occupancy by
||After consultation with Hartzog, work is started on a new water line
that will service the lodge's sprinkler system. The work is finished by
the end of September and involves replacing the 4" line with a 6" line.
||The concessioners find that 6" water line is not adequate for the
lodge's sprinkler system, so Peyton strikes a deal with Hartzog to get
the NPS to pay for an 8" inch line which is constructed in the fall.
||Peyton sells some surplus furniture from the veranda to Park Research
Biologist R.M. Brown. (259)|
||Construction of the concession s employee dorm is begun as required by
the 1967 contract. (260)|
||Plans for motel units to be constructed at Rim Village or in Munson
Valley are dropped after conservation groups oppose the construction of
the employee dorm. This is done to stop what Senator Packwood calls "the
desecration of Crater Lake National Park by unnecessary buildings." A
revised master plan for Rim Village is ordered by Assistant Secretary of
Interior Nathaniel Reed. (261)|
||Repaving of the roadway from the cafeteria to the lodge is completed.
||The revised master plan ordered by Reed notes that the lodge has
been nominated for the National Register of Historic Places. It states
that Nixon's 1971 executive order requires that a historic survey
(interpreted to mean a historic structure report) be done before major
alteration or new construction affect ing the building is attempted.
||CRLA is closed to the public until August 1. The lodge remains closed
for the remainder of the season due to the water system being
reconstructed with emergency funds. (264)|
||The new water system for the park will use Annie Spring exclusively
beginning November 1; Munson Spring is abandoned as a water supply.
||Senator Hatfield holds a hearing in Medford about the water crisis.
Events concerning the lodge figure prominently in the record. (266)|
||Under threat of litigation, Peyton sells his company's interest in the
concession operation to the Can teen Company of Oregon. (267)|
||The NPS List of Classified Structures states that the lodge is 585,000
cubic feet and contains 142 rooms. (268)|
||Peyton and Griffin agree to a NPS master plan proposal to remove the
coldwater cabins. The lodging eliminated will be replaced by remodeling
the upper two floors of the lodge for overnight accommodations. The
concessioners dispute the NPS assertion that the lodge has to be removed
and state that the building has been nominated as a historical landmark
and that it is a sound structure. They cite Special Directive 75-10 from
former Director Everhardt to back their position which is that
concession facilities at Rim Village should not be eliminated or phased
||A master plan draft indicates that the NPS wants an interpretive
facility with winter viewing. Concession facilities will remain as long
as they have a useful life. Canteen has ten years to remove the
coldwater cabins, but says more guest rooms in the lodge are necessary.
it is stated that the lodge needs rotten wood window sills and jambs
replaced. The veranda needs repair, while the transformer vault should
be relocated or modified. There is also criticism that the great hall's
gift stand and contemporary furnishings need to be removed. (270)|
||Some $250,000 is appropriated to reroof the lodge, but work does not
start until 1981. (271)|
||An electrical inspection of the lodge is made by Denver Service Center
||A preliminary report on fire safety and structural stability of the
lodge is prepared by DSC. Glen Happel states that each guest room of
the several modernized to date has cost $4000. (273)|
||Inspectors estimate that $2.4 million is needed to correct the lodge's
deficiencies. There is mention that the NPS still has no maintenance
agreement with the concessioner for the building. (274)|
||A General Accounting Office report focuses on fire safety of the lodge
after a request by Senator Hatfield. (275)|
||The NPS holds public hearings on the question of whether to retain
or remove the lodge at the end of its useful life. Overnight stays in
the building had declined in the past three seasons, but those at the
meetings generally supported retention. (276)|
||House Joint Memorial 11 urging the retention of the lodge is passed by
the Oregon Legislature. (277)|
||A Roseburg contractor wins bid to reshingle the lodge on the lake side
and make various life safety improvements. Among them are constructing
a fire escape on the lodge's south east side, rebuilding existing fire
escapes, installing fire retardant materials in hallways, and chinking
large chimneys to prevent smoke leakage. (278)|
||The lodge is placed on the National Register of Historic Places.
||Dan Babbitt writes that the lodge's roof sheathing and eaves need
||An inspector notes that the lodge's fireplaces and chimneys are exempted
from building codes because the structure is on the National Register.
||A contractor is installing a three-story fire escape on the southeast
side of the lodge after completing the first stage of reshingling the
building. Change orders on the fire escapes, alarm system, and fire
doors lead to much confusion. Some masonry has been repointed and more
work is done during 1982. (282)|
||The historic structure report estimates that the renovation and/or
restoration cost of the lodge will cost upwards of $6 million. Acting
upon DSC advice, the regional director issues a "no go" decision that
suspends the project. (283)|
||A structural survey and physical condition report by Haner, Ross &
Sporseen of Portland compares its findings to their 1953 report. Among
the recommendations is one for additional steel cables to assist those
placed in the building during the late 1960s (some photos in the report
show the cables between the first and second floors). (284)|
||The lodge's basement and fourth floor are emptied of much furniture and
other items in storage. Reroofing of the lodge's south side commences.
During this time it is found that some of the exterior wall shingles
(ca. 1924?) had been put on with square nails. (285)|
||A draft Development Concept Plan is the subject of public meetings. The
disposition of the lodge elicits the most comment, retention in some
form is favored once again. (286)|
||After Director Dickenson opts for eventual removal of the lodge, he is
called to testify in a hearing being conducted by Representative Weaver.
Responding to criticism that the Historic Structure Report
restoration estimates were biased in favor of a "first class" hotel,
Dickenson agrees to a second study based on a "rustic" standard of
accommodation. This becomes the BOOR/A report of 1986. (287)|
||The northwest corner of the great hall's roof falls off after it was
damaged by snow loading in 1983. (288)|
||BOOR/A's report is released. In it, Al Staehli presents his findings
about whether the slope north of the lodge is eroding back in light of
the veranda's deterioration. He writes that change in the snow drifting
pattern was evident with the addition of the annexes, and this has put
additional stress on the original building. Certain interior details are
mentioned, particularly on the first floor. Staehli says that the
original great hall light fixtures were replaced when the false ceiling
was put in, but the original cord and lamp holder fixtures have been
converted to double lamp socket devices in the dining room. He notes
that the great hall and dining room fireplaces have been condemned by
the NPS. Wrought iron curtain rods and the Indian motif drapes are
thought to be from the 1930s (ca. 1937?).|
In the original structure's guest rooms, Staehli surmises that blue
plaster board was used in place of lath. Some areas of the lodge this
was later covered by gypsum board, plywood, or cellular fiber wallboard.
Much of the plaster board coverings were white washed. On the building's
exterior, Staehli writes that the exposed building paper (ca. 1915-21)
was something called Insulo-Black. He cites a report of the 1920s that
has the lodge's exterior being gray in color instead of brown. (289)
||In his "Notes on the Crater Lake Lodge", Staehli mentions that there are
dressers, bedside tables, and chairs stored in the attic of the west
wing annex. (290)|
||Regional Director Odegaard announces the decision that the lodge will be
restored as per adoption of the Development Concept Plan for Rim
||Canteen Corporation of Oregon changes its name to Estey Corporation,
though the local name of the business, Crater Lake Lodge, inc., remains
||The lodge is closed on the recommendation of consulting engineers. CH2M
Hill prepares a technical memorandum on the building's structural
stability. A decision to accelerate the work on rehabilitating the lodge
||A salvage inventory is conducted by DSC historical architects and CRLA
staff. Guest room fixtures were rated and first floor furniture was
Abbreviations are used in some references for repositories and parts
of source citations to avoid repetition.
|CCF||Central Classified Files|
|DAR||Director's Annual Report to the Secretary of Interior|
|DSC||Denver Service Center|
|FRC||Federal Records Center|
|HF||History Files, Crater Lake National Park|
|HSR||Historic Structure Report, 1982|
|MC||Museum Collection, Crater Lake National Park|
|MDF||Maintenance Division Files, Crater Lake National Park|
|NA||National Archives, Washington, D.C.|
|SAR||Superintendent's Annual Report, Crater Lake|
|SMN||Superintendent's Monthly Narrative, Crater Lake|
|SS||William G. Steel Scrapbook, CRLA Museum Collection|
|TIC||Technical Information Center|
1. SS 22:2, p. 35, Vancouver Register Democrat, 5/14/02; SS 22:2, p.
8, Portland Oregonian, 9/15/1895; Williams, Gerald (comp.) 1989. Judge
John Breckenridge Waldo: Diaries and Letters from the High Cascades of
Oregon, 1880-1907, entry dated 8/23/1896 [p. 221], USDA-Forest Service,
Umpqua National Forest.
2. SAR, 1905, p. 5, HF.
3. SS 35:3, p. 4, Portland Oregon Journal, 3/22/07 and p. 12, Klamath
Falls Herald, 8/22/07.
4. SS 39:7, p. 93, Medford Mail Tribune, 8/24/21.
5. SS 35:3, pp. 91-92, Medford Mail Tribune, 7/2 and 7/10, 1909.
6. SS 35:3, p. 95, Portland Oregon Journal, 7/25/09.
7. SS 35:3, p. 102, Medford Mail Tribune, 8/21/09 and p. 52, Medford
Mail Tribune, 6/16/09.
8. SS 36:4, p. 52, Medford Mail Tribune, 6/16/10.
9. SS 36:4, p. 58, Medford Mail Tribune, 7/1/10.
10. SS 36:4, p. 58, Portland Oregon Journal, 7/10/10.
11. SS 36:4, p. 60, Medford Mail Tribune, 7/25/10.
12. SS 36:4, p. 71, Portland Oregon Journal, 8/21/10.
13. Walter Fisher, Secretary of the Interior, to Calvin S. White,
M.D., Oregon State Health Officer, 5/1/11, cited in: "Crater Lake Lodge:
Additional Notes on its Architectural Significance and About the
Architect, by Architect Alfred Staehli, AIA, 8 January 1988, p. 1, HF,
Lodge Pre-1930 folder.
14. SS 36:4, p. 100, Klamath Chronicle, 5/21/11.
15. SS 36:4, p. 87, Portland Oregonian, 6/11/11.
16. SS 36:4, p. 99, Klamath Chronicle, 8/31/11, and p. 100, Klamath
Express, 8/31/11; Cook, Truman B., 1980, "Crater Lake, 1915," Oregon
Historical Quarterly 81 (Spring), p. 45; Parkhurst to Steel, 1/18/12,
HF, Lodge Pre-1930 folder.
17. Parkhurst to Steel, op. cit.; SS 36:4, p. 105, Portland Oregonian
18. Edward S. Dixon to the Hon. Secretary of the Interior [Franklin
Lane], 2/15/13, pp. 11-13, RG 79, CCF 1907-39, File 204-01, Part 1,
Crater Lake Inspections by Field Officers, NA.
19. SAR, 1913, p.7, HF; Steel to Franklin Lane, Secretary of the
Interior, 9/14/13, cited in notes taken Alfred Staehli, AIA, "Background
on Crater Lake Lodge," May 1987, p. 3, HF.
20. Remarks of Seely Hall, oral history interview, 1/22/75, tape 36,
no. 3, side 1, transcription p. 66, Southern Oregon Historical Society,
Jacksonville; HSR, p. 39.
21. SS 38:6, p. 15, Medford Mail Tribune, 5/18/14; "Hotel Area,"
22. SS 38:6, p. 26, Medford Mail Tribune, 7/31/14.
23. "Report of the Superintendent of Crater Lake National Park," [by
William G. Steel], Medford, Oregon, 10/1/14, p. 815, in Annual Report of
the Department of Interior, 1914, (Washington, 1915).
24. SS 38:6, p. 30, Medford Mail Tribune, 10/23/14.
25. Parkhurst to the Secretary of the Interior [Franklin Lane],
2/10/15, HF, Lodge Pre-1934) folder.
26. SS 38:6, p. 52.
27. SS 38:6, p. 58, Portland Oregonian, 6/28/15.
28. Cook, op. cit., p. 43.
29. Staehli, "Background on the Crater Lake Lodge," op. cit., p. 4,
HF, Lodge Pre-1930 folder. Daniels' plans for a road and trail system in
the park are mentioned in Improvement and Management of National Parks
(U.S. Congress, House of Representatives, Committee on Appropriations),
64th Congress, 1st Session, 1916, H. Doc. 515, p. 19.
30. SS 38:6, p. 82, Portland Oregonian, 12/19/15.
31. SS 38:6, p. 87, Medford Mail Tribune, 6/19/16.
32. SS 38:6, p. 91, Medford Mail Tribune, 8/7/16.
33. Staehli, "Background on the Crater Lake Lodge," op. cit., p. 4,
HF, Lodge Pre-1930 folder; Remarks of Larry Hunter, oral history
interview, 8/17/89, given at Crater Lake National Park.
34. Roscoe Howard to Hon. NJ. Sinnott, House of Representatives,
9/5/16, RG 79, CCF 1907-39, File 12-3-13, Part 4, Parks, Reservations
and Antiquities, Crater Lake National Park, Roads, Trails and Bridges,
35. "Crater Lake Lodge Study of Preservation and Rehabilitation," by
Alfred Staehli, AIA, November 1985, pp.250-318 in BOOR/A's "Technical
Analysis for Rehabilitation, Crater Lake Lodge, Crater Lake National
Park," (1986), Files, TIC, DSC.
36. SS 39:7, p. 5, Portland Oregonian, 4/15/17.
37. E.R. Bush to R.M. Brown, Assistant Park Naturalist, 8/4/53, HF,
Lady of the Woods folder.
38. SS 39:7, p. 11, Portland Oregonian, 8/19/17.
39. George E. Goodwin, Civil Engineer, to Horace Albright, Assistant
Director, 5/22/18, HF, Lodge Pre 1930 folder.
40. SS 39:7, p. 17, Medford Mail Tribune, 10/3/18.
41. SS 39:7, p. 33, Portland Oregonian 8/16/19, and p. 31, Oregonian,
42. Corvallis Times, 8/29/19, RG 79, CCF 1907-39, File 900-05, Part
3, Crater Lake Public Utility Operators, Crater Lake National Park
Company Miscellaneous Correspondence, NA.
43. Stephen T. Mather, Director, to Alex Sparrow [Superintendent],
9/25/19, HF, Lodge Pre-1930 folder.
44. DAR, 1920, p. 281; Staehli, "Background on the Crater Lake Lodge,
p. 5, HF, Lodge Pre-1930 folder.
45. SS 39:7, p. 53, Eugene Guard, 7/12/20.
46. DAR, 1920, p.279 and 336.
47. Alexander T. Vogelsang, First Assistant to the Secretary of
Interior, to the Crater Lake Company, Crater Lake, Oregon, 9/14/20, RG
48, CCF 1907-36, File 12-3, Part 1 Parks, Reservations and Antiquities,
Crater Lake, NA.
48. SS 39:7, pp. 70-71, Medford Sun, 12/19/20.
49. SS 39:7, p.81, Medford Mail Tribune, 4/18/21.
50. SS 39:7, p. 83, Portland Oregonian, 4/27/21; Albright to Mather,
4/27/21, HF, Lodge Pre-1930 folder.
51. SS 39:7, p. 83, Medford Mail Tribune, 4/30/21.
52. Albright to Dohrman, 5/17/21, RG 79, CCF 1907-39, File 900-05,
Part 1, Crater Lake Public Utility Operators, Crater Lake National
Company Miscellaneous Correspondence, NA.
53. SS 39:7, p. 85, Medford Mail Tribune, 6/9/21.
54. SS 39:7, p.88, Medford Mail Tribune, 7/22/21.
55. SS 39:7, p. 89, Klamath Falls Record, 7/24/21. Photos appear in
SS 39:7, p. 81, 83, and 85.
56. SS 39:7, p. 89, Medford Mail Tribune, 8/2/21.
57. SS 39:7, p. 94, Medford Mail Tribune, 8/24/21.
58. DAR, 1921, p.82 and 225.
59. SS 39:7, pp. 97-98, Medford Mail Tribune, 9/1/21.
60. SS 39:7, p. 96, Medford Sun, 9/18/21.
61. SS 39:7, p. 103, Medford Mail Tribune, 9/26/21.
62. SS 39:7, p. 103, Medford Mail Tribune, 10/1/21.
63. SS 40:8, p. 3, Portland Oregonian, 11/17/21.
64. SS 40:8, p.9, Medford Mail Tribune, 2/27/22.
65. Affidavit, James W. Good, 5/20/22, RG 79, CCF 1907-39, File
900-05, Part 3, Crater Lake Public Utility Operators, Crater Lake
National Park Company Miscellaneous Correspondence, NA.
66. SS 40:8, p. 12, Portland Oregonian, 6/27/22.
67. SS 40:8, p. 12, Portland Oregonian, 7/1/22.
68. D.R. Hull, Landscape Engineer, to Mather, 9/27/22, RG 79, CCF
1907-39, File 900-01 Crater Lake National Park Company, NA.
69. SS 40:8, p. 15, Portland Oregonian, 9/30/22.
70. SS 40:8, p. 15, Portland Oregonian, 12/7/22; Contract No.
I-1p-80, 1/1/22 to 12/31/41, RG 79, CCF 1933-49, File 900-02, Part 1,
Crater Lake National Park Concessions, Crater Lake National Park
71. SS 40:8, p. 20, Portland Oregon Journal, 4/7/23.
72. Medford Mail Tribune, 3/13/88, pp. 12-13, HF, Lodge folder; DAR,
1923, p. 143.
73. SS 40:8, p. 28, Portland Oregonian, 10/1/23.
74. SS 40:8, p. 29, Portland Oregonian, 11/3/23.
75. SS 40:8, pp.29-30, Portland Oregonian, 12/9/23.
76. SS 40:8, p.36, Portland Oregonian, 7/13/24.
77. DAR, 1924, pp. 51, 118-119.
78. SS 40:8, p. 60, Portland Oregonian, 8/2/25.
79. C.G. Thomson to Mather, 8/4/25, HF, U.S. Public Health
80. SS 40:8, pp. 61-62, Portland Oregonian, 8/9/25.
81. DAR, 1925, p. 105.
82. SS 40:8, p. 63, Portland Oregonian, 4/26/26.
83. SS 40:8, pp. 80-81.
84. SS 40:8, p. 64, Portland Oregonian, 1/27/27.
85. SS 40:8, p. 69; SS 40:8, p. 77, Eugene Guard, September 1926.
86. SAR, 1928, CRLA 16%, MC; SMN, 10/2/28, pp. 3-4, HF, Construction
Reports and Estimates folder; Remarks of Howard Arant, oral history
interview, 11/30/88, given at Medford, Oregon.
87. SS 40:8, p. 87, Portland Oregonian, 9/16/28.
88. "Report on Construction Activities in Crater Lake National Park,
Season 1928," Ward P. Webber, Resident Engineer, 1/25/29, pp. 10-12, HF,
Construction Reports and Estimates folder.
89. Albright to Price, 3/29/29, RG 79, CCF 1907-39, File 900-05, Part
4, Crater Lake National Park Company Miscellaneous Correspondence,
90. SS 40:8, p. 97, Portland Oregonian, 6/17/29.
91. SS 40:8, pp. 99-100, Portland Oregonian, 7/14/29.
92. "Report of Inspection Trip to Crater Lake National Park, Oregon,"
by H.B. Hommon, Sanitary Engineer, U.S. Public Health Service, 7/21/29,
p.2, RG 79, CCF 1907-39, File 201-006 Crater Lake Ad ministration,
93. "Report to the Chief Landscape Architect, through the
Superintendent of Crater Lake National Park, Medford, Oregon," by Ernest
A. Davidson, 7/21-25/29, pp. 1-2, HF, Landscape Architects Reports
94. E.C. Solinsky, Superintendent, to Albright, 7/29/29, p. 1, HF,
U.S. Public Health Inspections folder.
95. SS 40:8, p. 103, Medford Mail Tribune, 8/7/29.
96. SS 41:9, p.5, Medford Mail Tribune, 8/27/29.
97. SAR, 1929, CRLA 16%, MC; Rudolph F. Lueck to S.R. Mark, 11/10/89,
HF, Oral history folder.
98. SMN, 9/13/29, p. 3, CRLA 1696, MC.
99. SS 41:9, p. 10, Medford Mail Tribune, 1/7/30.
100. Arno B. Cammerer, Acting Director, to Solinsky, RG 79, CCF
1907-39, File 900-01, Part 1, Crater Lake Public Utility Operators,
Crater Lake National Park Company Correspondence, NA.
101. SS 41:9, p. 19, Medford Mail Tribune, 4/13/30.
102. Staehli, "Background on the Crater Lake Lodge," op. cit., p. 8,
HF, Lodge Pre-1930 folder.
103. SS 41:9, p. 24, Portland Oregonian, 7/6/30.
104. SS 41:9, p. 26, Medford Mail Tribune, 7/29/30.
105. "Report to the Chief Landscape Architect," by Merel S. Sager,
9/16 to 10/6/30, HF, Landscape Architects Reports folder.
106. SS 41:9, p. 34, Portland Oregonian, 9/23/30.
107. Yaquina Bay News, 9/19/30, RG 79, CCF 1907-39, File 900-05, Part
4, Crater Lake National Park Company Miscellaneous Correspondence,
108. Steel to the Hon. Ray Lyman Wilbur, Secretary of the Interior,
5/1/31, SS 41:9, p. 46.
109. SS 41:9, p.48, Medford Mail Tribune, 5/24/31.
110. SS 41:9, p. 49, Medford Mail Tribune, 6/22/31.
111. SS 41:9, p. 49, Medford Mail Tribune, 6/25/31.
112. SMN, 9/5/31, p. 5, CRLA 1698, MC.
113. SS 41:9, p.55, Medford Mail Tribune, 9/14/31.
114. Memorandum, G.F. Chapne, Electrical and Telephone Engineer, to
E.C. Solinsky, Superintendent, 9/22/31, RG 79, 67A618, Box 4499, File
661 Electrical System, FRC Seattle.
115. "Report of 1931 Construction Activities, As of November 1,
1931," by William E. Robertson, Associate Engineer, 11/1/31, RG 79, CCF
1907-39, File 207, NA; "Report on Operations and Approved Construction
Projects, Season of 1932," n.a., p. 22 and 33, HF, Construction Reports
and Estimates folder.
116. SS 41:9, pp. 58-59, Medford Mail Tribune, 1/1/32.
117. SMN, 9/2/32, p.2, loc. cit.; SAR, 1932, p.4, CRLA 16%, MC.
118. "Report to the Chief Landscape Architect," by Merel S. Sager,
10/29/32, p.36, HF, Landscape Architects Reports folder.
119. "Report on Naturalization of the Rim Area, Crater Lake National
Park," by Merel S. Sager, 11/18/32, pp. 5-6, HF, Landscaping Rim and
120. "Final Construction Report on Parapet at Rim, Account No.556,
Season of 1932," by William E. Robertson, Associate Engineer, 12/14/32,
HF, Rim Village Construction Reports folder.
121. Price to Solinsky, 2/6/33, RG 79, 67A618, Box 4499, File 630
Roads (General), FRC Seattle.
122. "Fire Inspection Report," by David H. Canfield, June 1933, pp.
4-6, HF, Lodge folder.
123. SS 41:9, p. 93, Portland Oregonian, 6/11/33.
124. Solinsky to Albright, 7/14/33, p. 3, RG 79, CCF 1907-49, File
618, Part 1, Crater Lake Lands, Buildings, Roads and Trails, Public
125. SMN, 10/9/33, p. 4, CRLA 1699, MC; SAR, 1933, p.4, CRLA 1696,
126. "Report to the Chief Architect," by M.S. Sager, 10/13/33, RG 79,
CCF 1933-49, File 207, NA.
127. "Report to the Chief Architect," by Merel S. Sager, 10/16/33, p.
4, RG 79, CCF 1907-49, File 621, NA.
128. "Report for the Months of June and July, 1934, to the Chief,
Western Division," by Francis G. Lange, 7/1/34, p.4, HF, ECW Landscape
Architects Reports folder.
129. SMN, 9/6/34, n.p., CRLA 1699, MC.
130. SS 41:9, p. 100, Medford Mail Tribune, 10/26/34; "Report to the
Chief Architect, Season of 1934," by Armin M. Doerner, 10/20/34,
p.11, RG 79, CCF 1933-49, File 618, Part 2, Crater Lake
Lands, Buildings, Roads, and Trails, Public Works, NA.; "Final
Construction Report on Rim Area, Public Campgrounds, and Parking Areas,
Surfacing and Paving, Account No. FP-138.8," by William E. Robertson,
Engineer, 12/17/37, p.2, HF, Rim Village Construction Reports
131. Memorandum for the Director, n.a., 9/26/34, RG 79, CCF 1907-49,
File 900-05, Part 4, Crater Lake National Park Company Miscellaneous
Correspondence, NA, and HSR, p. 97.
132. "Report to the Chief Architect," by Francis G. Lange, 10/22/34,
pp. 10-11, HF, Landscape Architects Reports folder.
133. SS 41:9, p. 106, Medford Mail Tribune, 6/15/35.
134. Ira Lantz, Special Agent, to Director of Investigations,
Department of Interior, 8/19/35, p. 7,9, RG 79, CCF 1933-49, File 204,
Part 1, Crater Lake Inspections and Investigations, Division of
135. "Report to the Chief Architect, Emergency Conservation Work-5th
Period," by Francis G. Lange, 11/1/35, HF, Landscape Architects Reports
136. SMN, 11/6/35, p.5,9, CRLA 1700, MC.
137. "Monthly Narrative Report to the Chief Architect on Major and
Minor Roads and Trails, and Projects other than Emergency Conservation
Work for Crater Lake National Park, Period June 25 to July 25, 1936," by
Francis G. Lange, 8/1/36, pp. 2-3, HF, ECW Landscape Architects Reports
138. "Monthly Narrative Report to the Chief Architect," by Francis G.
Lange, 9/1/36, p.2, HF, ECW Landscape Architects Reports folder.
139. "Monthly Narrative Report to the Regional Landscape Architect -
Region IV, Period August 24 to September 24, 1936," by Francis G. Lange,
RG 79, Region IV, Resident Landscape Architect's Reports to Chief
Architect (1927-1940), Box 2, Monthly Narrative Reports, ECW, FRC San
140. "Monthly Narrative Report to the Chief Architect," by Francis G.
Lange, 10/1/36, p. 3, HF, ECW Landscape Architects Reports folder.
141. "Monthly Narrative Report to the Chief Architect," by Francis G.
Lange, 8/24/37, p.2, HF, ECW Landscape Architects Reports folder.
142. SAR, 1937, n.p., CRLA 1695, MC.
143. "Final Narrative Report to the Chief Architect, Civilian
Conservation Corps, Minor Roads and Trails, Major Roads, Park Operator,"
by Francis G. Lange, 10/25/37, p.6, HF, ECW Landscape Architects
144. "Final Construction Report on Rim Area, Public Campgrounds and
Parking Areas," by Robertson, op. cit., p. 2, HF, Rim Village
Construction Reports folder.
145. Price to Leavitt, 5/17/38, RG 79, 67A772, Box 24723, File
900-01.2 New Construction, Transformer Room, FRC Seattle.
146. Price to Leavitt, 6/23/38, RG 79, CCF 1907-49, File 900-01,
Crater Lake National Park Company Miscellaneous Correspondence, NA.
147. "Monthly Narrative Report to the Chief Architect," by Francis G.
Lange, 8/25/38, p.4, HF, ECW Landscape Architects Reports folder.
148. Memorandum to Superintendent Leavitt, Francis G. Lange, Resident
Landscape Architect, 9/19/38, RG 79, 67A772, Box 24723, File 900-01.2
New Construction, Transformer Room, FRC Seattle.
149. Memorandum for the Regional Director, E.P. Leavitt,
Superintendent, 10/21/38, RG 79, CCF 1933-49, File 900-01, Part 1,
Crater Lake Public Utility Operators, Crater Lake National Park Company
150. Leavitt to Price, 11/18/38, RG 79, CCF 1907-49, File 900-01,
Crater Lake National Park Company Miscellaneous Correspondence, NA.
151. Memorandum for the Director, Charles L. Gable, Chief, Park
Operators Division, Branch of Operations, 4/24/39, p.3, RG 48, CCF
1937-53, File 12-3 Privileges, Crater Lake National Park Company,
152. C.W. Fyock to Leavitt, 7/22/39, RG 79, 67A772, Box 24723, File
900-11 Fire Protection and Safety, FRC Seattle.
153. "Final Construction Report on Extension and Improvement of Water
System, Account No. O.P. 752-05-250(a)," by JA. Madden, Assistant
Engineer, HF, Rim Village Construction Reports folder; SAR, 1940, p. 16,
CRLA 1695, MC.
154. "Monthly Narrative Report to the Chief of Planning," by Francis
G. Lange, 9/25/39, RG 79, Region IV, Resident Landscape Architect's
Reports to Chief Architect (1927-40), Box 2, Crater Lake Monthly
Narrative Report 1939, FRC San Bruno.
155. "Report of Inspections at Crater Lake National Park, Oregon," by
H.B. Hommon, Senior Sanitary Engineer, U.S. Public Health Service, July
1940, RG 79, CCF 1907-49, File 204-20 Crater Lake Inspections and
Investigations (Hommon), NA.
156. Memorandum for the Director, E.P. Leavitt, Superintendent,
9/19/40, RG 79, CCF 1907-49, File 900-02, NA.
157. "Landscape Architecture Field Notes, Visit to Crater Lake
National Park, October 1940," Memorandum for the Regional Director,
E.A. Davidson, Regional Landscape Architect, 11/1/40, p.4, RG 79, Region
IV, CCF, Box 11, File 600, Part 3, FRC San Bruno.
158. Memorandum for the Director, E.P. Leavitt, Superintendent,
1/9/41, RG 79, 67A772, Box 24723, File 900-01 Buildings and
Improvements, FRC Seattle.
159. Contract No. i-1P-80, 1/1/41 to 12/31/60, RG 79, Region IV, CCF,
Box 22, Folder 900, Part 1, Crater Lake National Park Company, NA.
160. SMN, 9/8/41, p.3, CRLA 1702, MC.
161. Memorandum for the Regional Director, Scofield DeLong, Regional
Architect, 9/17/41, RG 79, 67A772, Box 24723, File 900-11 Fire
Protection and Safety, FRC Seattle.
162. Memorandum for the Superintendent, Crater Lake, Scofield DeLong,
Architect, 11/5/41, RG 79, 67A772, Box 24723, File 900-11 Fire
Protection and Safety, FRC Seattle.
163. H.B. Hommon, Senior Sanitary Engineer, to Leavitt, 11/14/41, RG
79, CCF, File 204-20 Crater Lake Inspections and Investigations
164. Leavitt to Hommon, 2/19/42, loc. cit.
165. Memorandum for the Director, [O.A. Tomlinson], Regional
Director, 6/8/42, RG 79, 67A772, Box 24723, File 900-11 Fire Protection
and Safety, FRC Seattle.
166. SMN, 7/8/42, p.3, loc. cit.
167. SMN, 8/5/42, p. 3, loc. cit.
168. SAR, 10/28/42, p.4, CRLA 1695, MC.
169. HSR, p. 103.
170. Memorandum for the Regional Director, R.D. Waterhouse, Associate
Engineer, 8/6/43, p. 1, RG 79, 67A618, Box 4499, File 642 Tunnel, FRC
171. "Crater Lake National Park Development Outline, Rim Area," March
1944, p. 5, 10, RG 79, CCF 1933-49, File 600-01, Part 1, Master Plans
Crater Lake, NA.
172. "Crater Lake Notes," by Thomas C. Vint, Chief Landscape
Architect, 7/18/44, pp. 3-4, RG 79, 67A614, Box 8936, File 600-10 Post
War Planning, FRC Seattle.
173. Memorandum for the Superintendent, Thomas C. Parker, Assistant
Superintendent, 12/14/44, RG 79, 67A16, Box 4318, File 661, Electric
Light Plants and Systems, Part 2, FRC Seattle.
174. Memorandum for the Regional Director, Region Four, E.P. Leavitt,
Superintendent, 10/31/45, p. 1, RG 79, Region IV, CCF 1923-65, Box 16,
Folder 660-03.3 Sanitation, Part 1, FRC San Bruno.
175. No title, 11/29/45, RG 79, 67A772, Box 24723, File 900-11
Buildings and Improvements, FRC Seattle.
176. Leavitt to Price, 12/14/45, RG 79, 67A772, Box 24723, File
900-01.2 New Construction, Transformer Room, FRC Seattle.
177. Leavitt to R.L. Kron, 8/5/48, p.3, HF, Lodge folder.
178. Memorandum for the Director, E.P. Leavitt, Superintendent,
2/10/47, p.6, RG 79, CCF 1907-49, File 207-02.3, Part 2, NPS
Superintendents Monthly Reports, NA.
179. SMN, 5/7/47, p.4, CRLA 1702, MC.
180. "A Statement of the Concession Problems of Crater Lake National
Park," by E.P. Leavitt, Superintendent, 6/11/47, RG 79, 67A612, Box
4418, File 204-00 Inspections and investigations (General), FRC
181. R.E. Click, Chief, Food Sanitation Section, Division of Sanitary
Engineering, to Leavitt, 8/1/47, RG 79, CCF 1933-49, File 900-08,
182. Memorandum for Superintendent Leavitt, Clyde E. Gilbert, Acting
Chief Ranger, 8/15/47, RG 79, 67A772, File 900-11 Fire Protection and
Safety, FRC Seattle.
183. "Report on the Sanitary Inspections at Crater Lake National
Park, Oregon," by A.L. Dopmeyer, Sanitary Engineer, U.S. Public Health
Service, September 1947, p. 1, RG 79, CCF 1933-49, File 900-05.1 Wages
and Hours Crater Lake, NA.
184. "Crater Lake National Park Operations Prospectus," 3/11/47, pp.
6-7, RG 79, Region IV, CCF 1923-65, Box 12, Folder 600-01 Crater Lake
Master Plans, Part 2, FRC San Bruno.
185. Memorandum for the Director, E.P. Leavitt, Superintendent,
4/13/48, p. 3, RG 79, CCF 1907-49, File 207-02.3, Part 2, NPS
Superintendents Monthly Report, NA.
186. Memorandum for the Regional Director, Region Four, E.P. Leavitt,
Superintendent, 4/27/48, RG 79, 67A772, Box 24723, File 900-11 Fire
Protection and Safety, FRC Seattle.
187. SMN, 5/7/48, p. 4, loc. cit.
188. Leavitt to Fyock, 5/10/48, HF, Lodge folder.
189. Vern Schortgen [building contractor] to Leavitt, 6/3/48, HF,
190. Joe P. Price to Drury, 6/4/48, p.2, HF, Lodge folder.
191. SMN, 6/14/48, p. 4, loc. cit.
192. "Report on Fire Safety, Crater Lake Lodge, Crater Lake National
Park, Oregon," by Frank L. Ahern, Chief, NPS Safety Office, June 22 to
25,1948, RG 79, CCF 1907-49, File 900-01, Crater Lake Lodge, NA.
193. SMN, 9/10/48, p. 6, loc. cit.
194. Edwin C. Kenner to Mr. [Thomas C.] Vint, 12/31/48, RG 79, CCF
1907-49, File 900-01, NA.
195. Kron to Leavitt, 4/23/49, RG 79, CCF 1907-49, File 900-02, Part
3, NPS Crater Lake Park Company Contract, NA.
196. SMN, 7/12/49, pp.3-4, loc. cit.
197. D.D. Crumley, Acting Superintendent, to E.B. Morrison,
Electrical Engineer, 10/14/49, RG 79, 67A772, Box 24723, File 900-01.2
New Construction, Transformer Room, FRC Seattle.
198. Memorandum, Regional Director, Region Four, E.P. Leavitt,
Superintendent, 12/21/49, p. 1, RG 79, 67A772, Box 24723, File 900-01
Buildings and Improvements, FRC Seattle.
199. Leavitt to Price, 3/23/50, RG 79, 67A772, Box 24723, File
900-01.2 New Construction, Transformer Room, FRC Seattle.
200. "Engineers Report, Structural Survey and Physical Condition,
Crater Lake Lodge and Annex, Crater Lake National Park, Oregon," [Haner
Report], by S.A. Ross, Consulting Engineer, and H.V. Tunks, Assistant
Engineer, June 1953, p. 11, Files, TIC, DSC. This is reiterated in the
Haner, Ross, and Sporseen Report of February 1982, p.6.
201. Memorandum, Superintendent, Crater Lake, Herbert Maier, Acting
Regional Director, 5/15/50, RG 79, 67A16, Box 4318, File 664-05 West
Coast Telephone Co. Corresp., FRC Seattle.
202. Drury to Kron, 6/29/50, RG 79, 67A772, File 900-11 Fire
Protection and Safety, FRC Seattle.
203. Memorandum, Regional Director, Region Four, E.P. Leavitt,
Superintendent, 10/4/50, RG 79, 67A772, Box 24723, File 900-01 Buildings
and Improvements, FRC Seattle.
204. SMN, 11/14/50, p.2, loc. cit.
205. [Memorandum to] Supt. Leavitt, [from Assistant Superintendent]
Been, 12/5/50, RG 79, 67A16, Box 4318, File 661 Electric Light Plants
and Systems, Part 3, FRC Seattle.
206. Leavitt to Price, 12/6/50, RG 79, 67A772, Box 24723, File
900-01.2, New Construction, Transformer Room, FRC Seattle.
207. SMN, 7/10/51, p. 5, CRLA 1703, MC.
208. Sanford Hill, Assistant Regional Director, to P. Mosterdyke,
8/15/51, RG 79, 67A614, Box 8936, File 600 Lands, Buildings, Roads and
Trails, FRC Seattle.
209. Memorandum, Regional Architect, Charles G. Lundgren, Architect,
9/27/51, RG 79, 67A772, Box 24723, File 900-01 Buildings and
Improvements, FRC Seattle.
210. Memorandum, Regional Director, Region Four, E.P. Leavitt,
Superintendent, 10/15/51, RG 79, 67A772, Box 24723, File 900-01
Buildings and Improvements, FRC Seattle.
211. Memorandum, Director, Leonard L. Hohl, Acting Assistant Regional
Director, 1/29/52, RG 79, 67A16, Box 4318, File 665, Part 2, Water
Systems, FRC Seattle.
212. "Report of Sanitary Inspection, Crater Lake National Park," by
Karl L. Zander, Senior Sanitary Engineer (R), Public Health Service,
FSA, Region 10,8/19/52, RG 79, 67A16, Box 4318, File 663 Sanitary
Systems and Sanitation, FRC Seattle.
213. Joe P. Price to Director, NPS, through John B. Wosky,
Superintendent, 2/27/53, p. 2, RG 79, 67A612, Box 4418, File 200-7
Complaints, FRC Seattle.
214. H.L. Crowley, Acting Assistant Regional Director, to William B.
Johnston, School of Architecture, University of Oregon, 4/2/53, RG 79,
67A772, Box 24723, File 900-01 Buildings and Improvements, FRC
215. "Engineers Report, Structural Survey and Physical Condition,
Crater Lake Lodge," [Haner Report], op. cit.
216. Wosky to Price, 9/28/53, RG 79, 67A772, Box 24723, File 900-01
Buildings and Improvements, FRC Seattle.
217. Portland Oregon Journal, 3/29/54, p. 7; Portland Oregonian,
218. SMN, 4/9/54, p.2, CRLA 1704, MC.
219. SMN, 12/13/54, p.3, loc. cit.
220. SMN, 6/13/55, p. 3, loc. cit.
221. SMN, 8/10/55, p. 4, loc. cit.
222. SMN, 2/13/56, p. 3, loc. cit.
223. "Rim Area, Part of the Master Plan for Crater Lake National
Park," March 1956, drawing no.2014-D, MDF.
224. SMN, 5/11/56, p. 4, loc. cit.
225. SMN, 6/12/56, p.4, loc. cit.
226. SMN, 6/11/57, p. 5, loc. cit.
227. "Naturalist talk at Rim Lodge," by C. Warren Fairbanks, Park
Photograph Files, Naturalist Services section.
228. Medford Mail Tribune, 8/25/57, cited in Administrative History,
Crater Lake National Park, by Har lan D. Unrau, 1988, p. 602.
229. SMN, 11/7/57, p. 3, loc. cit.
230. SMN, 12/12/57, p. 3, loc. cit.
231. SMN, 2/11/58, p.3, loc. cit.
232. SMN, 5/9/58, p.4, loc. cit.
233. SMN, 10/9/59, p. 6, CRLA 1715, MC.
234. SMN, 7/8/60, p.3, HF, File A2615, SMN-1961.
235. SMN, 12/7/60, p.3, loc. cit.
236. SMN, 9/11/61, p. 2, loc. cit.
237. Monthly Progress Report, September 1961, HF, File A2615, SMN-
1961; Monthly Progress Report, October 1961, loc. cit.
238. SMN, 12/11/61, p.2, loc. cit.
239. Memorandum, Regional Director, Region Four, John Wosky, Regional
Chief of Operations, Region Four, 2/13/62, RG 79,46953, Box 13, File A40
Conferences and Meetings (General), FRC San Bruno.
240. SMN, 2/7/63, p. 3, HF, File A2615, SMN-1963.
241. SMN, 9/9/63, pp. 3-4, loc. cit.
242. Remarks of TJ. "Jeff" Adams, oral history interview, 5/12/89,
given at Klamath Falls, Oregon.
243. SMN, 6/11/65, p. 4, HF, File A2615, SMN-1965.
244. Monthly Progress Report, August 1965, loc. cit.
245. HSR, p. 126.
246. Memorandum, Regional Director, Western Region, J. Leonard Volz,
Superintendent, 12/20/65, p.2, HF, Lodge folder.
247. Memorandum, Regional Director, Western Region, J. Leonard Volz,
Superintendent, 1/21/66, loc. cit.
248. SMN, 6/7/66, p.4, HF, File A2615, SMN-1966.
249. Remarks of Paul Fritz, oral history interview, 6/28/89, given at
Crater Lake National Park; Memorandum, Regional Director, Western
Region, J. Leonard Volz, Superintendent, 9/8/66, p.2, HF, Master Plans
250. "Evaluation of Certain Properties Lying Within and Adjacent to
Crater Lake National Park for Crater Lake Lodge, Inc.," by Jeffrey
Holbrook, 11/15/66, HF, Crater Lake Concession Companies folder.
251. Memorandum to the Regional Director, Western Region, J. Leonard
Volz, Superintendent, 3/3/67, p. 1, HF, "Location of a new Headquarters
252. Memorandum, Regional Director, Western Region, J. Leonard Volz,
Superintendent, 9/26/67, p. 1, HF, Crater Lake Concession Companies
253. "Daily Diary," 10/19/67, HF, File H14 Area History, Daily Diary
254. Memorandum, Director, Luis A. Gastellum, Deputy Assistant
Director, 10/14/68, pp. 2-3, HF, Rim Redevelopment folder; Memorandum,
Regional Director, Western Region, Paul A. Larson, Acting
Superintendent, 1/16/68, HF, Master Plans (General) folder; Contract No.
14-10-9-900-69, 11/1/67 to 10/31/97, Central Files, Crater Lake National
255. "Daily Diary, 5/23/68, loc. cit.
256. "Daily Diary, 5/31/68, loc. cit.
257. "Daily Diary, 7/29/68, loc. cit.
258. Remarks of TJ. "Jeff" Adams, oral history interview, op.
259. Remarks of R.M. Brown, oral history interview, 9/14/88, given at
260. SAR, 1972, p.5, HF, File A2621 Annual Reports (Misc.).
261. Portland Oregon Journal, 12/7/73, HF, Employee Dorm folder.
262. SAR, 1974, p. 11, HF, File A2621 Annual Reports (Misc.).
263. "Environmental Assessment for Crater Lake Master Plan, Crater
Lake National Park," prepared by DSC, March 1975, p.2, Files, TIC,
264. "NPS Closes Crater Lake National Park, Oregon," USDI news
release, 7/11/75, HF, Water Crisis folder.
265. Memorandum, General Superintendent, Klamath Falls Group, Robert
S. Luntey, Associate Regional Director, Professional Services, Pacific
Northwest Region, 8/14/75, HF, Water Crisis folder.
266. Hearing before the Committee on Interior and Insular Affairs,
United States Senate, 94th Congress, 1st Session on Oversight to Clarify
Circumstances Which Led to Closure of Crater Lake National Park,
Medford, Oreg., September 6, 1975, (Washington, 1975).
267. Smith, Larry and Lloyd, comps., "The Smith Brothers'
Chronological History: Crater Lake National Park, Oregon, 1832 to 1985,"
1985, n.p., Crater Lake National Park Library.
268. "Classified Structure Field Inventory Report, Crater Lake
National Park, March 1976," by Alan C. Reynolds, 3/2/76, n.p., HF.
269. Peyton to Russell Dickenson, [Regional] Director, 3/10/76, p.4,
HF, 1970s Planning folder.
270. Memorandum, Assistant Manager, Pacific Northwest/Western Team,
DSC, Douglas B. Cornell, Jr., Architect/Planner, Pacific
Northwest/Western Team, 8/18/76, pp. 2-4, HF, 1970s Planning folder.
271. "The Smith Brothers' Chronological History," op. cit.
272. "Emergency Survey of Concession Facilities, Crater Lake National
Park," May 1981, pp.28-30, Crater Lake National Park Library.
273. Ibid., pp. 29, 54-63.
274. Ibid., pp. 1-5.
275. Portland Oregon Journal, 11/26/80, p.1.
276. Portland Oregon Journal, 12/11/80, p. 28.
277. "Oregon Legislative Assembly - 1981 Regular Session, House Joint
Memorial 11," sponsored by the Committee on State and Federal Affairs,
4/3/81, HF, Lodge Demolition - News Articles folder.
278. "The Smith Brothers' Chronological History," op. cit.
279. David G. Talbot, State Historic Preservation Officer, to Daniel
J. Tobin, Regional Director, 5/14/81, HF, Lodge folder.
280. Memorandum, Superintendent, Crater Lake, Dan Babbitt, Chief,
[Pacific Northwest Region] Division of Design, 5/19/81, HF, Lodge
281. Paul H. Wallwork, Building Official, Jackson County [Oregon]
Department of Planning and Development, to Jeff Adams, Maintenance
[Division], Crater Lake, 7/14/82, HF, Lodge folder.
282. Memorandum, Regional Director, Pacific Northwest Region, James
S. Rouse, Superintendent, 10/7/81, HF, Lodge folder.
283. Memorandum, Superintendent, Crater Lake, Daniel J. Tobin,
Regional Director, Pacific Northwest Region, 12/16/81, HF, Rim
284. "Engineers Report, Structural Survey and Physical Condition,
Crater Lake Lodge and Annex, Crater Lake National Park, Oregon," by
Haner, Ross and Sporseen, Inc., Portland, revised February 1982, p.6,
11, Files, TIC, DSC.
285. Remarks of TJ. "Jeff' Adams, op. cit.; Jerry Brady, former
concession employee, 11/18/89, Ashland, Oregon, personal
286. Memorandum, Assistant Superintendent, Jonathon B. Jarvis,
Resource Management Trainee, n.d., HF, Rim Redevelopment folder;
Environmental Assessment, Development Concept Plan, Amendment to the
General Management Plan, Crater Lake National Park, Oregon, [March
1984], Denver: USDI, NPS.
287. Portland Oregonian, 8/1/84, p. B8; Weaver to Dickenson, 8/27/84,
HF, Rim Redevelopment folder.
288. "Technical Analysis Report for Rehabilitation, Crater Lake
Lodge, Crater Lake National Park,' [BOOR/A Report], 1986, p.12, Volume
One, Files, TIC, DSC.
289. "Crater Lake Lodge Study of Preservation and Rehabilitation," by
Alfred Staehli, AIA, November 1985, pp.250-318, in BOOR/A, op. cit.
290. Staehli, "Crater Lake Lodge: Additional Notes on its
Architectural Significance and About the Architect," p. 6, loc.
291. "Proposed Action and Finding of No Significant Impact,"
Development Concept Plan, Environmental Assessment. Amendment to the
General Management Plan, Mazama Campground / Rim Village Corridor,
Crater Lake National Park, Oregon, May 1988, pp. 2-3, Files, TIC,
292. Memorandum, Division Chiefs, Robert E. Benton, Superintendent,
Crater Lake National Park and Oregon Caves National Monument, 2/10/89,
HF, Concession Companies folder.
293. Memorandum, Director, NPS, Charles H. Odegaard, Regional
Director, Pacific Northwest Region, 5/25/89, HF, Lodge folder; Medford
Mail Tribune, 5/26/89, p. 1; "Technical Memorandum, Crater Lake Lodge,
Crater Lake National Park, Oregon," by CH2M Hill, Corvallis, Oregon,
June 1989, HF, Lodge folder.
294. Memorandum, Assistant Manager, Western Team, DSC, Craig Frazier,
Project Team Captain, Western Team, DSC, 9/20/89, HF, Lodge folder.
South Elevation (Great Hall, Kitchen & Dining Room)
Crater Lake Loge under construction, view from southeast, ca. 1913.
Stone walls are finished and roof framing of Kitchen Wing is underway. Courtesy, Southern
Oregon Historical Society.
Crater Lake Lodge under construction, view from west, ca. 1914.
Great Hall framing is almost complete and exterior fireplace chimney is unfinished. Courtesy,
Klamath County Museum.
Crater Lake Lodge, view from southwest, June 13, 1915.
Crater Lake Lodge, view from northeast, ca. 1915-1917. Note the
unfinished condition of the upper walls, clad with building paper and wood battens. Courtesy,
Oregon Historical Society.
Great Hall (Lounge) of Crater Lake Lodge, ca. 1917. Note the glass light
fixtures, unfinished fireplace mantel, covered windows at stair landing, and the temporary stair handrail.
Crater Lake National Park files.
Great Hall (Lounge) of Crater Lake Loddge, ca. 1917. Note the Dining
Room beyond. Crater Lake National Park files.
Dining Room of Crater Lake Lodge, ca. 1917. Crater Lake National Park files.
Great Hall (Lounge) of Crater Lake Lodge, ca. 1917. Note the new light
fixtures, stone fireplace mantel, new log handrail, and windows in the stair landing. Crater Lake
Nastional Park files.
Dining Room of Crater Lake Lodge, ca. 1917. Note the new light fixtures.
Crater Lake National Park files.
Crater Lake Lodge, view from northeast, ca. 1917. The Lodge walls are
still clad with building paper and wood battens.
Lodge Annex under construction, view from southwest, ca. 1922. Crater
Lake National Park files.
Crater Lake Lodge, with new Annex Wing, view from northeast, ca. July 1925.
Crater Lake National Park files.
Crater Lake Lodge with Annex near comopletion, view from southwest, ca.
late 1920's. A circular drive and parking area have been established in front of the lodge. Note the
Great Hall chimney is not yet capped with a metal flue. Courtesy, Southern Oregon Historical Society.
Crater Lake Lodge with Annex, view from the southwest, ca. early 1930's.
Note the development of the circulr drive and the addition of log rails to define the drives.
Crater Lake Lodge with Annex, view from the northeast, ca. early 1930's.
New veranda, rim promenande, and parapeet wall are evident. Note the metal flue from the Great Hall chimney
extending behind the Great Hall.
North side of Lodge before new veranda, ca. early 1930's.
New veranda on the north side of Crater Lake Lodge, ca. early 1930's.
Courtesy, Oregon Historical Society.
New veranda on north side of Crater Lake Lodge, looking northwest, ca.
early 1930's. Note the fire exit ladder from guest rooms above the Great Hall.
Dining Room being used to sort mail, ca. 1930's. Note the Great Hall
in background. Crater Lake National Park files.
Crater Lake Lodge, view from south, ca. 1934. Construction of the
circular drive, parking area, and new entrance steps has begun. The existing log rails have not
yet been removed.
View from southwest, ca. 1933-1934. Construction of new parking area and
circular drive including stone curbing and stone steps.
Ceiling of Great Hall, ca. June 1953. Note the wood columns that
were added ca. 1947.
Great Hall of Crater Lake Lodge with a drop ceiling, ca. 1980. Note the
glass doors and divided lite wall leading to the dining room.
Great Hall of Crater Lake Lodge, ca. 1980. Note the closed stair landing.
Great Hall of Crater Lake Lodge, ca. 1980. Gift shop is set-up in
the northwest area of Great Hall.
Dining Room of Crater Lake Lodge, ca. 1980. Drop ceiling has been
installed and a column has been covered to create a plumbing chase.
Last Updated: 16-Sep-2016