DIRECTORY OF OREGON STATE PARK AREAS
Agate Beach State Wayside - 18.48 acres, Lincoln County, situated between the old and new routes of the Oregon Coast Highway, on Big Creek at the northerly edge of Newport. The wayside was purchased from the Lincoln County Development Company in 1969 after litigation. Developments include parking and day-use facilities with access to the ocean beach, where agates occasionally can be found.
Ainsworth State Park - 156 acres, Multnomah County, located on the old Columbia River Scenic Highway east of Crown Point. The initial park holding, a tract of 40 acres, was donated in 1933 by John C. Ainsworth and his wife, Alice. Additional land was purchased in 1947 and 1966. The park is a forested tract at the base of St. Peter's Dome. The main attraction of the area was a gushing, cold water spring. Original picnic facilities in the park were constructed in 1935 by Civilian Conservation Corps workers, who also developed the trails. Day-use facilities have been updated over the years. Overnight camping facilities are available for the traveler.
John Churchill Ainsworth (1870-1943) was a prominent Oregon businessman and banker (U. S. National Bank) in Portland. He served as chairman of the State Highway Commission 1931-1932 and was the son of Captain J. C. Ainsworth, pioneer steamboatman and founder of the Oregon Steam Navigation Company.
Albert H. Powers Memorial State Park - 13.8 acres, Coos County, located south of Coquille off Highway 42, two miles north of Gaylord. A myrtle grove given to the state by Ruth McBride Powers in 1963 as a memorial to her husband. It is not developed for public use. The Powers family was prominent in the lumber business in Coos County. The nearby town of Powers was the headquarters of the Smith-Powers Logging Company.
Alderwood State Wayside - 76.4 acres, Lane County on Oregon Highway 36, about 15 miles west of Junction City. It was purchased from Lane County in 1931. The wayside is a forested tract bordering the Long Tom River in a hollow-like setting. Day-use picnic facilities were originally developed by the CCC forces about 1935. According to local lore, during the prohibition era, in the 1920s, liquor was distilled clandestinely at a nearby location called Burp Holler. In 1961, the latter name was briefly considered for application to the wayside but the proposal was unsuccessful.
Arcadia Beach State Wayside - 19.19 acres, Clatsop County, located on the Oregon Coast Highway, about three miles south of Cannon Beach. The area was purchased from various owners between 1971 and 1985. It includes forested Humbug Point on the ocean shore, a most attractive beach access. After much discussion and opposition to the original plans, the area was developed for day use in the late 1970s.
Arlington State Wayside - 191 acres, Gilliam County, extending along the Columbia River Highway (I-84), two miles east of Arlington. Acquired by purchase in 1964, following relocation of the Columbia River Highway and construction of the John Day Dam. It was thought to be potentially useful for overlooks or a rest area. It is as yet undeveloped. The setting is Columbia basalt land formation without trees -- rather warm in summer, exposed in winter.
Armitage State Park - 56.94 acres, Lane County, located off Interstate Highway 5, five miles north of Eugene. The original 32.82 acres were given to the state in 1938 by S. C. Armitage for a park in memory of his wife, Henrietta, and in honor of his daughter, Frances. Additional lands were purchased from other owners from 1956 to 1970. A large bottom land hardwood tract located along the McKenzie River, it periodically has been flooded in times of high water. Trees include alder, big leaf and vine maple, cottonwood, willow, Douglas fir, white fir, western red cedar, and aspen. Though once developed with overnight camping facilities, the park is now a day-use area offering picnicking, boating and fishing opportunities.
Azalea State Park - 36.30 acres, Curry County, at Brookings off the Oregon Coast Highway on the edge of the west bank of the Chetco River. The land was acquired by purchase between 1939 and 1970 from the Brookings Land and Townsite Company and private land holders. Included in the park is a donation of 0.43 acres made by Elmer Bankus of Brookings in 1951.
Azalea plants, some reputed to be over 300 years old, are the main attraction of the park. During the flowering period, April through June, the area is most spectacular. The community of Brookings sponsors the Azalea Festival in May. Day-use facilities in the park include trails and picnic developments. The hexagonal log observation pavilion constructed by the Civilian Conservation Corps about 1941 overlooks a large azalea-filled flat.
Bald Peak State Park - 26.44 acres, Yamhill County, off Highway 99W, nine miles northwest of Newberg. The land was purchased from a private owner in 1931. The park is a forested high point in the Chehalem hills from which there are spectacular views of the Cascade and Coast ranges as well as the Willamette Valley. The elevation is 1,633 feet above sea level. There are day-use picnic facilities but no water. Over the years, attempts were made to expand the park and to obtain water. These failed for various financial reasons.
In 1939, Parks Superintendent S. H. Boardman and Highway officials were asked to consider the park as a prospective location for a memorial to the pioneer women of the Oregon Country. The site was not chosen. Superintendent Boardman commented on the inspection group's varied reactions as follows: "To an observer of life, one of the most interesting observations is the conflicting thoughts of mankind. There are various slants, emotions and deductions. One member thought the Peak was too far away from population. Another thought a shrine should be located near a primary highway or near a historical section of the state. One engineer found an outcropping of rock at the Peak and immediately started negotiations with me for a quarry site."
Bandon Ocean Wayside - 14.84 acres, Coos County, off Oregon Coast Highway, one mile southwest of Bandon. The original land was given to the state in 1931 by J. F. Kronenberg of Bandon. Subsequently, in 1964, two additional tracts were purchased after litigation with other owners. The wayside consists mainly of sandy ocean beach with some land suitable for development. The area provides beach walking and fishing opportunities.
Bandon State Park - 878.81 acres, Coos County, off Oregon Coast Highway, five miles south of Bandon. The land was acquired between 1954 and 1970 by purchase from various owners and a gift from Coos County. Much of the park is beach land and is attractive to visitors for picnicking, fishing and beach day use. There is no potable water on site.
Bandon was named for Bandon, Ireland, by George Bennett, who settled in the area in 1873. A major fire in the fall of 1936 destroyed much of the town and burned a large region of western Coos and northern Curry counties. The story of the fire is related to visitors through information supplied in Bandon.
Banks-Vernonia Linear State Park - 0.28 acres, Washington County, located off Oregon Highway 47 between Banks and the Columbia County line. Consisting primarily of abandoned railroad right-of-way, the park is a linear area with trail possibilities. Its setting is largely agricultural and forest land rising to the west out of the Dairy Creek drainage.
The railroad developed by the Portland, Astoria and Pacific Railroad served the area between Banks and Vernonia from 1913 onward for hauling of logs, finished lumber, freight and passengers. At the time of its abandonment in 1973, it was owned by the Spokane, Portland and Seattle Railway and Burlington Northern, Inc. The railroad property was purchased by Orth Industries, and in 1974 a 21-mile segment of right-of-way was sold to the Oregon State Highway Division. Two small supplementary parcels were purchased in 1976.
Park development is in the planning stage, although the trail has been graded and access points have been located. Future land acquisitions will be made as they are approved.
Battle Mountain Forest Wayside - 284.47 acres, Umatilla County. Battle Mountain State Park - 136 acres, Umatilla County. Total - 420.47 acres. These are contiguous areas located on the Pendleton-John Day Highway (U. S. 395), nine miles north of Ukiah. They were acquired in 1930 from the Cunningham Land and Sheep Company to protect the forest of ponderosa pine, larch, Douglas fir, and spruce. Situated on the edge of a spur of the Blue Mountains, the terrain is rolling with steep canyons. The name commemorates one of the last battles between Native Americans and Euro-American settlers in Eastern Oregon. The confrontation took place in the vicinity of the park in 1878. In 1935, enrollees of a CCC camp in the park constructed tables, stoves and a water system for day use. Later, the Parks Division acquired the camp mess hall and improved it for indoor visitor activities. It no longer stands. However, a large outdoor fireplace of stone was constructed by the CCC for group use, and it is still a gathering point for summer visitors retreating to the forest park at the height of summer.
Beachside State Park - 16.70 acres, Lincoln County, located between Highway 101 and the Pacific Ocean, four miles south of Waldport. The land was purchased from various owners in 1944 to provide public access to a fine ocean beach at Big Creek and to preserve native shore pine with associated vegetation. The park was originally named Big Creek State Park but this was changed by the Highway Commission on public request in 1957 to end confusion with other similarly named business and public areas. Developments include camping and day-use facilities.
Ben and Kay Dorris State Park - 92.23 acres, Lane County, located on Oregon Highway 126, 31 miles east of Eugene on the north side of the McKenzie River at the head of Martin Rapids. The park is named for Ben F. and Klysta C. (Kay) Dorris, who made a generous gift of 78.32 acres to the State of Oregon for park purposes in 1943. Later, it was found that an orchard encroached on the property. A land exchange was made with the orchard owner which added more river frontage. Adjoining river-front land was purchased in 1976, and highway adjustments were made, bringing the total to 92.23 acres. The park is forested with Douglas fir and big leaf maple. Though once developed for overnight camping, the area is now improved for day use, including boat launching.
Within the park area is a natural formation called "Rock House." According to tradition, the overhanging outcropping of rock provided overnight shelter for those using the old wagon road leading to the McKenzie River Pass through the Cascade Mountains.
Ben Hur Lampman State Wayside - 23.85 acres, Jackson County, located on Interstate Highway 5, 16 miles east of Grants Pass, on the south bank of the Rogue River opposite Gold Hill. The property was acquired in 1952 and 1953 during construction of the present freeway. Land was given by the City of Gold Hill, and additional acreage was purchased from other owners. It provides day-use facilities for highway travelers and access to the Rogue River. At the request of the City of Gold Hill, the wayside was named for Ben Hur Lampman (1886-1954), former editor of the Gold Hill News. Later in his career, Lampman was an editorial writer and associate editor of The Oregonian in Portland. An ardent fisherman and poet, he was named Poet Laureate of Oregon by the Oregon Legislature in 1951.
Benson State Park - 271.95 acres, Multnomah County, located on Interstate Highway 84 (east bound access only), 30 miles east of Portland, on the south bank of the Columbia River. Part of the park is situated between the freeway and the Union Pacific Railroad, and additional tracts are located along the Old Columbia River Highway near Wahkeena Creek and east of Multnomah Falls. The property was acquired between 1939 and 1977, including gifts from the City of Portland, Multnomah County and Rueben and Rose Lenske. In 1977, the State Highway Division acquired additional acreage through purchase.
The park is named for Simon Benson (1852-1942), a native of Norway who became a pioneer logging operator, good roads advocate and philanthropist. He is remembered as one of the early promoters of Oregon highways. He was the first chairman of the citizen State Highway Commission which superseded the State Board of Control in 1917. He built the Benson Hotel in Portland, endowed Benson Polytechnic High School and gave 20 bronze drinking fountains to the City of Portland. Benson once owned a portion of the present park. Early developments in the park were carried out by the Civilian Conservation Corps between 1933 and 1935. Further development began in 1950 with day-use facilities and improvements for swimming in the lake on Multnomah Creek. The improved area lies on relatively level river bottom land with a forest cover of cottonwood, alder and maple.
Beverly Beach State Park - 130.06 acres, Lincoln County, located on the Oregon Coast Highway, seven miles north of Newport. Includes ocean beach and lands to the east bordering both the present and old highway locations. Land for the park was first acquired by the Highway Commission in 1942 and 1943 along Spencer Creek and subsequently, transferred to the Parks Division. Additional lands were acquired from various owners by purchase up to 1969. The old Coast Highway provides access to a relatively flat forest area along Spencer Creek which is well developed for both day and overnight use. It is a short walk under a highway overpass to the beach. Though the forest of Sitka spruce and western hemlock of the past was logged years ago, the park now has a good growth of new forest, including shore pine.
Blachly Mountain Forest Wayside - 72.80 acres, Lane County, located on Oregon Highway 36, some 19 miles west of Junction City, between Cheshire and Triangle Lake. The land was obtained in 1931 from Lane County in a sheriff's sale, and the forest was purchased separately from the owner of the timber rights. It is forested with Douglas fir, wax myrtle, alder, maple, and western red cedar. It is undeveloped and protects an attractive forest at the summit of the Coast Range. The Blachly name honors William Blachly (1844-1934), an Oregon pioneer of 1854.
Blue Mountain Forest Wayside - 2,150.36 acres, Umatilla and Union counties, located on Interstate Highway 84, between Pendleton and La Grande. The wayside was obtained from various owners between 1927 and 1937 with some adjustments in 1959 and 1983.
Situated in a long mountain ridge, the forest contains intermittent stands of old-growth ponderosa pine, western larch, Engelmann spruce, lodgepole pine, and white fir. It is one of the few examples of mature evergreen forests on I-84 between Ogden, Utah and The Dalles, Oregon. Developments include viewpoints offering spectacular vistas of the surrounding mountain country.
The Blue Mountains are said to have been named about 1811 by explorer and fur trader David Thompson of the North West Company, who noted their bluish cast against the sky while descending the Columbia River. The springs and cooling shade of this forest were appreciated by overland emigrants who passed through the area on the Oregon Trail.
Boiler Bay State Wayside - 32.79 acres, Lincoln County, located one mile north of Depoe Bay, on the Oregon Coast Highway at a low promontory known as Government Point. The park was acquired between 1926 and 1974 by purchase from various owners. The land is steep, rocky bluff facing the ocean and a small bay. It offers splendid views of the ocean. It is developed with day-use facilities. Boiler Bay is named for the remains of a ship's boiler visible at low tide. They are the remnants of the freighter J. Marhoffer, which was wrecked off this point in 1910.
Bolon Island Tideways State Wayside - 11.41 acres, Douglas County, located at the north end of Reedsport on the Oregon Coast Highway. The wayside was a gift to the state from William L. and Jenny Chamberlain in 1934 in memory of their children. Once an island in the Umpqua River, the shallow area on the north and west has been filled in for sawmill and dock facilities. The property, accessible by trails, is a tree-covered hill overlooking the Umpqua River estuary and mouth of the Smith River. Present development includes a limited parking area, at the edge of which is an historic marker with information on the mountain man and explorer, Jedediah Smith. Smith made the first recorded overland trip by a Euro-American from California along the Oregon coast in 1828. His party was attacked by Indians of the Lower Umpqua while encamped on the Smith River, less than a mile northeast of the wayside. Smith and the other survivors were able to reach Fort Vancouver. Bolon Island was a traditional occupation site of the Native Americans. It was named in the period of Euro-American settlement for an early settler in the vicinity. Tideways was a name used by the donors for their portion of the island. To avoid confusion, the name Bolon Island Tideways was adopted.
Bonneville State Park - Multnomah County, off Interstate 84, about three miles west of Cascade Locks. Acquired from various owners between 1934 and 1960, including a gift from the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers. The park consists of five fragmentary tracts of land in the vicinity of Bonneville Dam on the Columbia River. Part of the area is forest, but there are no public use facilities. The area has been disrupted over the years, first by construction of Bonneville Dam and later by improvement of the water grade Columbia River Highway to freeway standards (now I-84).
A portion of the park was once owned by Samuel C. Lancaster (1864-1941), locating engineer of the old Columbia River Scenic Highway, a remarkable road building achievement completed in 1915. Lancaster built a resort on his property, which he later sold after the development burned. He returned to the spot, however, in the 1930s as foreman of a Works Progress Administration (WPA) crew from Cascade Locks. He lived in a cabin on the edge of the park, coordinating his work efforts with State Parks Superintendent Sam Boardman.
Bonnie Lure State Park - 94 acres. Clackamas County, on County Road 24028, six miles north of Estacada. The park was purchased from the Nature Conservancy in 1976 with aid from the Federal Land and Water Conservation Fund. It is a forested lowland at the junction of Eagle Creek and the Clackamas River, a popular area for boaters and fishermen. There are trail and river access developments.
Booth State Wayside - 310.59 acres, Lake County, located on State Highway 140, 12 miles west of Lakeview. Obtained from various owners between 1928 and 1944. The initial holding was a gift of 50 acres from R. A. Booth (1858-1944), president of the Oregon Land and Live Stock Company and former chairman of the Oregon State Highway Commission. Robert A. Booth also was a member of Governor I. L. Patterson's State Park Commission, which met only once in 1929. His grand nephew, Brian Booth, became first chairman of the Oregon Parks and Recreation Commission created by legislative act in 1989. Booth Wayside was developed during the Depression era with assistance of Civilian Conservation Corps enrollees. It consists of several tracts of land along Antelope Creek Canyon, east of Quartz Mountain. The tracts are forested with ponderosa pine and juniper. The developed area containing day-use picnic facilities is enhanced by the many large, old growth pine trees.
Bowers Rocks State Park - 455.37 acres, Linn County, located on the east bank of the Willamette River, three miles west of Albany off Riverside Drive. Obtained by purchase from various owners between 1973 and 1976, the park is lowland flood plain area deeply penetrated by old river channels with some cottonwood, willow and other hardwood forest. It is presently undeveloped for public use, though some of the area has been quarried for gravel in the past. The wildlife habitat is interesting with potential for many waterfowl and other birds. This park has long been under study for possible development. It is one of the five Willamette River Greenway acquisitions authorized by the Oregon Legislature in 1973. There is a gravel quarry lease on part of the land.
Bradley State Wayside - 18.08 acres, Clatsop County, on U. S. Highway 30, 22 miles east of Astoria. Originally given to Clatsop County by the heirs of Nathan Bradley in 1921, the park was transferred to the state in 1922. It is essentially a forested overlook of the Columbia River at the spectacular Clatsop Crest. Though once developed as a concession area for motorists and equipped with a caretaker's cottage, the park's only developments today are picnic facilities for day use visitors.
Bridal Veil Falls State Park - 15.55 acres, Multnomah County, on Highway 30, Old Columbia River Highway Scenic Route, 16 miles east of Troutdale. The land for this area was acquired by purchase from various owners between 1970 and 1984. A hilly, forested tract with good vistas of the Columbia River Gorge and Bridal Veil Falls, it is developed for day use with picnic facilities, and trails to view points. The park contains habitat for many plant species, including a field of beautiful common camas (Canassia quamash). It adjoins the site of the old Bridal Veil Timber Company operation. Beginning in 1886, the company employed a flume system to bring in rough cut lumber to its sawmill and the railroad at this location.
Buena Vista Ocean Wayside - 54.86 acres, Curry County, located off the Oregon Coast Highway, some 2.5 miles south of Gold Beach. The wayside was purchased from various owners between 1930 and 1958. The forested location offers interesting views of the Hunter Creek Basin and the Pacific Ocean. Parking area facilities were developed by the Civilian Conservation Corps between 1933 and 1935 at a point on old Highway 101. Relocation of the Coast Highway by-passed the principal overlook and visitor attraction.
Bullards Beach State Park - 1,289.32 acres, Coos County, located off the Oregon Coast Highway, one mile north of Bandon. The park was acquired between 1962 and 1985 by purchase from various owners, including the U. S. Bureau of Land Management. The park is inclusive of sand dune, ocean beach and coast forest lowland fronting on the Coquille River estuary and the Pacific Ocean opposite the City of Bandon. Included in the park is the abandoned Coquille River Lighthouse built by the U. S. Coast Guard in 1896 and operated until 1939. The old lighthouse, maintained as an exhibit-in-place, is a major attraction of the park. The park is fully developed for camping and day use and offers fishing and hiking opportunities as well as scenic values. The locality was made accessible by the relocation of the Coast Highway between Coos Bay and Bandon beginning in 1955. The Bullard family were early settlers in the Bandon area. Robert Bullard established a store and post office at the mouth of the Coquille River and operated a ferry, which crossed the river near the present bridge on Highway 101.
Canyon Creek Forest Wayside - 80 acres, Douglas County, located on both sides of Interstate Highway 5, three miles south of Canyonville. The property was given to the state of Oregon in 1943 to protect the young Douglas fir forest along the highway. The tract straddles a steep-walled canyon. Limited access precludes development, but the area serves as a scenic corridor along Canyon Creek and the heavily traveled freeway.
Cape Arago State Park - 134 acres, Coos County, located 14 miles southwest of Coos Bay at the end of the Cape Arago Highway. The park was given to the state for park purposes in 1932 by L. J. and Lela Simpson, Coos County and the Cape Arago Park Commission. It consists of a spectacular, partly forested promontory nearly 200 feet above the Pacific Ocean with commanding views overlooking the rocky, reefed shoreline. At this point, the ocean breaks with great ferocity. The original developments for the park were carried out by the Civilian Conservation Corps in the 1930s. Few of these remain, but the area offers day-use facilities for the hiker and angler and excellent opportunities for the artist and photographer. The park adjoins Shore Acres State Park.
Originally, the cape was named Cape Gregory by the English navigator James Cook to honor the saint of the day of sighting, March 12, 1778. Since the United States Coast Survey of 1850, it has been called Cape Arago for Dominique F. J. Arago, French physicist and geographer. In the 1970s, a theory was advanced that the English privateer and explorer, Sir Francis Drake, anchored in the south cove of Cape Arago in June, 1579. Followers of this theory believe Drake mistook the dune area between the Coos and Siuslaw Rivers for low, snow-covered hills and sailed down the coast to California, having abandoned hope of discovering a northwest passage back to England. A monument to Drake was placed in the park in 1977.
Cape Blanco State Park - 1,880 acres, Curry County, located off the Oregon Coast Highway, nine miles north of Port Orford. The park land was purchased from the Joseph N. Hughes Estate in 1971. It is an attractive, wind-swept, partly pastured headland offering access to ocean beaches both north and south of Cape Blanco promontory. At the westernmost tip of the cape is a U. S. Coast Guard lighthouse reservation including an 1870 lighthouse. Cape Blanco is one of the farthest west points on the Pacific Coast of the contiguous 48 states and was named in 1603 by the Spanish explorer Martin D'Aguilar because of the chalky appearance of the headland. The headland is 245 feet above the sea and the light is visible for 22 miles at sea. Because of many past shipwrecks at this point, a powerful radio beacon for navigators was placed at Cape Blanco. The park offers a wide range of opportunities for fishing, hiking, horseback riding and ocean access and is developed for overnight camping and day use.
The park land historically was settled by Patrick Hughes, a native of Ireland, who came to the place in 1860 and developed an extensive dairy farm, which spread into bottom land along the Sixes River on the north side of the cape. The commodious house that Hughes built for his large family overlooking the Sixes estuary in 1898 is all that remains of the ranch complex. Open to the public in the summer months, the Hughes House has been restored by the Friends of Cape Blanco, who also provide house tours and information. This volunteer group was established as a park cooperative association in 1988.
Cape Kiwanda State Park - 185 acres, Tillamook County, located off the Oregon Coast Highway, one mile north of Pacific City. After protracted negotiations, the area was acquired by purchase and by a gift from B. A. McPhillips in 1973. The park includes a prominent headland, Cape Kiwanda, extending one quarter mile into the Pacific Ocean, and adjoining ocean headland along the road between Pacific City and Sand Lake. It offers spectacular ocean vistas from the headland, as well as fishing, boat launching and hiking potential. There is a wide sandy beach sheltered from prevailing summer winds. Here, also, are acres of dune sand that limit access and area stability. Cape Kiwanda State Park is developed for day use.
Cape Lookout State Park - 2,014.34 acres, Tillamook County, off the Oregon Coast Highway, 12 miles southwest of Tillamook. The original acquisition for Cape Lookout was a 1935 gift of 975 acres on the cape itself from the U. S. Lighthouse Service. Following that, diligent efforts headed by S. H. Boardman and C. H. Armstrong resulted in the purchase from various owners of the beach area north of the cape and the entire Netarts Sand Spit once owned by Louis W. Hill of St. Paul, Minnesota. The Hill property was partly a gift and partly an exchange involving lands on the spit for lands at Cascadia State Park. Lands were acquired up to 1988, including a tract of 40 acres on the south side of the cape.
Cape Lookout is one of Oregon's outstanding state parks combining a rugged forested ocean headland, extending some two miles out to sea, with spruce hemlock rain forest, beach and sand dunes reaching to the outlet of Netarts Bay. The high, rocky cape offers shelter and habitat to some 154 species of birds, sea lions and other marine life. Visitors may see this habitat from an excellent trail constructed to the tip of the cape. Originally, the park was left undeveloped as a natural preserve. Sam Boardman, the first State Parks superintendent, wanted to limit development to minimal picnic use (at Jackson Creek) with a trail to the cape. These improvements were made by the Parks Division in the 1930s.
Study of the park development potential was made in the early 1950s. At that time, the gravel access road ended at the north park boundary with a fine stand of old growth spruce-hemlock-shore pine forest extending to Jackson Creek. It was estimated that 275 cars (about 1,000 people) visited the park in 1950. Major development started in 1952 and continued into 1954 including access roads, parking, picnic facilities and overnight camping. In 1954, there were 68,799 day visitors and 8,169 camper nights of camping use. In those days, some 90 percent of the use was by people from Portland (80 percent) and the Willamette Valley (10 percent). Adjoining private lands were logged when the park access road was completed. In the early 1960s, Tillamook County built a road from the south end of Netarts Bay over Cape Lookout to Sand Lake to provide road access to the trailhead on the cape and to the park from the south. Historically, Cape Lookout was misnamed on the U. S. Coast survey charts of the 1850s. Apparently, the name, Cape Lookout, was applied originally to what is now Cape Meares by the British navigator and trader John Meares in 1788. The error was allowed to stand after its use had become established. During World War II, an Army Air Force B-17 bomber struck the cape while on coastal patrol, October 12, 1943. There was one survivor. A plaque in memory of the air crew is located on the cape trail.
Cape Meares State Park - 232.84 acres, Tillamook County, off the Oregon Coast Highway, 10 miles west of Tillamook. Obtained between 1938 and 1968 by lease and purchase from three federal government agencies, the park embraces 94.32 acres managed by the State Parks and Recreation Division and is surrounded by the 138.51-acre Cape Meares National Wildlife Refuge managed jointly with the U. S. Fish and Wildlife Service. It is a spectacular ocean headland backed by a spruce-hemlock forested upland several hundred feet above the Pacific Ocean. The cape itself was once an active lighthouse reservation of the U. S. Coast Guard. Visitors still can visit the inactive lighthouse interpretive display and enjoy the view of off-shore rocks, coastline and sea birds. A short distance from the parking area is an unusual Sitka spruce, with many trunk-like limbs, known as the Octopus Tree. According to tradition, it was used as a meeting place by Tillamook tribal leaders. The area is developed for day use with picnic facilities and visitor information. There is also a hiker-biker camp area.
The cape is named for the 18th Century British naval officer, trader and explorer, John Meares, who is supposed to have named this point Cape Lookout. However, in 1857, the U. S. Coast Survey applied the name Cape Meares to this point, as the name of the cape 10 miles south had become established as Cape Lookout. The lighthouse was built in 1890 and operated to 1963, when it was superseded by an automated beacon.
Cape Sebastian State Park - 1,104.31 acres, Curry County, on the Oregon Coast Highway, seven miles south of Gold Beach. The park was acquired between 1925 and 1963 by purchase from several owners. It is a long, narrow tract of land extending several miles along the Oregon coast with a large open promontory known as Cape Sebastian rising above the ocean at its midpoint. The landward portions of this hilly area are forested with Douglas fir, grand fir and shore pine, much of it old growth forest trees of great size.
The old Coast Highway wound along the hillside at the eastern side of the park with an access road to the cape for visitors to view the ocean and coast. In the 1960s, the highway was relocated through the heart of the area bisecting what was formerly rolling sheep pasture. The exposed cape promontory can be very windy and there is limited development including parking spots and cape trails. On a clear day, visitors can see north to Cape Blanco (43 miles) and south to Point St. George, California (50 miles). However, on foggy days, one can see only a few feet. It was early on such a day in about 1942, so the story goes, that the caretaker was checking the trail to the cape when he heard voices below him talking in a foreign tongue. A brief break in the fog revealed a Japanese submarine on the surface recharging its batteries. The caretaker beat a hasty unseen retreat and told his story to the Coast Guard.
Cape Sebastian was named in 1603 by the Spanish navigator Sebastian Vizcaino for the patron saint of the day of discovery. Beautiful spring flowers are to be seen at Cape Sebastian, including the colorful rhododendron. All in all, this is one of the most spectacular vista points on the Oregon coast. Trail and road improvements were started by the Civilian Conservation Corps in the 1930s which have been maintained to the present. There is now a two mile section of the coast hiking trail in the park.
Carl G. Washburne Memorial State Park - 1,089.08 acres. Lane County, on the Oregon Coast Highway, 14 miles north of Florence. Original tract acquired by gift of the Narcissa Washburne Estate in 1962. Adjustments with the U. S. Forest Service brought the park to its present size. The park was named in honor of Carl G. Washburne, husband of Narcissa, Eugene businessman and Oregon Highway commissioner in the period 1932 to 1935. Negotiations for the park were started by S. H. Boardman in 1936. It is a gently rolling tract covered with dense shore pine and shrub vegetation along China Creek, fronted by over a mile of accessible ocean beach. The park is a popular spot for ocean access now that it is developed for day use and overnight camping. At the south end, the land rises into the coastal bluff and drainage of Cape Creek in Devil's Elbow State Park.
Carpenterville-Brookings Forest Wayside - 22 acres, Curry County, located on the old route of the Oregon Coast Highway, 17 miles north of Brookings. Originally purchased from the Brookings Land and Townsite Company in 1943 as five separate old-growth Douglas fir, grand fir forest tracts (510 acres). Four of the tracts were sold between 1962 and 1964 to Brookings Plywood Corporation after this section of U.S. 101 was bypassed by the present route through S. H. Boardman State Park. The wayside has never been developed and was originally obtained to protect native forest along the Coast Highway where it passed through steep narrow canyons north of Brookings.
Cascadia State Park - 253.55 acres, Linn County, on U. S. Highway 20, 14 miles east of Sweet Home. Land was acquired from various owners between 1941 and 1980. The original purchase included the old Geisendorfer property with soda spring and hotel site. Later, some property was exchanged with Timber Service Company (Hill Estate) for land at Cape Lookout. The park lies along the steep-walled South Santiam River Canyon and is bisected by the river and the highway. The Cascadia Soda Spring is located on a small stream flowing into the river from the north. The park is forested with fine old Douglas fir except for an open meadow on the benched north river bank. The area was a well-known resort and watering place in the early 1900s. There was a small community in the vicinity, some of which still exists. It is named for the Cascade Mountain range in which it lies. The location was proposed in the 1960s as a site for an extensive flood control dam by the U. S. Corps of Engineers. The proposal was not carried out. Developments include day-use and overnight camping facilities. There are hiking trails and river access.
Casey State Park - 80.63 acres, Jackson County, on Oregon Highway 62, 29 miles northeast of Medford. The area was acquired between 1937 and 1975. The first tract was an 80-acre recreational and park purposes patent from the U. S. Government and the last a lease of 0.5 acres from Army Corps of Engineers at the time of the construction of Lost Creek Dam on the Rogue River above the park (1977). The park is a pleasant riverside tract bisected by the Rogue River and is forested with ponderosa pine, Douglas fir and associates. Original improvements were made by the Civilian Conservation Corps in the 1930s for day use picnicking and river access. J. A. Casey, for whom the park is named, was a squatter on the area when it was government land. He had a small restaurant and other buildings on the property. A small tract at the southwest corner of the park is leased to the Oregon Forestry Department for a fire guard station.
Catherine Creek State Park - 167.98 acres, Union County, located on Oregon Highway 203, eight miles southeast of Union. Acquired in 1947 by gift from Union County and the E. S. Collins Estate (160 acres). An additional 7.98 acres was transferred from the Oregon Highway Division as a park maintenance site in 1975. Located along Catherine Creek Canyon on sloping land forested by ponderosa pine, western larch and associates, the area was once known as Presbyterian Flat. Later, it was known as Collins Park when it was owned by E. S. Collins, a prominent Portland lumber man. In 1932, Mr. Collins deeded the tract to Union County for park purposes. Partly due to problems in maintenance funding, the county deeded the land to the state. The Parks Division developed the area for day use and added a primitive campground in the 1950s.
Champoeg State Park - 615.24 acres, Marion County, located off U. S. Highway 99W, seven miles east of Newberg. Lands were acquired between 1943 and 1987 from the State Board of Control and other owners. The park occupies along, flat, bottomland on the south bank of the Willamette River extending some three miles in length with woodlands of Oregon white oak, Douglas fir, western red cedar, maple, cottonwood and associates. This area is subject to periodic flooding. At the east end of the park, just outside the boundary, is La Butte rising several hundred feet above the river. There is also bluff land above the river bottom at the south end of the tract.
Champoeg was the site of a momentous meeting of French Prairie settlers on May 2, 1843 which led to the establishment of provisional government for the Oregon Country. Here also were a Hudson's Bay Company granary and townsite, destroyed by flood in 1861, steamboat landings and ferry crossings, all of historical interest. The state's original holding of one square rod of land donated by John Hoefer and Casper Zorn was established as Provisional Government Park in 1901 and was marked by a commemorative monument. Today, the area has day-use and overnight camping developments, the Pioneer Memorial Building (1918), the D.A.R. Pioneer Mothers Memorial Log Cabin (1929), and a substantial park visitor center interpreting Champoeg as the birthplace of Oregon government. Each year in July there is a colorful pageant re-enacting historic events at Champoeg.
The Champoeg State Park Cooperative Association was formed in 1980, and its cooperative agreement with the Oregon State Parks and Recreation Division was executed in 1986.
Chandler State Wayside - 85.09 acres, Lake County, just off U. S. Highway 395, 16 miles north of Lakeview, at the edge of the Great Basin. The original land for this area was given to the state in 1925 and 1928 by S. B. and Hattie Chandler. Additional lands were purchased in 1965 and 1967 when the highway was relocated. Lying along Crooked Creek, it is a pleasant tract of ponderosa pine. The wayside provides a shaded rest for the traveler. Though once developed for overnight camping, the wayside now offers day facilities.
Clackamas River Scenic Waterway - 7 acres, Clackamas County. The tract is an island in the Clackamas River located some 10 miles east of Milwaukie off Semple Road. It was acquired in 1979 as a gift from Dr. J. L. Poorlie and his son, Laird. An irregularly shaped tract with a forest cover of Douglas fir and associates. The land is generally below the river level at run-off and is not developed or road accessible. It is suitable mainly for occasional river traveler use.
Cline Falls State Park - 9.04 acres, Deschutes County, located four miles west of Redmond off Highway 126. Originally acquired by the Highway Commission in 1936 for a gravel pit, the area was turned over to the Parks Division in 1956 when the highway was relocated. Other tracts were obtained by exchange. It is an attractive site along the banks of the Deschutes River covered with juniper and associated vegetation. The park is developed for day use and fishing access. Cline Falls is a feature just north of the park and is named for a well-known dentist of Redmond, Dr. C. A. Cline, former owner of the property.
Clyde Holliday State Park - 20.09 acres, Grant County, located on U. S. Highway 26, seven miles west of John Day. Land acquired in 1971 by purchase from Mr. and Mrs. Clyde Holliday and by a transfer from the Department of Transportation in 1976. The park is a pleasant tree-lined tract along the John Day River that offers day use and camping facilities to travelers on Highway 26.
Collier Memorial State Park - 655.62 acres, Klamath County, located on The Dalles-California Highway (U. S. 97), 30 miles north of Klamath Falls. The first lands acquired for this park were given in 1945 by Alfred D. and Andrew Collier of Klamath Falls as a memorial to their parents, Charles Morse Collier and Janet McCormack Collier. Later, the Colliers gave or helped in the acquisition of other tracts up through 1962. A final tract of 306.59 acres was obtained from the U. S. Forest Service in 1981.
Collier Park is located on ponderosa pine forested land at the confluence of Spring Creek and the Williamson River. It offers day use facilities for the highway travelers as well as a full-service campground for overnight visitors. There are trails for walkers and fishing access to the streams. But the main attraction of the park is the logging museum featuring equipment used in the Klamath Basin and eastern Oregon over the past century. The Colliers, partly through their ownership of the Swan Lake Moulding Company in Klamath Falls, amassed a variety of logging and lumbering equipment of great interest. Here the visitor can see McGiffert loaders, early log trucks, steam engines, tractors and other mementos of a past era in logging and manufacture of wood products. For old-timers, the exhibits bring to life again the call of the jammer puncher and the hiss of the steam locomotive in the old growth pine forests.
In 1987, a Collier State Park Cooperative Association was established by agreement with the Oregon State Parks and Recreation Division.
Collins Creek State Wayside - 11 acres, Lincoln County, located on the Oregon Coast Highway (U. S. 101), at the south side of Seal Rock. Acquired by purchase from Henry W. Wagner, et al, in 1974. This wayside is an undeveloped forested area situated between the Coast Highway and the Pacific Ocean.
Conde B. McCullough Bridgehead State Wayside - 22.91 acres, Coos County, located off U. S. 101, on the old Oregon Coast Highway at the north end of the McCullough Memorial Bridge over Coos Bay. This spruce forested tract was purchased by the Highway Commission in 1934 and 1935 for roadside beautification and park purposes. It is undeveloped except for boat access to Coos Bay. Conde B. McCullough (1887-1946) was bridge engineer for the Oregon State Highway Department from 1919 to 1935 and was responsible for the design of the Coos Bay Bridge as well as four other magnificent concrete arch bridges built with federal assistance across rivers and estuaries on the Coast Highway in the 1930s. From 1937 onward, McCullough was assistant state Highway engineer. The Coos Bay Bridge was renamed in his honor following his death in 1946.
Coquille Myrtle Grove State Park - 7 acres, Coos County, located on the Powers Highway near Gaylord some 14 miles south of Myrtle Point. It was given to the state for park purposes by Save the Myrtlewoods, Inc. in 1950. Containing a stand of lovely old Oregon myrtle trees, the tract lies along the south fork of the Coquille River and is occasionally flooded by high water. It is developed for day use and fishing access.
Crooked Creek State Wayside - 552.99 acres, Malheur County, located on U. S. Highway 95, 6 miles northeast of Burns Junction. Acquired by purchase from private owners and transfer from the U.S. Government between 1967 and 1976. It is flat-to-rolling land with sagebrush flats along Crooked Creek. Sandstone bluffs rise above Crooked Creek, which drains into the Owyhee and Snake rivers. Past uses of the area have included a rock quarry, gravel production and a highway rest area. The area is on a historic route of travel through southeastern Oregon. It was used by early gold seekers en route to the Idaho mines and also by soldiers of the Oregon Cavalry and the U. S. Army.
Crown Point State Park - 306.67 acres, Multnomah County, located on the old Columbia River Highway Scenic Route, 16 miles east of Troutdale. The first tract was given to the state for park purposes by the City of Portland and Multnomah County in 1938. From 1945 to 1971, additional tracts were acquired, bringing the acreage to its present total. The principal feature of the park is the high basalt promontory capped by the Vista House overlooking the spectacular Columbia River Gorge. It is one of the most photographed, scenic spots in Oregon and is of both architectural and historic interest. The steep slopes surrounding the point are forested with Douglas fir shaped by the mighty winds of the gorge. It is developed for day use and affords protected views of the Columbia River and the distant Cascade Mountains. Crown Point is a National Natural Landmark.
A noteworthy architectural feature is the observation building encircled by the scenic old Columbia River Highway. The Vista House was built in 1916 to provide a vantage point and rest stop for motorists. It contains historical exhibits and plaques commemorating early explorations of the Oregon Country and is listed in the National Register of Historic Places.
In 1982, a Friends of Vista House organization was established, which later incorporated as a cooperative association with the Oregon State Parks and Recreation Division. The Friends provide visitor services and operate a gift store in the building.
D River State Wayside - 4 acres, Lincoln County, located on the south bank of the D River in Lincoln City, between the Oregon Coast Highway and the ocean. It was purchased in 1969 to provide public access to the ocean beach. The open land is developed for day use. Measuring less than one mile from Devils Lake to its outfall in the Pacific, the D River is thought to be one of the shortest rivers in the world.
Dabney State Park - 134.96 acres, Multnomah County on the old Columbia River Highway (scenic route), 19 miles east of Portland. The park was acquired between 1945 and 1968 through gift and purchase. The first tract was a gift of 70 acres for state park purposes from Multnomah County in 1945. Dabney Park is situated on the north bank of the Sandy River and extends across the old Columbia River Highway. Partly forested with Douglas fir, maple and associates, the lower bench lands along the river are often flooded during periods of heavy run-off. The area is developed for day use picnicking, walking and river access for boaters and fisherman.
Dabney Park was originally owned by Richard T. Dabney and his wife Martha. The Dabneys came to Oregon in 1887 and prospered from their investments in timber and real estate. Richard Dabney was an enthusiastic promoter of the Columbia River Highway and proposed a large hotel at Crown Point. Nothing came of the hotel, but the Dabneys maintained a summer house at the park site until his death in 1916.
Darlingtonia State Park - 18.38 acres, Lane County, off Oregon Coast Highway, five miles north of Florence. Purchased from various owners between 1946 and 1964. The tract is primarily a bog preserving the rare Darlingtonia carnivorous plants and making them available to public view. In the sandy lowland nearby are spruce, shore pine, rhododendron and associates. Developments include picnic facilities and an interpreted boardwalk and trail out into the bog. The Darlingtonia are sometimes called cobra plants, due to their hooded stalks which attract insects. The insects fall into a liquid at the base of the stalk, where they drown and are digested by the plant. The array of multi-colored plants is an attractive spectacle.
Del Rey Beach State Wayside - 18.7 acres, Clatsop County, located off the Oregon Coast Highway at the west side of the platted community of Del Rey Beach, two miles north of Gearhart. Acquired in 1970 by gift from Clatsop County, it is an ocean-front tract offering public access to the beach. It is developed for day use.
Deschutes River State Recreation Area - 515.09 acres, Sherman and Wasco Counties. Access off Interstate 84, 17 miles east of The Dalles. Acquired between 1963 and 1983 by purchase from various owners, transfer by the U. S. Army Corps of Engineers and gifts of land by the Oregon Wildlife Heritage Foundation. The Deschutes River is the boundary line between Wasco and Sherman Counties. The original tract for the area was 30 acres purchased in 1963 from the Columbia-Deschutes Power Company at the mouth of the Deschutes River adjoining the present I-84. This tract, with some of the later acquisitions, forms the developed portion of an attractive riverside recreation complex, which includes day-use and overnight camping facilities and river access. The view area is bounded by the high basalt cliffs of the Columbia and Deschutes rivers. Natural vegetation is limited here, but poplar and other shade species have been planted in the developed locations. The popular river access point on the west side of the Deschutes River is called Heritage Landing.
Adjoining the State Recreation Area is the Deschutes River Scenic Waterway. Lands abutting the scenic waterway were acquired between 1977 and 1983 by purchase from private owners and as gifts from the Oregon Wildlife Foundation. These total 134.37 acres.
The lower Deschutes River from Pelton Dam to the Columbia River, some 104 river miles, was designated an Oregon Scenic Waterway in 1970. The purpose is to protect and enhance scenic, recreational, fish and wildlife values along the river while allowing public use of the river for boating, fishing and riverside camping. The State Parks and Recreation Department manages the waterway in cooperation with Sherman and Wasco counties, U. S. Bureau of Land Management, Confederated Tribes of the Warm Springs Reservation, Oregon Fish and Wildlife Department, State Marine Board and Oregon State Police.
Detroit Lake State Park - 104 acres, Marion County, located on Oregon Highway 22, two miles west of Detroit on Detroit Reservoir, within Willamette National Forest. The area originally was obtained in 1955 under special use permit from the U. S. Forest Service with the cooperation of the U. S. Army Corps of Engineers. The permit was revised in 1963.
The park is in two units on the reservoir north shore. The smaller, western area called Mongold includes lake access and picnic facilities. To the east of Mongold is the Lake Shore camping area. This location had been a developed Forest Service campground prior to its lease to State Parks. The park is forested with second growth Douglas fir and was extensively logged in the period before the Second World War.
Detroit Reservoir and Dam were constructed in the early 1950s, the name coming from the community of Detroit, populated originally by people from Michigan.
Devil's Elbow State Park - 546.53 acres, Lane County, located on the Oregon Coast Highway, 13 miles north of Florence. Acquired between 1930 and 1987 by purchase from various land owners, plus gifts and exchanges with U. S. Government agencies.
The park adjoins the old Heceta Head lighthouse reservation and includes one of the most spectacular ocean coves on the Oregon Coast. Cape Creek flows into the Pacific at the park beach area, and the Coast Highway is carried over the creek on a high, reinforced concrete deck arch bridge with tunnel at its south end. This rare combination of lighthouse, rugged headlands, stream and ocean provides scenic grandeur known throughout the United States, since it is popular with artists and photographers. Forested with spruce, hemlock and shore pine, the park is developed with day use facilities providing beach access and a trail from the sandy beach up the slope to the lighthouse and keepers' residence built in 1892-1894. The latter has been restored by the U. S. Forest Service.
Heceta Head was named for the Spanish navigator, Bruno Heceta, who made the first recorded sighting of the mouth of the Columbia River in 1775.
Devil's Lake State Park - 109.34 acres, Lincoln County, located off the Oregon Coast Highway at Lincoln City in tracts north and south of the D River. The park was acquired between 1957 and 1961 by a gift from the city of Delake and purchase from private land owners. The tract on the north bank is partly protected with shore pine and is developed for overnight camping. The day use area is located on East Devil's Lake County Road south of the D River, about two miles east of the Coast Highway. Here there are picnic facilities and boat access to Devil's Lake.
The name Devil's Lake is thought to stem from an Indian legend concerning a serpent or spirit which inhabited the lake.
Devil's Punchbowl State Park - 8.17 acres, Lincoln County, located off the Oregon Coast Highway at the community of Otter Rock. Acquired between 1929 and 1971, the first land was given to the state for park purposes by F. W. and C. P. Leadbetter. Later tracts were purchased from other private owners. The original park includes a high forested bluff overlooking the ocean. On the seaward side of that bluff is a bowl-shaped cavern. With incoming tides, crashing waves thunderously fill the "Devil's Punchbowl," raising great plumes and creating spectacular effects. The shore at the north end of the park includes a basin revealing a rich, marine garden at low tide. South of the high bluff, and accessible by wooden stairs, is a long, wide, sand beach. In the early 1900s, a long wooden slide, "chute the chutes," provided access from the Otter Rock bluff to this beach.
In the 1930s, the Civilian Conservation Corps developed day use improvements for the park. These included picnic tables, restrooms, fountains, water supply, fire places, a foot trail and steps to the beach.
In the 1970s, the park was expanded into the Otter Rock community for parking and restroom facilities.
Driftwood Beach State Wayside - 36.70 acres, Lincoln County, located off the Oregon Coast Highway, three miles north of Waldport. Land was acquired first by purchase of 7.70 acres in 1968 and then in 1986, by a gift of 29 acres from L. Presley Gill. The tracts are separated by other private lands and only the original 7.70 acres are developed.
The wayside is primarily a public access to the Pacific Ocean with developed picnic facilities. Shore pines grow in the sandy soil surrounding the area. The area is popular with visitors and offers a wide, flat, sandy beach fronted by the Pacific.
Dyer State Wayside - 0.60 acres, Gilliam County, located on the John Day Highway (Oregon 19), 10 miles south of Condon. The area was a gift of J. W. Dyer to the state of Oregon in 1931. It lies in Patill Canyon, along a branch of Thirty Mile Creek, and occupies a narrow gorge of the canyon. Developed as a wayside picnic area, the wayside was closed for a time during relocation of the John Day Highway in the 1960s.
Ecola State Park - 1,303.64 acres, Clatsop County, off the Oregon Coast Highway, two miles north of Cannon Beach via park road. Lands were acquired between 1932 and 1978 by gift and purchase from private owners and the federal government. The original tract of 451 acres was acquired in 1932 by gift and purchase from the Ecola Point and Indian Beach Corporation with corporation members Rodney Glisan, Florence Minott, Caroline and Louise Flanders donating their portion. This land includes much of the magnificent ocean frontage in the park, extending from the northern edge of the city of Cannon Beach to Indian Beach. The park encompasses the spectacular Ecola Point and steep, forested shoreline to Tillamook Head, so often photographed to represent the Oregon coast.
Later, lands were acquired to the north of Tillamook Head extending toward Seaside and providing a route for the Tillamook Head trail. S. H. Boardman, H. B.Van Duzer and others worked hard to acquire this park land for Oregon in the 1930s and 1940s. Sam Boardman stressed the importance of acquiring a wider strip of land to protect the shoreline forest from wind damage and other threats. Some lands were purchased from Crown Zellerbach Corporation after being logged, and the World War II Army radar station tract on Tillamook Head was acquired under C. H. Armstrong's direction in 1952. The donation of the Elmer Feldenheimer Forest Reserve adjoining the northeast portion of the park will aid in park protection.
Ecola Park contains splendid examples of old growth Sitka spruce, western hemlock forest and habitat for elk and deer. In addition to its natural and scenic features, the park contains sites of historic interest. At Ecola Point, Indian Beach and Bald Point are Indian shell middens, and a prehistoric village site is located at Indian Beach. Here, in 1806, Captain William Clark of the Lewis and Clark Expedition viewed burial canoes of the Kilamox (Tillamook) and, looking south from Tillamook Head, he described the view as the "grandest and most pleasing prospect" he had ever surveyed.
Ecola Park was developed originally by the CCC under National Park Service direction between 1934 and 1941. Improvements included roads, picnic facilities, trails, the office, workshop and caretaker's house. In the early 1950s, a campground was developed at Ecola in the wave of enthusiasm which came with post-war development of the Oregon state parks. The camp was abandoned in 1954 as inappropriate to the setting.
Some of the shallow soils on steep slopes at Ecola Park are subject to rapid erosion following heavy rains. In 1961, a landslide at Ecola Point damaged 125 acres and caused the park to be closed for 10 months. Other slides have been a problem at Bald Point and between Ecola and Chapman Points. The latter affects the park entrance road. A slide here closed the park for four months in 1975.
Within Ecola Park is a National Recreation Trail dedicated in April, 1972. This is the Tillamook Head Trail extending six miles from Seaside to Cannon Beach. Tillamook Head is a high point on the trail between Seaside and Indian Beach. It is named for the Tillamook tribes in whose ancestral territory the headland is located. The trail follows the coastal exploration route used by Captain Clark in the winter of 1806.
Elijah Bristow State Park - 847.14 acres, Lane County, on the Willamette Highway (Oregon 58), 15 miles south east of Eugene. Acquired between 1971 and 1979 by gift for park purposes from Lane County, transfer from the State Lands Division and purchase from various private owners, the park lies along the Middle Fork of the Willamette River just below Dexter Dam. It is a forested river bottom area with mixed stands of Douglas fir, alder, oak, willow, cottonwood, and maple. Along the river are bird nesting areas and other wildlife habitat. This is one of five Willamette River state parks authorized for greenway acquisition by the 1973 State Legislature, and it has been developed for day use with picnic, trail and fishing access facilities.
Originally called Dexter State Park, the park name was changed in 1979 to honor Elijah Bristow (1788-1872), a pioneer of 1846 known as one of the first Euro-American settlers in Lane County. On his claim Bristow founded the community of Pleasant Hill, located some 10 miles west of the park on Highway 58.
Elk Creek Tunnel Forest Wayside - 200 acres, Douglas County, on Oregon Highway 38, three miles east of Elkton. The forest was first leased from the federal government in 1932 and later acquired by purchases from Douglas County following a federal government land exchange. This undeveloped wayside protects an interesting roadside forest of Douglas fir, western red cedar, maple and alder located on the steep slopes of Elk Creek at a horseshoe bend in the stream. The highway tunnels through the ridge at the bend. The tunnel was originally intended for a railroad to be built from Drain to Reedsport and thence to Coos Bay. However, the present Southern Pacific route from Eugene to Mapleton and south to the Coos Bay area prevailed.
Elliott R. Corbett Memorial State Park - 63.01 acres, Jefferson County, located off U. S. Highway 20, 14 miles west of Sisters, near the Santiam Pass summit of the Cascade Mountains. The park was a gift to the state of Oregon in 1953-1954 by Henry L. and Gretchen Corbett of Portland in memory of their son, Elliott R. Corbett II, who died in the Second World War. Terms of the gift specified that the area is to be maintained as a minimal development wilderness park. The area, forested with lodgepole and ponderosa pine, is located at the south end of Blue Lake. Access is by trail some two miles from Highway U. S. 20. There are limited picnic facilities.
Historically, the old Santiam wagon road over the Santiam Pass passed through the park. Travelers took water from a small creek. A nearby meadow provided camp space and horse pasture.
Ellmaker State Park - 77.25 acres, Lincoln County, located on U. S. Highway 20, 31 miles east of Newport. The holding was given to the state in 1961 for park purposes by Harlan D. Ellmaker, who previously lived on the property. The park is partly field and partly Douglas fir forest on the Tumtum River west of Burnt Woods. The Corvallis-Newport Highway bisects the property. Day-use facilities have been developed.
Mr. Ellmaker was born in Oregon in 1881, the grand nephew an early pioneer of Lane County. His working years were spent with the U. S. Forest Service and other federal government agencies.
Elmer Feldenheimer Forest Preserve - 605 acres, Clatsop County, adjoining the northeast section of Ecola State Park, extending from above Indian Beach over Tillamook Head toward Seaside. It was acquired from various private owners in 1978. The preserve includes old growth Sitka spruce and hemlock forest along the steep banks of Indian Creek as well as high ground above Tillamook Head and along the trail. Within the preserve are meadows providing elk habitat and forage. Though adjoining Ecola Park, it is a distinct and separate entity.
Elmer Feldenheimer who died in 1967, was associated with the family's jewelry business in Portland and was an orchardist in the Rogue River Valley.
Emigrant Springs State Park - 22.90 acres, Umatilla County, on I-84, 26 miles southeast of Pendleton. The park was acquired from private owners between 1925 and 1970. It is a forested spring area at the summit of the Blue Mountains on the route of the Oregon Trail and was used as a camping place for emigrant wagon trains in the last century. Extensive day-use developments were made here in the 1930s by the Civilian Conservation Corps. In the early 1950s, overnight camp facilities were added.
In January, 1812, trappers and traders of the Astor overland expedition under the leadership of Wilson Price Hunt crossed the Blue Mountains in this vicinity, thus establishing the route later used by Oregon Trail emigrants. Over the years, thousands of people crossed the mountains in this region en route to western Oregon. In the 1880s, the trail was replaced by the Oregon Railway and Navigation Company (now Union Pacific) railroad, which reaches the mountain summit of Meacham a few miles to the south of the park. During the construction of I-84 in the 1950s, one could still find artifacts on the Oregon Trail in the gulch south of the park.
Erratic Rock State Park - 4.4 acres, Yamhill County, off Oregon Highway 18, six miles east of Sheridan. Acquired by purchase from private owners in 1956. The principal feature of the park is a nearly 40-ton rock deposited during prehistoric flooding. It is located on an open hillside visible from the highway and is accessible by trail, with visitor information provided. This site is of interest because the rock is not related to the local geologic formations. Rather, it was conveyed on an iceberg during the Ice Age, some 20,000 years ago, probably coming down the Columbia River from what is now Canada. As the ice melted, the rock was deposited in its present location. There are a number of glacial erratics in the Willamette Valley. This is the largest.
Farewell Bend State Park - 72.30 acres, Baker County, off Interstate 84, four miles southeast of Huntington. Acquired by gifts from the Idaho Power Company in 1958, 1960, and 1984 and purchase from a private land owner. The park lies between the Snake River (Brownlee Reservoir) and Interstate Highway 84 near the Baker-Malheur county line. The land is open river bank, which supported a crop of alfalfa at the time it was acquired by the state. Farewell Bend Park is fully developed for camping and day use with boat access to the reservoir and historical information display.
Farewell Bend is of historical interest as the point at which immigrants on the Oregon Trail bade farewell to the Snake River and its perils. Here camped Wilson Price Hunt in 1811, Captain Bonneville, N. J. Wyeth, John C. Fremont and hosts of Oregon pioneers. R. P. Olds operated a ferry across the river from Idaho to Oregon from 1862 until 1882. The west landing was located one-half mile south of the park.
Floras Lake State Park - 1,371.45 acres, Curry County, located west of the Oregon Coast Highway, some four miles south of Langlois. It was acquired between 1943 and 1980 by purchase from various owners. The park is a forested, rolling, ocean-front tract with steep rocky bluff above the ocean culminating at Blacklock Point. The northeast corner borders the west side of Floras Lake and the area contains unusual vegetation needing protection due to sensitive soil and moisture conditions.
Included in the park is the so-called Blacklock Point Preserve Forest supporting dwarfed trees (Sitka spruce and shore pine) on acid leached soils. An understory to the spruce and shore pine is composed of huckleberry, rhododendron, Labrador tea, salal and California myrtle. Floras Lake State Park also contains some Port Orford cedar, spruce and hemlock forest as well as other plant communities of interest. Due to the sensitive nature of the park environment, only limited development is proposed.
On the ocean shore of the park are steep beaches, sea terraces and high sandstone bluffs eroded by ocean and wind. At Blacklock Point, the Blacklock Sandstone Company quarried sandstone starting in the 1850s. The rock was shipped by sea to San Francisco but after some years the business proved not economical. Sam Boardman started negotiating for the park in 1936, calling the area Newburgh Park after the secretary of the Blacklock Sandstone Company. After seven years, the company property, with tide lands, was acquired for the back taxes in 1943. This was during World War II, and the United States Navy needed an airstrip in Curry County at this location. A strip of land in the southeastern portion of the park was leased to Curry County for the Navy airport. The Navy built the airport and the access road from the Coast Highway. In 1962, the name was changed to Floras Lake State Park, and in 1971 land for the airport (102 acres) was transferred to the State Board of Aeronautics for the Curry County Airport.
Fogarty Creek State Park - 141.88 acres, Lincoln County, located on both sides of the Oregon Coast Highway, two miles north of Depoe Bay. Acquired from various private owners by purchase and gift between 1954 and 1978. The park is a forest lowland tract located at the mouth of Fogarty Creek where it enters the Pacific Ocean. Heavily logged in the past, the area now supports a fine regrowth of Sitka spruce, hemlock, shore pine, alder and associated shrubs. Relocation of the Coast Highway in the late 1950s and use of the old highway as access greatly facilitated park use. Well developed for day use with initial help of MacLaren School boys, the park is most popular with summer beach visitors.
The park and stream is named for John Fogarty, a past judge of Lincoln County. A native of Ireland, John Fogarty came to Oregon about 1875 and settled in the Yaquina Bay area in 1884. He served as city councilman, county commissioner and judge. He died in Toledo in 1922.
Fort Rock State Monument - 190 acres, Lake County, located off Oregon Highway 31, two miles northwest of the community of Fort Rock. The monument was acquired in 1962 by gift from Reuben A. and Norma Long and by lease and deed from Lake County and the U. S. Bureau of Land Management. Fort Rock is an ancient volcanic crater, which from a distance gives the visitor the impression of a large fortification. On the highest side, the geological feature rises as much as 325 feet above the surrounding sagebrush plain. The park is developed for day use. In this part of the vast dry lakes region, evidence has been found of human habitation dating back some 10,000 years.
Fort Stevens State Park - 3,762.86 acres, off the Oregon Coast Highway, 10 miles west of Astoria. The park was acquired between 1955 and 1974. 792.20 acres were given to the state by Clatsop County between 1955 and 1960. Subsequently, lands were acquired by gift and purchase from the county, the U. S. Army Corps of Engineers and a private owner. Included also is an area of 1,214.48 acres encompassing the lower fort and sand spit lands leased from the United States Department of the Army. Fort Stevens Park is primarily a lowlands area fronting the Pacific Ocean and the mouth of the Columbia River and extends into the city limits of Hammond and Warrenton. The area includes shallow lakes, sand flats and stabilized sand dune ridges making it attractive as a recreation area. There is spruce and pine forest on the park as well as some rare plant communities. A fading attraction is the remains of the British sailing ship Peter Iredale, which went aground on the ocean beach in 1906. Developments include day use picnicking, swimming, hiking and interpretive facilities as well as extensive overnight camping facilities. It is the third largest state park in Oregon.
Originally built in 1864 to protect the mouth of the Columbia River from possible entry by Confederate gun boats during the Civil War, Fort Stevens was named for Union Army Major General Isaac I. Stevens, first territorial governor of Washington, who died in 1862 in the indecisive Civil War engagement known as the Battle of Chantilly. The post later served as a coastal defense fort and was fired on by a Japanese submarine in 1942.
In 1979, a Fort Stevens cooperation association was established, which later made an agreement with the Oregon State Parks and Recreation Division.
Fort Yamhill Historical Wayside - 59.04 acres, Polk County, located on Highway 22, one-half mile north of Valley Junction. Slightly more than 57 acres were acquired by purchase in March, 1988. This was added to 2.04 acres adjacent to the public right of way acquired prior to 1938 in commemoration of "Fort Sheridan," so-called for Lt. General Philip Sheridan, who served at Fort Yamhill with the United States Army before the outbreak of the Civil War. The wayside includes the old fort site on a ridge above the Yamhill River. A master plan is to be made. Fort Yamhill was the most northerly of military posts established by the Army in 1856 to regulate the eastern border of the Coast Indian Reservation, which stretched from the crest of the Coast Range to the Pacific Ocean. The post was abandoned in 1866. No fort structures remain on the property, but the site offers potential for on-site interpretation of the historic period.
Frenchglen Hotel State Wayside - 2.37 acres, Harney County, located on Oregon Highway 205, at Frenchglen some 63 miles south of Burns. The property was acquired in 1973 from the U. S. Government General Services Administration. The purpose of the wayside is the preservation of an historic hotel and outbuildings characteristic of early development in the region. The hotel was built about 1917 to serve visitors to the community. Presently, the area is developed for day-use picnicking and the hotel provides room and board with reservations. It is near the Malheur National Wildlife Refuge and Steens Mountain.
Gateway State Wayside - 272 acres, Josephine County, located on the Redwood Highway adjoining the California State line some 43 miles southwest of Grants Pass. It was acquired from various private land owners between 1967 and 1969. Though the land is undeveloped and previously logged, it includes an attractive forested area along the banks of Elk Creek containing a transition forest of Douglas fir, ponderosa pine and incense cedar. The land to the west of the highway rises rapidly some 500 feet to a ridge. East of the highway about 400 feet is a grass meadow.
Gearhart Ocean Wayside - 286.06 acres, Clatsop County, an ocean beach area fronting the Pacific Ocean at the town of Gearhart. Purchased from the Gearhart Park Company in 1939. It is tideland extending two miles north from the mouth of the Necanicum River. There are no public developments.
Geisel Monument State Wayside - 4.05 acres, Curry County, located on the Oregon Coast Highway, seven miles north of Gold Beach. Acquired in 1930 and 1931 by gifts from the Macleay Estate Company and F. B. and Martha Postel. The wayside is a level forested area containing the graves of John Geisel and his sons who were killed in 1856 during the Rogue River Indian Wars. Geisel's widow, who died years later, in 1899, is also buried at this location. An area separate from the grave lot is developed for picnicking and day use.
George W. Joseph State Park - 150.12 acres, Multnomah County, adjoining Guy W. Talbot State Park, off Columbia River Highway Scenic Route, 40 miles east of Portland. Eighty acres of the park were given to the state by George W. Joseph and his mother in 1934 and 1942. The remaining 70.12 acres were purchased from Multnomah County in 1959. Though only developed with trails, the park protects a natural, scenic forest upland and dell adding to the Columbia Gorge preserve. It includes upper Latourelle Falls.
Gleneden Beach State Wayside - 17.54 acres, Lincoln County, located off the Oregon Coast Highway, seven miles south of Lincoln City. The area was purchased from various private land owners in 1966 and 1967. It provides public access to the Pacific Ocean with parking and day-use picnic facilities. A gently sloping area, it is forested with spruce and shore pine.
Golden and Silver Falls State Park - 157.27 acres, Coos County, located 24 miles northeast of Coos Bay on Glenn Creek. The original land for the park was given to the state for park purposes by the Waterford Lumber Company in 1936 after Coos County and the state made the road a secondary highway. For this, the Oregon Highway Commission agreed to spend $10,000 to make the road suitable for logging trucks. This action followed extensive negotiations during which the value of the park in relation to overall road costs was questioned by Highway engineers. In 1938, Coos County deeded 17.27 acres to the state, including Silver Falls, which had been given to the county for park purposes by Weyerhauser Timber Company in 1935. An additional 28 acres was given by Coos County in 1955.
Golden and Silver Falls State Park includes an unusually attractive forested canyon with two superb waterfalls each dropping over 100 feet. In the 1950s, a tortuous road crossed the base of Silver Falls and followed a narrow ledge to leave the park above Golden Falls. The bridge is gone; the road is no longer passable, but the park has trails and is developed for picnic use.
Golden Falls was named for Dr. C. B. Golden, first grand chancellor of the Knights of Pythias of Oregon and an early visitor to the falls.
Goose Lake State Recreation Area - 64.16 acres, Lake County, located off U. S. Highway 395, 15 miles south of Lakeview at New Pine Creek on the Oregon-California State line. Purchased in 1966, the area is a wooded and grassland tract with access to the recreational assets of Goose Lake. Developed for overnight camping and day use, the tract is bisected on the lakeside quarter by the line of the Great Western Railway.
Governor Patterson Memorial State Park - 10.23 acres, Lincoln County, located on the Oregon Coast Highway at the south edge of Waldport. Acquired by purchase from Mary E. Patterson, widow of Governor Isaac L. Patterson, and other owners in 1931. The park is a nice wooded shoreline tract offering day-use facilities and beach access. It appropriately commemorates Governor Isaac L. Patterson (1859-1929), an advocate of park development and scenic area preservation. In 1929, Patterson appointed the state's first Park Commission. He died the same year while in office.
Guy W. Talbot State Park - 378.34 acres, Multnomah County, located on the Columbia River Scenic Highway, 27 miles east of Portland. The original land for the park was 125 acres given to the state by Guy Webster and Geraldine Talbot in 1929. Guy W. Talbot (1873-1961) was president of Pacific Power and Light Company and lived on the tract at the time of the gift. The Talbot residence and outbuildings are still used for park operations. Multnomah County gave additional land in 1935, and sold further acreage to the state in 1952. Lands also were given by the Eva Larson Estate. The balance of the property was purchased from various owners up to 1984.
Talbot Park is a most interesting forested Columbia Gorge property including Latourelle Falls and development for picnicking, hiking and other day use. Some of the park's early development was carried out by the Civilian Conservation Corps between 1933 and 1935.
Harris Beach State Park - 172.81 acres, Curry County, located off the Oregon Coast Highway, two miles north of Brookings. The land was purchased from various owners between 1926 and 1985. The principal features of the park are its spectacular shoreline with off-shore rocks and a prominent hill (Harris Butte) rising above the coast bluff. There are excellent coastline viewpoints in the park as well as a fine sandy beach. To the east of the entrance road is the campground located in a wooded tract that once was primarily a field of azaleas. Day-use parking and facilities are located near the beach. Early developments were made by the CCC in 1934 and 1935.
Harris Beach is named for George Scott Harris, a native of Scotland, who obtained the property about 1871. Harris served in the British Army in India, later going to Africa and New Zealand. He arrived in San Francisco in 1860, worked in railway construction and mining and migrated to Curry County in 1871. Mr. Harris raised sheep and cattle on the park land, which passed to his nephew, James, in 1925.
Hat Rock State Park - 756.24 acres, Umatilla County, located off U. S. Highway 730, nine miles east of Umatilla on the south shore of the lake formed by McNary Dam on the Columbia River. The original park land was acquired by purchase from private owners and leased from the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers at the time of McNary Dam construction from 1951 to 1953. Later, lands were acquired and leased up to 1968.
Originally a rolling sagebrush area sloping to the south bank of the Columbia River, the tract contains Hat Rock and Boat Rock. These are exposed remnants of a 12-million-year-old basalt flow. The park has been appropriately developed for day use and water access to McNary Reservoir.
Historically, Hat Rock is of interest as the first distinctive Oregon landmark passed by the Lewis and Clark Expedition on its outbound journey down the Columbia. Captain Clark noted the hat-shaped rock in his journal entry for October 19, 1805.
Haystack Hill State Wayside - 9.10 acres, Clatsop County, located at the south end of Cannon Beach, lying between the present Oregon Coast Highway and old route. It was given to the state of Oregon for park purposes by John B. Yeon in 1968. It is an undeveloped hilly tract with a cover of salal, salmonberry, alder and some Sitka spruce. Though logged in the past, the area offers views of Cannon Beach, Haystack Rock and environs.
H. B. Van Duzer Forest Corridor Wayside - 1,487.01 acres, Lincoln, Polk, and Tillamook counties. Located on Oregon Highway 18, 15 miles east of Lincoln City. Appraisal of this area and negotiation for its purchase were started by Sam Boardman early in his tenure as the original State Parks superintendent. It was purchased from private owners primarily between 1935 and 1942, with later adjustments extending to 1984.
Extending over 12 miles of highway between Grande Ronde and Rose Lodge, the corridor is in two units displaying the range of coastal Douglas fir forest from 35-year-old second growth to virgin forest containing trees over 200 years of age. In this forest strip preserved in public ownership are some of the finest remaining examples of old Douglas fir forest with western hemlock, western red cedar and Sitka spruce to be found in the Coast Range. Because the area is a narrow strip of state land, the adjoining land having been logged, its protection from recurring strong winter winds is limited. Since the 1940s, trees blown down in storms have required periodic salvage operations, including the removal of trees hazardous to highway travel. There is a day-use rest area at the site of an historic toll station. Otherwise, public access to the forest is limited to fire access roads and a few turnouts.
Historically, the locality is interesting as an early wagon road route from the Willamette Valley to the coast. John and Julia Boyer operated the Salmon River toll road on part of the corridor route in the period 1908-1920. In the 1950s, some of the Boyer family yet resided at the community of Boyer, where the Salmon River Highway crosses the Little Nestucca River.
The corridor is named for Henry B. Van Duzer (1874-1951), a member of the Oregon State Highway Commission and vice president of the Inman Poulsen Logging Company of Portland. Mr. Van Duzer was a strong supporter of the Oregon State Parks and promoted the protection of roadside stands of native forest. He was chairman of the Oregon State Highway Commission from 1927 to 1931.
Hendricks Bridge State Wayside - 17.34 acres, Lane County, located on Oregon Highway 126, 13 miles east of Eugene on the bank of the McKenzie River. Two portions of the wayside were given to the state by Lane County in 1932 and 1956, and the final tract was acquired from the Oregon Fish Commission in 1956. The property is a pleasant wooded day-use area providing access to the McKenzie River, a favorite of white-water rafters. The park is named for the adjoining bridge. A covered bridge built here in 1908 replaced the pioneer Hendricks Ferry across the McKenzie River. It is thought that the locale is named for T. G. Hendricks (1838-1919), prominent Eugene businessman and state senator of the 1880s. A grandson of Elijah Bristow, Hendricks himself was an overland trail pioneer of 1848.
Hilgard Junction State Park - 232.50 acres, Union County, located off Interstate 84, eight miles west of La Grande on the Grande Ronde River. The first land was acquired by lease from the U. S. Forest Service in 1951, with a later lease in 1969. Two tracts were given to the state; one acre was donated by the Mt. Emily Lumber Company in 1952 and 79 acres by its successor, the Valsetz Lumber Company, in 1966. Other tracts were purchased from private owners.
The park lies on Grande Ronde River bottom land, which supports cottonwoods, willow and some ponderosa pine. It is developed for camping and day use and is popular among rafters on the river. The park takes its name from the nearby junction on the Union Pacific Railroad line. The logging railroad of the Mt. Emily Lumber Company once passed through the park area enroute to La Grande via connection with the Union Pacific. Hilgard Junction was named for E. W. Hilgard, former dean of the College of Agriculture at the University of California.
Hoffman Memorial State Wayside - 4 acres, Coos County, located on Oregon Highway 42, 12 miles south of Coquille. The tract was given to the state in 1948 by the heirs of Henrietta Hoffman. It is a bottom land tract on the South Fork of the Coquille River wooded with myrtle, maple, cottonwood and willow. There is river access and picnic development at the wayside.
Holman State Wayside - 10.17 acres, Polk County, located on Oregon Highway 22, four miles west of Salem. The original tract of 8.62 acres was purchased from Thomas and Cora Holman in 1922. An additional 1.55 acres were purchased in 1967. The wayside is a Douglas fir forested tract lying mostly on the hillside between Highway 22 and the old Doak's Ferry Road. It is developed for picnic use.
Historically, the old territorial road of the 1850s passed through the wayside enroute to Dallas and points south. A spring on the tract was traditionally used as a watering place by travelers and their livestock. Because of the Holmans' long ownership of the property and their willingness to let the public use the spring, the Highway Commission approved the commemorative name for the wayside. The early towns of Eola and Cincinnati once existed near the wayside, and a Salem-Dallas branch of the Southern Pacific Railroad once passed on the river side of Highway 22.
Howard J. Morton Memorial State Park - 24.4 acres, Lane County, located on Oregon Highway 126, 40 miles east of Eugene. The park was given to the state by Winifred K. Morton in three parcels between 1955 and 1957 in memory of her forester husband. The park is an attractive forested area lying on both sides of Highway 126 and sloping to the McKenzie River. As stipulated in the deed, it is maintained in its natural state except for minimal picnic facilities and fishing access.
Hug Point State Park - 43.30 acres, Clatsop County, located on the Oregon Coast Highway, five miles south of Cannon Beach. The original 1.3 acres of this tract were given to the state by Clatsop County in 1957. In 1968, land was purchased from Elizabeth Johnson which, added to a later exchange with Crown Zellerbach in 1978, netted 41 additional acres. The park is an ocean-front area backed by hilly land and the Hug Point promontory. Vegetation includes salal and other shrubs along with Sitka spruce. The area is developed for picnicking and beach access.
Hug Point was so named because it was necessary to hug the rocks to get around the point on the ocean front without getting wet.
Humbug Mountain State Park - 1,842.16 acres, Curry County, located along the Oregon Coast Highway, six miles south of Port Orford. The original land purchase from Carl White in 1926 was 30.6 acres near the mouth of Brush Creek. Sixteen other tracts were purchased between 1930 and 1975 to bring the park to its present size and include the magnificent Humbug Mountain. This park, with the mountain, the Brush Creek drainage and the ocean frontage is one of the most spectacular parks along the Pacific Coast. The mountain rises 1,750 feet above the ocean and supports a fine forest of old growth Douglas fir, spruce and grand fir as well as tan bark, myrtle, alder, and cedar. There is an excellent trail that makes a gentle three-mile climb to the summit. Humbug Mountain is listed as an area of geological, botanical and wildlife interest for both scientific and educational purposes. The approach to the park on the old Coast Highway was particularly spectacular as it wound its way up the hill north of Brush Creek and then descended on a steep, twisting grade to the mouth of the canyon. This was changed by the present highway realignment, which bores its way straight up the narrow defile of Brush Creek. Original development of Humbug Mountain commenced in 1934 using CCC forces. In 1952, overnight camping was developed to offer visitors opportunity for an extended stay.
Once known as Sugarloaf Mountain, the name was changed to "Tichenor's Humbug" after an exploring party sent forth from Port Orford by townsite developer Captain William Tichenor in 1851 mistakenly went north instead of south, toward the mountain. Eventually, the name was shortened to Humbug Mountain. In 1958, a major forest fire burned much of the north side of the park. The balance of mountain timber was saved by a change of wind as onlookers watched, helpless but thankful.
Hutchinson State Wayside - 6 acres, Douglas County, located on the Elkton-Sutherlin Highway, some 10 miles south of Elkton. The tract, which includes land between the highway and the Umpqua River, was given to the state by J. Ross and Ida May Hutchinson in 1946. James Ross Hutchinson was a Douglas County Commissioner. There are some myrtle trees and other vegetation on the tract. While it was once developed for picnic use, facilities were removed due to winter flooding of the Umpqua River.
Illinois River State Park - 368 acres, Josephine County, located on U.S. Highway 199, one mile south of Cave Junction. The original tracts were purchased in 1961 with an 80-acre lease obtained from the Bureau of Land Management in 1962. Generous gifts from Margaret McGee of 190 acres in 1976 and 1977 brought the park to its present size. The east fork and west fork of the Illinois River join in the park. This interesting river frontage is backed by high forested ridge country which, though logged in the past, supports fine old Douglas fir, ponderosa pine, incense cedar and madrone. The park is developed for river access and picnicking.
Illinois River was so named because the Althouse brothers of Illinois found gold in the river after migrating to Oregon in 1849.
Jackson F. Kimball State Park - 19.44 acres, Klamath County, located in Oregon Highway 232, three miles north of Fort Klamath. The property was given by the Oregon Board of Forestry for park purposes between 1955 and 1963. The board asked that the area be named for Jackson F. Kimball, an early day Klamath Basin lumberman and advocate of good forestry practices. It is a fine pine-forested tract including the spring headwaters of the Wood River. Facilities include a primitive overnight camp and picnic development.
Jennie B. Harris State Wayside - 4 acres, Lane County, located on Oregon Highway 126, one mile east of McKenzie Bridge. Given to the state for park purposes in 1944 by Judge Lawrence T. Harris of Eugene as a memorial to his wife. Located between the highway and the McKenzie River, the forested wayside has several hundred feet of river frontage offering fishing and picnicking opportunities. It is developed for day use.
Jessie M. Honeyman Memorial State Park - 522.39 acres, Lane County, located on the Oregon Coast Highway, three miles south of Florence. Acquired by purchase from private owners between 1930 and 1936, the area was named to honor Jessie M. Honeyman of Portland, (1852-1948) a leading advocate of roadside beautification, Oregon Parks and scenic preservation. She was a tireless supporter and guide to Sam Boardman. The park protects all of coastal Lake Cleawox and a portion of Woahink Lake. Cleawox is fronted on the ocean side by advancing sand dunes (now included in the adjoining Oregon Dunes National Recreation Area). In the forested shoreline borders of the lakes are outstanding rhododendrons of great age as well as salal and huckleberry. The Coast Highway bisects the park between the two lakes.
At this park, Civilian Conservation Corps forces under National Park Service direction designed and constructed improvements superbly adapted to their surroundings in the years 1935 to 1940. Among the features included in a special district listed in the National Register of Historic Places are the stone and log Cleawox Lake bathhouse (1938), now a concession building; the park caretaker's house and garage (1936-37), now the park office; and several rustic kitchen shelters (1937). Other day-use facilities and landscaped roadways with stone curbings were constructed by CCC, and the sloped cuts on the Coast Highway were planted with shrubs. A proposed development of the Depression era was an overnight campground for Woahink Lake. Parks Superintendent Boardman did not approve it. He believed Oregon state parks should be for day use only and that providing overnight facilities, other than group camps, was the role of private enterprise.
Overnight camping facilities were added on the south side of Cleawox Lake beginning in 1952. In the late 1950s, Honeyman Park was listed in Life Magazine as one of the outstanding state parks in the United States. It provides opportunities for water recreation and access to the dunes and distant ocean beach.
Joaquin Miller Forest Wayside - 111.75 acres, Lane County, located on the Oregon Coast Highway adjoining the community of Glenada. The original 108.16 acres were given to the state in 1935 by Lane County with additional purchase from the county in 1936 and a gift in 1959. Later, the county and the U. S. Forest Service were granted easements over a portion of the tract for jetty road purposes. The wayside was considered ideal for roadside forest protection because it contained dense forest extending westerly from U. S. 101 to the dunes now in the Oregon Dunes National Recreation Area. It is interspersed with draws descending toward the Siuslaw River. The Civilian Conservation Corps built a road into the tract in the 1930s but this apparently was the only development. In the winter of 1943, a portion of the Sitka spruce and western hemlock forest was wind thrown in a storm. This timber was approved for salvage by the Highway Commission and recovered under contract. Similar blowdowns occurred in 1951 and again in 1962. Each time, salvage logging removed the downed trees, and some replanting was done in the harvest areas. In the affected areas, salal, salmonberry and other shrubs have become established and have altered the original forest composition and diminished public appeal.
Since the 1970s, a portion of the wayside has been used under agreement for a work study camp of the Oregon Children Services Division. Residents of the camp do work in Honeyman State Park and environs.
The tract is named for Cincinnatus Hiner (Joaquin) Miller (1839-1913), who was an owner of the property in the early 1900s. In 1852, Miller came with his family to the vicinity of Eugene, where he established a wide reputation as poet, writer, editor, and well-traveled adventurer. He also was a lawyer and Grant County judge. He spent his later years in Oregon, California, the Klondike and China. After 1871, he was celebrated as "Poet of the Sierras."
John B. Yeon State Park - 284.48 acres, Multnomah County, located 40 miles east of Portland on the old Columbia River Highway, or scenic route. The park was purchased from various owners between 1935 and 1956. It lies on both sides of the highway and is generally steep, rugged forest land bisected by McCord Creek and its superb 289-foot waterfall. The falls were named Elowah in 1915 by a committee of the Mazamas and other organizations. In 1935, the Civilian Conservation Corps constructed a bridge across McCord Creek and 1.5 miles of foot trail. The trail remains in use, although access from the highway is limited. The park was named for John B. Yeon (1865-1928) pioneer lumberman and realtor of Portland. He was a prime supporter of the Columbia River Highway. As Multnomah County Roadmaster from 1913 to 1917, Yeon supervised initial construction of the highway, complimenting his salary and backing the project financially. He served on the Oregon Highway Commission in the years 1920-1923.
John Day River Scenic Waterway - 228.28 acres, Sherman and Wheeler counties, located along the John Day River near Scott Canyon in Sherman County and in the vicinity of Clarno in Wheeler County. Acquired by purchase and litigation from private owners between 1972 and 1981. The waterwayside includes river canyon land suitable for public enjoyment of the John Day River. There are no developed facilities.
Joseph P. Stewart State Park - 910.07 acres, Jackson County, located on Oregon Highway 62, 35 miles north of Medford in the Rogue River Canyon. This park lies on land leased from the Corps of Engineers in 1978-1979 following construction of Lost Creek Dam and Lake on the Rogue River. The park lies on the south bank on Lost Creek Lake and is lightly forested with Douglas fir and ponderosa pine. The area is fully developed with overnight camping, day-use facilities and lake access.
J. S. Burres State Park - 7.12 acres, Gilliam County, located on Oregon Highway 206, 25 miles north of Condon. The original land for the park (4.72 acres) was given to the state by J. S. Burres by deed dated March 10, 1964. The remaining property was purchased. The tract lies on the south bank of the John Day River and is developed for picnicking and river access.
Kam Wah Chung Historical Wayside - 0.42 acres, Grant County, located in John Day off U. S. Highway 26 adjacent to John Day City Park. Deeded to the state by the city of John Day in 1975, this wayside preserves the Kam Wah Chung and Company building and includes a small adjoining parking area. The stone building was built about 1866 at a time when there was a large Chinese population in the John Day country engaged in gold mining. It served as a trading post, general store, pharmacy, social club, bank and assay office over many years and survived to the present day with all of its furnishings and artifacts in place. Housing its intact cultural collection, the building is restored and open to the public. It is maintained by the city as an historical museum under terms of a lease agreement.
Klamath Falls - Lakeview Forest Wayside - 80 acres, Klamath County, located on Oregon Highway 140, 23 miles east of Klamath Falls. The area originally was leased from the United States Government in 1932 and finally was acquired by land exchange in 1958. It is a forest tract along both sides of the highway on the slope of Quartz Mountain and protects a roadside forest of old-growth ponderosa pine and juniper. Wildhorse Creek passes through the tract but is an intermittent stream. The wayside is not developed for public use.
Koberg Beach State Wayside - 87.55 acres, Hood River and Wasco counties, encompassing three widely separated parcels located on the north side of Interstate 84, between Hood River and Mosier. The parcels were acquired by purchase from private owners in 1951 in connection with construction of the freeway at water grade along the Columbia River. The westernmost tract of 22.57 acres contains a prominent basalt outcrop which provided material for highway construction and, in addition, a swimming beach operated for many years by the Koberg family as a recreational site complete with dance pavilion. The historic use of the tract was acknowledged in the naming of the wayside.
The other two parcels of 54.58 acres and 10.40 acres, respectively, presently serve the purpose of protecting highway right-of-way. Picnicking and rest area facilities, first developed on the Koberg tract in 1962, are accessible only to west-bound travelers on I-84.
Lake Owyhee State Park - 730 acres, Malheur County, located at the northerly end of Owyhee Reservoir, off Oregon Highway 201,33 miles southwest of Nyssa. The area was obtained by lease agreement from the Bureau of Reclamation in 1958. As a condition of the agreement, plans for park development were to be approved by both the Bureau and the National Park Service. Owyhee Lake was formed by the construction of an irrigation dam on the Owyhee River in 1932. The Owyhee upland of southeastern Oregon is an arid high plateau in which the Owyhee River, a major tributary of the Snake River, cuts a deep canyon. Geologically, the park lies in the Succor Creek Formation extending into Lake Owyhee. It is developed for tent and trailer camping as well as day use and is a popular boating and fishing area.
The Owyhee River derives its name from Hawaiian laborers who were fatally attacked by Snake Indians while in the service of a Hudson's Bay Company fur trapping expedition to the area in 1819. "Owyhee" was a variation of Hawaii used in the era of the fur trade.
Lang State Park - 197.67 acres, Hood River County, located along Interstate 84, between Cascade Locks and Hood River in six separate tracts. The park lands were acquired by purchase or condemnation from private owners between 1932 and 1969. Elizabeth Lang was the original owner for whom the park was named.
There are no developments on the park tracts. They were acquired for forest enhancement of the highway corridor and include Douglas fir forest. In the 1930s, the Civilian Conservation Corps did fire hazard reduction work on the Lang tract. In 1946, State Parks Superintendent Sam Boardman recommended the area remain a timbered wayside. The Dalles-Sandy Military Wagon Road, first used in 1863, crossed the south side of the Lang tract.
LaPine State Recreation Area - 2,333.12 acres, Deschutes County, located off U. S. Highway 97, 27 miles south of Bend. Acquired between 1966 and 1981 by purchase from the Bureau of land Management and private land owners as well as by land exchange with the U. S. Forest Service.
LaPine State Recreation Area lies along the Deschutes River. It is a gently-rolling to flat pine-forested tract traversed by the fast-flowing Deschutes River and contains Oregon's largest remaining ponderosa pine tree and many other large old growth trees. The area is situated on a mule deer migration corridor between summer and winter range. A favorite fishing and boating location, it is developed for overnight camping and day use.
Lewis and Clark State Park - 56.05 acres, Multnomah County, located off Interstate 84, 16 miles east of Portland. The original land for this park was given to the state for park purposes by Multnomah County in 1936. Later tracts were acquired by purchase from the State Land Board and private owners up to 1951. In 1961 S. H. and Ellen B. Martin gave an additional 0.4 acre to bring the park to its present size.
The park consists of partly wooded river bank along the Sandy River at the east edge of Troutdale. It protects a popular smelt fishing site. Bisected by the Union Pacific Railroad, it lies between the present Interstate and the old Columbia River Highway. It is developed for day use and river access.
The park is named for the explorers Lewis and Clark, who on November 3, 1805, examined the Sandy River and noted the treacherous sand bar at the channel entrance. Their name, "Quicksand River," was shortened in common usage to Sandy River.
Lindsey Creek State Park - 129.21 acres, Hood River County, located on the south side of Interstate Highway 84, some 14 miles west of Hood River. The park was acquired between 1943 and 1951 by purchases from private owners as well as a gift of 4.71 acres from Ruby Wells Mead. Though now cut off by the freeway, the park includes a portion of the steep forested canyon of Lindsey Creek, which flows into the Columbia River at this location. Up to the 1960s, there was a roadside picnic area at Lindsey Creek on the old Columbia River Highway. The creek reportedly was named for John Lindsey, who took up a land claim nearby in the 1850s and later was a Columbia River steamboat fireman.
Loeb State Park - 320.23 acres, Curry County, located off the Oregon Coast Highway, 10 miles northeast of Brookings along the Chetco River. The first park land was acquired by gift from the State Board of Forestry in 1958. It was a tract of 160 acres that had been purchased in 1948 by the Board of Forestry and Save the Myrtle Woods, Inc. from Alfred A. Loeb of Portland to protect the outstanding native myrtle trees and other vegetation along the Chetco River. The tract name commemorating Loeb was part of the original purchase agreement. The gift was, in turn, accepted by the Highway Commission after Curry County agreed to improve and oil the access road from U. S. Highway 101.
In 1963, the park was expanded by the purchase of an adjoining 40-acre tract. An additional separated hillside tract of 120.23 acres had been obtained by patent from the U. S. Bureau of Land Management in 1962. The latter tract contains fine specimens of coast redwood at the northern extremity of its range. There has been interest in joining the two tracts by purchase of intervening land. The park includes river frontage along the Chetco, and it is developed for camping and day use. Along with the outstanding myrtle and redwood trees, the park's attractions include swimming and fishing.
Lost Creek State Park - 33.94 acres, Lincoln County, located along the Oregon Coast Highway, seven miles south of Newport. The park is relatively flat, long and narrow shoreland on both sides of the highway, including a portion of the abandoned Pacific Spruce Corporation Railway right-of-way. In 1933, two small tracts of land were given to the state to protect the shore pine and other vegetation and secure the beach for public use. These were given by Ben E. Smith (0.12 acre) and Lincoln County (0.69 acre). Later, Lincoln County gave additional land, and the balance was purchased from private owners up to 1967. The park is developed for picnicking and beach access.
During the First World War, there was need of spruce timber used in aircraft production. As a result, even after the war ended, there was heavy exploitation of Sitka spruce along the Oregon and Washington coasts. Railroads were built into the forests to obtain the spruce logs. The old railroad through this park extended from forest tracts south of Waldport to Yaquina Bay and was in operation from 1918 to 1920.
Mackin Gulch Forest Wayside - 430 acres, Josephine County, located on both sides of Interstate Highway 5, about two miles south of Wolf Creek. The property in two tracts was given to the state by Josephine County in 1941. The purpose of the gift was the protection of the transition Douglas fir, pine forest along the old Pacific Highway (now replaced by I-5). Access to the tract has been difficult for the public and the area has never been developed. The wayside is on generally steep ground near the summit between Wolf Creek and Grave Creek. The old stage road between Jacksonville and Roseburg passed through the property.
Manhattan Beach State Wayside - 41 acres, Tillamook County, located north of Rockaway on the Oregon Coast Highway (U. S. 101). Following litigation, the property was obtained from Publisher's Paper Company in 1970. The wayside is a level beach-side tract lying between the Southern Pacific Railroad (west of U. S. Highway 101) and the Pacific Ocean. It is developed for beach access with day-use facilities.
Maria C. Jackson State Park - 42 acres, Coos County, located off the county road near the community of Sitkum, some 22 miles east of Myrtle Point. The road follows the course of the historic Coos Bay Wagon Road between Roseburg and Coos Bay. The park was given to the state in 1950 by Maria C. Jackson through Save the Myrtle Woods, Inc. It consists of a myrtle grove on the banks of Brummet Creek which has been developed for picnic use.
Maria Clopton Jackson (1862-1956) was the wife of C. S. ("Sam") Jackson, founder of the Portland Oregon Journal, and a long-time supporter of Save the Myrtle Woods, Inc.
Save the Myrtle Woods, Inc. was organized in the 1940s in Portland to acquire a few desirable groves of outstanding Oregon myrtle trees and dedicate them to public benefit. Many fine old specimen trees were located along the southern Oregon coast, but they were also prized for furniture and fancy wood carvings. Save the Myrtle Woods, working in conjunction with the Oregon Federation of Garden Clubs and other groups, obtained funds to purchase myrtle wood tracts in the public interest. Many of these were given to the state of Oregon for park purposes. A principal leader in this effort and a former president of the group was Thornton T. Munger of Portland (1883-1975), conservationist and long-time director of the U. S. Forest Service Pacific Northwest Forest and Range Experiment Station.
Mary S. Young State Park - 133.16 acres, Clackamas County, on Oregon Highway 43, nine miles south of Portland, in the city of West Linn. The property was given to the state for park purposes by Thomas E. Young and his wife, Mary S. Young, in various increments between 1963 and 1970. It was named in honor of Mrs. Young in a dedication ceremony on August 7, 1973.
The park is situated between the Willamette River and the West Linn-Lake Oswego Highway and is bordered on the north and south by residential subdivisions. It is mostly forested in Douglas fir, maple, oak and cottonwood. At the south side of the park there is a large cleared area that once was cultivated for grass. It is now developed for public use, as is the benched river bank. Mary S. Young State Park provides day use opportunities for picnicking, walking, bike riding, and fishing along the Willamette River.
Maud Williamson State Park - 23.90 acres, Yamhill County, on Oregon Highway 221, 12 miles north of Salem. The original 20 acres was given for park purposes by Maud Williamson in memory of her mother. This transaction was completed in 1937. An additional 3.9 acres was purchased in 1961.
The park occupies a flat area at the edge of cultivated Willamette Valley farm land on the west side of the Salem-Dayton Highway. It is covered by a fine stand of second growth Douglas fir. On the tract is an historic farmhouse once occupied by the original donor and her brother. Now developed exclusively for day use, the area offered overnight camping in the past.
Historically, the area is of interest as part of the Adam Matheny Donation Land Claim. Matheny came to Oregon in the migration of 1843. A relative, Daniel Matheny, operated the first wagon and team ferry on the Willamette River (1844) at the nearby town of Wheatland. A ferry still operates at this point.
Mayer State Park - 676.67 acres, Wasco County, located off Interstate Highway 84, 10 miles west of The Dalles. The original property for the park, 260 acres, was obtained by a gift from Mark A. Mayer of Mosier in 1924. This property included the Columbia River overlook and the Rowena Loops on the old Columbia River Highway (U. S. 30). From 1956 onward, after the highway was relocated and improved to freeway standards, the purchase of additional park land along the Columbia River and highway right-of-way was negotiated. Various parcels were transferred from the Highway Division to State Parks when they were not needed for highway purposes. The Union Pacific Railroad also passes through the park.
Partly forested with ponderosa pine, oak, Douglas fir and maple, much of the land is rocky river bluff with limited soil. Near the river, there are day-use facilities for swimming and boat access. Perhaps the outstanding attraction of the park is the view obtained by taking the old highway to the Mayer overlook. The vista is a magnificent panorama of the Columbia River Valley eastward toward The Dalles.
In 1946, State Parks Superintendent Sam Boardman recommended keeping the park a wilderness area and asked that the maintenance department remove the sand bunker below the overlook. Later, during the freeway development, highway contractors were allowed to quarry rock below the overlook for road construction.
Adjoining the overlook section of Mayer Park is the 219-acre Tom McCall Preserve for plants and wildlife. It is named for McCall (1913-1977), who concluded his second term as Governor of Oregon in 1975. The preserve was created between 1978 and 1986 and is owned by The Nature Conservancy.
McLoughlin State Park - 216.30 acres, Multnomah County, located south of Interstate Highway 84, some 34 miles east of Portland, at Dodson. The city of Portland gave the original 82.3-acre park tract to the state in 1957. An additional 80 acres was purchased in 1961, and in 1972 the B. P. and Helen John Foundation gave 54 acres to the state for park purposes. McLoughlin Park lies in the scenic Columbia Gorge and consists of two separate parcels forested with Douglas fir and alder. The tract is undeveloped except for a trail.
When the city of Portland acquired its parcel in 1922, the donors asked that the area be named in honor of Dr. John McLoughlin (1784-1857), chief factor of the Hudson's Bay Company Columbia District who presided over the waning years of the fur trade. Many of the earliest Oregon Trail immigrants traveled the perilous last leg of their journey to the Willamette Valley by rafting down the Columbia River from The Dalles through treacherous rapids. McLoughlin received them at Fort Vancouver with compassion. He was a founder of Oregon City on the Willamette River, where he lived in retirement from 1846 to the end of his life.
McVay Rock State Wayside - 18.90 acres, Curry County, located off the Oregon Coast Highway, about two and a half miles south of Brookings along the Pacific Ocean shore. It was obtained by purchase from private owners between 1970 and 1974 for public access to the beach. The wayside is generally open and flat with steep bluff and rocky outcrops at the shoreline. McVay Creek forms the south boundary of the tract. Vegetation along the creek screens the wayside from adjoining residential development on the north and south.
McVay Rock, located near the wayside, was named for William R. McVay, who settled nearby in 1861. The park is not developed for public use.
Memaloose State Park - 336.79 acres, Wasco County, located along Interstate Highway 84, 11 miles west of The Dalles. The original park tract was 2.64 acres given to the state in 1925 by Roy D. and Bernice M. Chatfield. Situated on what was originally the old Columbia River Highway, the park was called Memaloose Island Overlook. With the reconstruction of the highway to freeway standards, additional private lands were purchased in 1952 and 1953. Land not needed for highway purposes was transferred to the Parks and Recreation Division.
The park is generally steep, rocky, river-bank land extending over two miles along the south shore of the Columbia River. It is bisected in an east-west direction by Interstate 84, the Union Pacific Railroad and a small segment of the scenic highway. The park contains scattered ponderosa pine, oak and Douglas fir trees. It rises to 532 feet at the old overlook on the south boundary. Presently, the park is developed with day-use and camping facilities for westbound freeway travelers entering through the rest area.
The park is named for a nearby island in the Columbia River which was a traditional Indian burial ground. In Chinook jargon, the word "memaloose" is associated with burial ritual. The most prominent feature on the island is a monument to Victor Trevitt, pioneer settler of The Dalles and friend of the Indians who died in 1883 and was buried on Memaloose Island in accordance with his wishes.
Milo McIver State Park - 951.97 acres, Clackamas County, located off Oregon Highway 211, five miles west of Estacada. The park land was purchased from private owners between 1966 and 1975. In 1987, an additional tract was given to the state by Grant Schiewe.
The park is gently sloping land lying along the south and west banks of the Clackamas River. It is partly forested in Douglas fir, maple and other species and provides river access. Developments include day-use and camping facilities as well as fishing and trail opportunities. In 1968, the park was dedicated in honor of Milo K. McIver (1897-1962), member of the Oregon Highway Commission from 1950 to 1962 and strong supporter of State Parks activities. The Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife operates a fish hatchery in the park under agreement with the State Parks agency.
Minam State Recreation Area - 602.32 acres, Wallowa County, located off Oregon Highway 82, 15 miles northeast of Elgin. The land was acquired between 1964 and 1984 by purchase from private owners and by patent from the U. S. Government (Bureau of Land Management). Its purpose is to provide for access and use of the Wallowa River below its junction with the Minam.
The recreation area includes the steep, pine-forested banks of the Wallowa River with some flats along the riverbank suitable for development. The Union Pacific Railroad borders the east bank of the river through the area. In total, the area provides access to over two miles of river. It is developed for primitive camping and day use.
Molalla River State Park - 566.78 acres, Clackamas County, located on the Canby Ferry Road, some two miles northwest of Canby. The park lands were acquired by purchase from landowners between 1971 and 1978. Molalla River State Park is gently rolling to level river bottom land including the confluence of the Pudding and Molalla rivers and extending to their meeting with the Willamette River. It is situated at the easterly edge of the historic French Prairie area where independent agriculture started in Oregon about 1830. Before widespread settlement by Euro-Americans, the area was ancestral territory of the Molalla tribes.
Here on the tree-lined river banks, river access and year-round day use facilities have been developed as part of the Willamette River Greenway system authorized by the Oregon Legislature in 1973. A nesting area for the great blue heron is protected in the park.
Muriel O. Ponsler Memorial State Wayside - 2 acres, Lane County, located 16 miles north of Florence on the Oregon Coast Highway. The area was given to the state in 1938 by J. C. Ponsler in memory of his wife, Muriel. This ocean front tract is situated at the mouth of China Creek. It is covered by low, wind-swept Sitka spruce, shore pine and salal. Initial developments for day use were made by the Civilian Conservation Corps under auspices of the federal and state governments during the Depression.
Neahkahnie-Manzanita State Wayside - 1.25 acres, Tillamook County, located off the Oregon Coast Highway, near Manzanita. A gift of The Nature Conservancy in 1970, the tract was accepted to provide pedestrian access to the Pacific Ocean beach where no public access had been available previously. The sandy tract is covered with wave-washed boulders and slopes gently toward the beach. It lies at the edge of a developed residential section and is not improved.
Nehalem Bay State Park - 889.66 acres, Tillamook County, located off the Oregon Coast Highway, three miles south of Manzanita Junction. The park includes essentially all of the sand spit at the mouth of Nehalem Bay south of the subdivision of Necarney City and lies between the bay and the Pacific Ocean. The original tract of park land was 497.63 acres given to the state by Tillamook County in 1938. Over the years, Tillamook County gave other lands, while the balance was acquired between 1939 and 1963 by purchase and litigation.
The park preserves an interesting open, wind-swept ocean shore sand spit some three miles long. It is well developed for public use, including opportunities for camping, picnicking, fishing, bicycling, horse-back riding and walking.
From time to time, chunks of beeswax for candle making and other artifacts of a once-flourishing trade conducted by navigators between the Northwest Coast of America and the Orient have surfaced at Nehalem Bay. In 1955, a large piece of beeswax approximately 15 x 16 inches in size and inscribed with numbers was uncovered in the course of park construction work. Such discoveries have led to speculation over a common source in a Spanish galleon shipwrecked while enroute from the Philippines to Mexico in the 18th Century.
Neptune State Park - 302.50 acres, Lane County, located on the Oregon Coast Highway, three miles south of Yachats. The first park tract (331.22 acres) was acquired in 1938. In 1965, 35.50 acres were traded to the U. S. Forest Service, and in 1974, 6.50 acres were purchased from a private owner. A. D. and Barbara Eggleston gave 0.28 acres in 1981, thus completing the present park holding. Neptune Park is a rocky ocean shore area with a steep headland rising on its east side. The Coast Highway bisects the park for over two miles south of Cape Perpetua toward Bob Creek. Partly forested with spruce, alder and thick salal, the area has a nice open, developed day-use area near Cummins Creek. Owing to the splendor of winter wave action on this rocky shore, the park was poetically named for Neptune, Roman god of the sea.
Neskowin Beach State Wayside - 7.95 acres, Tillamook County, located on the Oregon Coast Highway at Neskowin. Acquired through litigation and purchase from private owners between 1968 and 1971. The wayside provides access to a popular ocean beach marked by Proposal Rock, which stands at the mouth of Neskowin Creek. From the parking area, a short corridor trail along Hawk Creek leads to the estuary and beachfront. Neskowin Creek was known to early settlers as Slab Creek. The original plat of the adjacent resort community was filed by James Walton, Jr. and Lizette Fawk Walton in 1910.
North Santiam State Park - 119.51 acres, Marion County, located off Oregon Highway 22, four miles west of Mill City. The first tract of park land, 61.08 acres, was given to the state of Oregon by Marion County in 1937. Later, private purchases added to the area in 1952 and 1958. Ellen B. DeWitt gave 1.54 acres in 1965 and the State Highway Division transferred 43.63 acres to Parks in 1968. The park is a most pleasant forested area on the north bank of North Santiam River. It is developed for day-use picnicking and walking with fishing access.
The Santiam River was named for the Santiam Indians, a Kalapooian tribal group that held the surrounding territory at the time of Euro-American contact.
Oceanside Beach State Wayside - 7.32 acres, Tillamook County, located off the Oregon Coast Highway, 11 miles west of Tillamook at Oceanside. The first tract for this wayside was a 1968 gift from Orin and Lorraine Rosenburg of 1.9 acres, which included Maxwell Point with a tunnel for beach access. Tillamook County gave an acre of land in 1970, and Remy and Barbara Flusher gave 2.2 acres in 1980. Other tracts were purchased in 1970 and 1971. The wayside includes an interesting headland, Maxwell Point, and bluff lands overlooking the Pacific Ocean. The wayside is developed for beach access.
Ochoco Lake State Park - 9.80 acres, Crook County, located on Oregon Highway 26, seven miles east of Prineville. The park area was purchased in 1954 and is a point of land extending into Ochoco Lake, a Bureau of Reclamation reservoir created to provide irrigation water for local ranchers. The land supports some juniper and ponderosa pine in which separate overnight camp and picnic facilities have been developed. The lake and related activities are the principal attractions of this park.
The name Ochoco is frequently applied to topographic features in central Oregon. The creek which feeds the reservoir was named by the Paiute Indians, whose word for the willows which grow along the stream banks is "ochoco."
Ochoco State Wayside - 251.19 acres, Crook County, located along Oregon Highway 126, one mile west of downtown Prineville. The property was acquired by gifts from Columbus J. and Fanny Johnson (32 acres) in 1930 and Crook County (219.19 acres) in 1939. The tract is a rugged butte, from which there are magnificent views of the Crooked River and Ochoco valleys, the Ochoco Mountains and city of Prineville. The wayside is a Registered Natural Heritage Site that sustains some rare and potentially endangered plants.
Ona Beach State Park - 237.17 acres, Lincoln County, located on the Oregon Coast Highway, eight miles south of Newport. The park was acquired between 1938 and 1968 by purchase from private owners and includes one gift of 10 acres from Lincoln County made in 1963. Situated on a meander in Beaver Creek as it enters the Pacific Ocean, the park is a fine forested ocean flat now developed for extensive daytime shore use.
Ona is known as a Chinook jargon word for razor clam. In the days before the completion of the Coast Highway, the beach between Newport and Seal Rock was used as an access road. Motorists would travel at low tide, following the mail carrier who knew the best way to cross Beaver Creek.
Ontario State Park - 35.35 acres, Malheur County, located on Interstate Highway 84, one mile north of Ontario on the Snake River, and including Johnson Island in the river. The park has a mile of river frontage. It was acquired by purchase from private owners between 1965 and 1969. The park is generally level river bank land developed for daytime use. The Snake River is the principal attraction.
Oswald West State Park - 2,474.43 acres, Clatsop and Tillamook counties, located along the Oregon Coast Highway, 10 miles south of Cannon Beach. Obtained between 1931 and 1976 by purchase from private owners and in the form of gifts from E. S. and Mary Collins, Tillamook County, S. G. Reed and Edward Tallman, as well as exchanges with the State Board of Forestry and the Crown Zellerbach Corporation.
Backed by rugged coastal mountains and extending for over four miles along the Pacific Ocean shore, Oswald West Park is one of the most spectacular parks in Oregon and, indeed, in the United States. At the southern end is Neahkahnie Mountain, which rises over 1,700 feet above the sea. The highway completed in 1941 skirts its seaside flank and affords superb vistas southward to Nehalem Bay and westward to the earth curvature. In the mid-section of the park, steep, densely-forested canyons of Necarney and Short Sand creeks join to enter the ocean at Short Sand Beach in Smugglers Cove. At this point, there is a picnic area and a walk-in overnight development offering primitive camping to those who walk one-half mile from the highway parking area. The forest here includes superb old growth Sitka spruce, western hemlock, Douglas fir and western red cedar in association with salal and other ground plants.
Trails from Short Sand Beach extend toward Cape Falcon through the primeval forest, including trees growing atop windblown monarchs of the past. The park extends northward along the coast in steep forest ridges to Arch Cape. There are minor intervals of private development south of Arch Cape.
Once named Short Sand Beach, the park was renamed Oswald West State Park in 1958 at a ceremony honoring former Oregon Governor Oswald West (1873-1960), by whose foresight nearly 400 miles of Oregon shoreline were set aside for public use. Short Sand Beach is located in Smugglers Cove, but there is no evidence of the cove having been used by smugglers.
The park is another monument to the acquisition efforts of Park Superintendent Samuel H. Boardman, who labored hard and long to acquire the principal lands between 1931 and his retirement in 1950. Boardman envisioned a park including the mountains to the east of Short Sand Creek and extending to the Nehalem River Valley. He proposed a scenic ridge road connecting Neahkahnie, Angora, Onion and Sugarloaf Mountains.
The mountain range has not yet been acquired. However, Mr. Boardman's protection foresight is represented by the 354 acres in a rugged portion of the park purchased for $18,000 in 1942. The Oregon Highway Commission agreed to acquisition on condition that enough timber could be sold off the property to cover the cost. This was early in Second World War when timber was needed for the war effort. The timber was offered for sale with enough restrictions that only minimum bids were tendered. These were rejected by the commission and the trees were saved until some succumbed to windstorms in later years.
Early trail improvements at Oswald West Park were made by the Civilian Conservation Corps between 1939 and 1941. Neahkahnie is thought to be derived from Clatsop or Tillamook languages as the name for the lofty mountain overlooking the ocean and the spirit associated with it.
Otter Crest State Wayside - 1.48 acres, Lincoln County, situated on the scenic route off the Oregon Coast Highway at Cape Foulweather, 10 miles north of Newport. In 1928, Wilbur S. and Florence Badley gave the land on Cape Foulweather to the state of Oregon with provisions that the state not allow concessions on the property, the sale of merchandise or the erection of buildings on the land. The state was to maintain the viewpoint for the public. Adjoining the tract, the Badleys built a small souvenir shop called "The Lookout," from which many thousands of souvenirs were dispensed over the years.
The state has maintained a large parking lot at this viewpoint, which provides superb views down the coast to Yaquina Head and out to sea. The parking area is always crowded in the summer, as is "The Lookout."
Otter Point State Wayside - 85.50 acres, Curry County, located off the Oregon Coast Highway, four miles north of Gold Beach at Otter Point on the Pacific Ocean shoreline. The holding was obtained between 1960 and 1976 through litigation and purchase to protect the ocean frontage and provide public beach access and viewpoints.
The wayside includes a spectacular rocky point overlooking the ocean, which is backed by a heather and azalea prairie interspersed with shore pine and Sitka spruce. The area is in two separate sections and is developed with parking and trails.
Paradise Point State Wayside - 12 acres, Curry County, located off the Oregon Coast Highway, at the north limits of the town of Port Orford. The property was purchased after litigation in 1969. It is primarily a beach access and viewpoint with limited parking.
Peter Skene Ogden State Scenic Wayside - 97.86 acres, located in Deschutes and Jefferson counties on Oregon Highway 97, nine miles northeast of Redmond. Acquired between 1925 and 1930. The Oregon Trunk Railway gave the original tracts to the state of Oregon. Lands were later acquired from the U. S. Government and the State Land Board.
The wayside protects a portion of the spectacular gorge of the Crooked River where it is crossed by both the Oregon Trunk Railway (now Burlington Northern) and The Dalles-California Highway (97). The vertical basaltic walled canyon of the Crooked River is 304 feet deep at the wayside and 400 feet wide. The park land above the canyon is generally level central Oregon volcanic ash desert with a cover of juniper and sage. The wayside is developed for day use and has a masonry retaining wall at the edge of the gorge.
At the suggestion of Robert W. Sawyer of Bend, a strong supporter of Oregon State Parks and former Highway commissioner, the wayside was named for Peter Skene Ogden (1794-1854) explorer, fur trapper, Hudson's Bay Company chief trader and factor. He was one of the first to describe and name geographic features in eastern Oregon and northern California. Ogden was the principal explorer of the Snake River country and was among the first to visit the great Salt Lake basin. The city of Ogden, Utah, is named for him.
Pilot Butte State Park - 100.74 acres, Deschutes County, located on Oregon Highway 20 within the city of Bend. The principal acreage (100 acres) was given to the state of Oregon in 1927 for park purposes in memory of Terrence Hardington Foley by his Bend business associates. Additional tracts were purchased in 1941.
The park is a lone cinder cone reaching an elevation of 4,136 feet above sea level. Its slopes support scattered ponderosa pine, juniper and sage brush. A road rises to the top of the butte from which there are spectacular views of the Cascade Mountains from the Three Sisters to Mt. Hood and Mt. St. Helens.
A prominent topographic feature, Pilot Butte was a landmark that guided wagon train immigrants who sought a safe crossing of the Deschutes River and a campground at what was then called Farewell Bend.
Pistol River State Park - 440.05 acres, Curry County, located along the Oregon Coast Highway at Pistol River, 11 miles south of Gold Beach. Mostly acquired between 1962 and 1969 by purchase and litigation from various owners. One tract of 26 acres was given to the state of Oregon for park purposes in 1964 by Maytor H. and Vari McKinley of Los Angeles, California. In 1969 a small tract (3.2 acres) was transferred from Highway to Parks use.
The park consists of three parcels. The largest portion lies between the Coast Highway and the Pacific Ocean and extends from Pistol River south to Crook Point. It consists largely of rolling sand dunes next to a wide sand beach. On the dunes are scattered trees, beach grass and shrubs. The other two tracts are located between the highway and the ocean north of Pistol River. They essentially protect beach land in the public interest and there are rare plants in the vicinity.
According to tradition, James Mace lost a pistol in the area in 1853 and the river has been called Pistol River since that time.
Port Orford Cedar Forest Wayside - 32.60 acres, Curry County, located seven miles north of Port Orford on the Oregon Coast Highway at the junction of the Curry County airport road. The present wayside includes land given to the state of Oregon by the Moore Mill and Lumber Company of Bandon in 1931. In 1944 Curry County was given an easement (1.40 acres) for the road to the airport.
In 1931, the park included a fine stand of Port Orford cedar, which is indigenous to Coos and Curry counties, and Douglas fir as well. In 1936, much of the forest was burned in the Bandon Fire. The area is not developed for public use.
Port Orford Heads State Wayside - 96.54 acres, Curry County, located off the Oregon Coast Highway in Port Orford. Acquired between 1972 and 1985 by purchase and exchange from private owners and deeds of federal surplus property to the state of Oregon for park purposes.
The wayside encompasses the ocean bluff known as the Head plus the bayfront of Nellies Cove at Port Orford and includes a former U. S. Coast Guard Lifeboat Station. The rocky shoreline offers superb ocean vistas. The property includes marine gardens and prehistoric archaeological features protected under law. The shoreline is mostly open with limited vegetation.
The name Port Orford is derived from Captain George Vancouver of the British Royal Navy, who in 1792 named what is now Cape Blanco for his friend, the Earl of Orford. Eventually, the name was transferred to the port some seven miles to the south.
Portland Women's Forum State Park - 7.26 acres, Multnomah County, on U. S. Highway 30 (Columbia River Scenic Route), 10 miles east of Troutdale. The original tract for the park was a gift of 3.71 acres in 1962 by the Portland Women's Forum to the state of Oregon. This had been the old Chanticleer Inn property with a magnificent view of the Columbia River Gorge. The additional tract (3.55 acres) was purchased after litigation in 1970.
The park is on the bluff overlooking the Columbia River. The steep basalt cliffs are forested in Douglas fir. The Portland Women's Forum was made up of representatives of the principal women's organizations of Portland. For many years under the leadership of Mrs. Gertrude Jensen, the Forum was very active in the preservation of natural beauty along the Columbia River Gorge. The group was responsible for appointment of the first Columbia Gorge Commission in the 1950s.
Prineville Reservoir State Park - 365 acres, Crook County, located off Oregon Highway 26, on Prineville Reservoir, 17 miles south of Prineville. Obtained in 1961 on a 50-year lease from the U.S. Bureau of Reclamation through Crook County Court. The park is rolling sagebrush land on the edge of the reservoir impoundment of the Crooked River. It has been planted with ponderosa pine, juniper and other vegetation and developed for camping and day use. Fishing, boating and hiking are opportunities for visitors to the area.
Prospect State Wayside - 11.21 acres, Jackson County, off Oregon Highway 62 at Prospect. Purchased from private owners between 1931 and 1965 to preserve roadside trees including sugar and ponderosa pine, Douglas fir, white fir and madrone.
The wayside is rolling land on a bench above the Rogue River lying between the present Crater Lake Highway and the old alignment. It is at the edge of the community of Prospect and is developed for day use. Nearby are waterfalls on Mill and Bar creeks that plunge into the spectacular canyon of the Rogue River. Initial development, including a stone and native wood park entrance sign, was carried out by the Civilian Conservation Corps during the Depression.
Originally called Deskins, the nearby community was optimistically renamed Prospect in 1889.
Red Bridge State Park - 37.20 acres, Union County, located on Oregon Highway 224, 16 miles southwest of La Grande. The original land for the park was acquired in an exchange with Mt. Emily Lumber Company in 1951. Later, in 1961, the Boise Cascade Corporation gave the state the abandoned railroad right-of-way crossing the park.
The tract is forested with ponderosa pine, cottonwood and Douglas fir. It is generally flat ground bisected by the Grande Ronde River and the Starkey Highway. Though once developed for overnight use, the park now contains only day-use facilities. Reportedly, the old highway bridge over the Grande Ronde River was maintained in red paint by Union County, and thus, the park name.
Redmond-Bend Juniper Wayside - 635.16 acres, Deschutes County. Ten separate tracts of land located along Oregon Highway 97 between Bend and Redmond. The tracts were purchased from the State Land Board in 1945 after seven years of negotiation involving the Land Board, the U. S. Grazing Service and the Oregon Highway Commission. These tracts protect large old western juniper trees in their native habitat. Many of the trees are several hundred years old and provide a pleasing border along The Dalles-California Highway.
Roads End Beach State Wayside - 4.70 acres, Lincoln County, off the Oregon Coast Highway, one mile north of Lincoln City. Acquired between 1968 and 1971 by purchase and litigation for the purpose of providing public access to the Pacific shore in northern Lincoln County.
The wayside is a generally open flat area on a low bluff overlooking the ocean. A draw at the north end descends to the beach. The wayside is bordered by beach homes on three sides.
Robert Straub State Park - 483.67 acres, Tillamook County, located off the Oregon Coast Highway, south of Pacific City. Lands were acquired for this park by purchase from private owners, the U. S. Government and the State Land Board between 1961 and 1964. In 1966, an exchange of lands was made with the U. S. Forest Service resulting in the acquisition of 96.92 acres.
The park includes all of the sand spit at the mouth of the Nestucca River south of the platted limits of Pacific City and north of the river outlet to the ocean. It is a lowland coastal tract with sand flats up to one-half mile wide. The park protects the river entrance, sand spit and ocean shore for public use. At one time, the Highway Commission proposed to relocate the Oregon Coast Highway along the spit and across the mouth of the Nestucca River. In 1978, the spit was breached by the ocean about one-half mile north of the Nestucca River.
Originally called Nestucca Spit State Park, it was renamed in 1987 for former Oregon Governor Robert Straub, a strong supporter of the Oregon Beach Law, conservation of natural resources and opponent of the proposed use of the spit for a highway. The park is developed for boat and beach access.
Robert W. Sawyer State Park - 1.04 acres, Deschutes County, located on the old route of Oregon Highway 97 at the north edge of Bend. This park was acquired between 1931 and 1974 to a total of 41.04 acres and named in honor of Robert W. Sawyer of Bend, long time editor of The Bend Bulletin and member of the Oregon Highway Commission from 1927 to 1930. Along with Sam Boardman, Robert Sawyer (1880-1959) is considered a founding father of the Oregon State Parks system. In 1980, 40 acres of the park were transferred to the Bend Metropolitan Park and Recreation District with the stipulation that the area be maintained for park purposes in commemoration of Sawyer. The remaining 1.04 acres is an administrative site for Oregon State Parks.
Rockaway Beach State Wayside - 3.02 acres, Tillamook County, located on the Oregon Coast Highway at Rockaway. Acquired by purchase from private owners between 1967 and 1974 with an agreement and gift of 0.02 acres from the city of Rockaway in 1972. The area was obtained to provide public parking and beach access to the Oregon coast at Rockaway. The tract is situated on the beach front and offers picnic facilities in addition to beach access.
Rocky Butte State Park - 13.52 acres, Multnomah County, located off Interstate 84 in East Portland. The property was obtained in 1971 as the result of litigation during construction of Interstate Freeway 84 as excess land beyond the right-of-way. The undeveloped park is named for the nearby promontory known as Rocky Butte, a quarry site and former location of an early Multnomah County park and viewpoint.
Rocky Creek State Wayside - 58.43 acres, Lincoln County, located along the Oregon Coast Highway, two miles south of Depoe Bay. Lands were acquired by purchase from private owners and a gift from the U. S. Government between 1926 and 1954.
A most spectacular ocean-front park, it is a steep-walled, partly forested bluff above the ocean lying between Whale Cove and Rocky Creek. A road loop offers parking space from which visitors may walk to the cliff edge or along it. Offshore rocks provide spectacular wave action in storms and are nesting areas for birds and sea lions.
The original park developments were made by the Civilian Conservation Corps between 1934 and 1936, and now the area is improved for day use.
Rogue River State Wayside - 76.69 acres, Josephine County, consists of scattered tracts in the Rogue River corridor west of Grants Pass, between the Applegate River and Grave Creek. The lands were purchased from private owners between 1972 and 1977 for the purpose of protecting the free-flowing Rogue River, its natural features and other values in the public interest. The tracts were acquired under provisions of the 1970 Oregon Scenic Water ways Act and are not developed for recreation use.
Rooster Rock State Park - 872.91 acres, Multnomah County, located along Interstate Highway 84, 22 miles east of Portland. Lands for the park were acquired by purchase from private owners between 1937 and 1985 to provide public river access and protection of the Columbia River Gorge. However, development as a park was not possible until the new highway was built at water grade in the 1950s.
The park has over three miles of sandy Columbia River shoreline most popular with swimmers and wind surfers. Land away from the shore is predominantly flood plain with a high, tree-covered bluff separating the highway from the river. Youngs Creek and Latourelle Creek form a lake in the park between the highway and the Union Pacific Railroad. The setting is spectacular since the park is located at the base of the Columbia Gorge canyon wall, with Crown Point and the Vista House rising above it. The park is a Registered Natural Heritage site.
Rooster Rock, a tall basaltic spire rising several hundred feet above the Columbia River, is situated at the west end of the park. It is said to be the rock mentioned by Lewis and Clark as the camping place for members of their exploring expedition on November 2, 1805. In any event, it has been a much-noted and photographed Columbia River landmark from early days. The park is extensively developed for day use.
Rough and Ready State Wayside - 11 acres, Josephine County, located on the Redwood Highway (U. S. 199) about seven miles south of Kerby at the crossing of Rough and Ready Creek.
Originally, it was part of a larger, 70-acre tract leased for a period of 20 years from the U. S. Government in 1937. A patent for 30 acres was obtained in 1962 from the U. S. Bureau of Land Management. Of this amount, 11 acres constitutes the wayside, the balance is highway right-of-way.
The wayside is a flat, rocky streamside property partially forested in ponderosa pine, Douglas fir and incense cedar with scattered manzanita and sage. The area supports a profusion of native flowers and shrubs of interest to plant specialists as well as the public. It is a Registered Natural Heritage Site.
Rough and Ready Creek is said to have been named during gold excitement of the 1850s for General Zachary Taylor, Mexican War hero and United States president, who had been nicknamed "Old Rough and Ready" by his troops.
Saddle Mountain State Park - 2,911.22 acres, Clatsop County, located off Oregon Highway 26, eight miles northeast of Necanicum Junction. Initially, lands for the park were acquired in 1928 by gift from O. W. and Nellie Taylor. In 1935, the State Land Board gave an additional 1,401.96 acres to the park. In 1938, four tracts were purchased from private owners. Some lands were exchanged with Crown Zellerbach Corporation between 1977 and 1980. In 1985, 40 acres were purchased from the Oregon Board of Forestry and transferred to the Parks and Recreation Division by the Highway Division.
Saddle Mountain, a double peak rising 3,283 feet above sea level, is the principal feature and attraction of the park. Spectacular to view with its rugged broken slopes, it is the habitat of many unusual plants and is a Registered Natural Heritage Site. From the mountain, the visitor can see the Columbia River mouth as well as the Pacific Ocean shoreline. Much of the surrounding country has been logged or burned in the past, but there is now good growth of young Douglas fir, spruce, hemlock, and alder. After the Highway Commission obtained the access road right-of-way in the 1930s, the Civilian Conservation Corps constructed the 7.25-mile road from the Sunset Highway (U. S. 26) to the base of the mountain. They also built the trail to the top of the mountain and did other betterment work. In the early 1950s, primitive camping facilities were added.
Saddle Mountain was named by Lt. Charles Wilkes, U. S. Navy, in 1841 because of the saddle between the peaks. According to tradition, the Indians called it "Swallalahoost" for a legendary chief who, upon being killed by his enemies, assumed the form of an eagle and created thunder and lightning on the peak. Lewis and Clark referred to the peak as an area for elk hunting in 1805 but did not name it. The park area lies generally at the boundary of territories claimed by Clatsop and Clatskanie tribal groups.
Samuel H. Boardman State Park - 1,471.01 acres, Curry County, located on the Oregon Coast Highway between Brookings and Pistol River. The land for this park was acquired mostly between 1949 and 1957 by purchase from private owners and the U. S. Bureau of Land Management. In 1950, Borax Consolidated, Ltd., of London, England, gave 304.10 acres for the park and 62.90 acres for right-of-way on the relocated Oregon Coast Highway. Many of the tracts contained reservations for the removal of timber and some for sheep grazing. The park is bisected by the relocated Oregon Coast Highway, completed in the early 1960s to replace the slow and tortuous old route via the high ridge to Carpenterville.
Boardman State Park is located in one of the most scenic sections of the Oregon coast. It is rugged shoreline backed by high forested bluffs and indented by steep-walled canyons opening on small sandy beaches. Thomas Creek Canyon, some 350 feet deep, is spanned by one of the highest highway bridges in Oregon. Added to this ocean front spectacle are offshore rocks of singular beauty. The park is a strip of coastline extending some 11 miles from just north of Harris Beach State Park to Burnt Hill Creek. There are several day use areas along the Coast Highway, some with beach access and sections of the Oregon Coast Trail.
Samuel H. Boardman (1874-1953), the first Oregon State Parks superintendent, served from 1929 to 1950. He conceived the idea of a great coastal park in Curry County and worked tirelessly to acquire the present park lands. In the early 1940s, Boardman approached U. S. Department of the Interior Secretary Harold L. Ickes with a proposal for an extensive National Park area along the Curry County coastline. Though federal officials toured the region, the coastal National Park idea did not take hold. This state park, the nugget of Boardman's proposal, was named in tribute to the founding superintendent at the time of his retirement. A commemorative monument was dedicated at House Rock View point on August 7, 1970.
San Marine State Wayside - 7.20 acres, Lincoln County, located between the Oregon Coast Highway and the Pacific Ocean just north of Vingie Creek some three miles north of Yachats. It was purchased from two private owners in 1969. The wayside is generally flat with a small dune rising on the shoreline side. Vegetation includes shore pine, salal and dune grass with several low bogs. The site is surrounded by homes and other developments and has no public use facilities.
Sandy River Scenic Water Wayside - 68.71 acres, Clackamas County, located along the Sandy River off Bull Run Pipe Line Road near Bull Run. Acquired by purchase from two private owners in 1978, the tract is a forested river flood plain property purchased to protect the free-flowing Sandy River as a part of the Oregon Scenic Waterways system. It is not developed for public use.
Sarah Helmick State Park - 79.01 acres, Polk County, located on the old route of Oregon Highway 99W, six miles south of Monmouth. Acquired between 1922 and 1985, the park includes the first land given to the Oregon State Highway Commission for park purposes. Sarah Helmick and her son, James, gave 5.46 acres to the state in 1922. William and Mary Weist gave 1.70 acres in 1948. In 1984 and 1985 Peter and Maryle Larson gave 44.60 acres. In addition to these gifts, there were two land purchases including 23.65 acres which were formerly part of the artillery range for Camp Adair used during World War II.
Helmick Park lies along the flood plain of the Luckiamute River and is flat to gently sloping land forested in Douglas fir, grand fir, maple, ash, and cottonwood. It is developed for day use with picnic facilities and access to the river. In the winter season the developed area is sometimes flooded during periods of high water.
The park was named for the donor, Sarah Helmick, who, with her husband, Henry, settled a 640-acre Donation Land Claim on the Luckiamute River in 1846. They had come to Oregon in 1845 over the Oregon Trail from Burlington, Iowa.
Seal Rock State Wayside - 4.93 acres, Lincoln County, located on the Oregon Coast Highway, 10 miles south of Newport in the community of Seal Rock. Lincoln County gave the initial 0.24 acre for this state wayside in 1929. Two other purchases of private land were made in 1936 and 1942. Included in the wayside are large offshore basaltic rock formations which are the habitat of seals, sea lions, sea birds and other marine life. The large rocks called "Castle," "Tourist" and "Elephant" were obtained from the federal government in 1928. The wayside includes interesting marine gardens in the tidal pools as well as excellent ocean views and a fine sand beach. Developed for day use, the picnic area is in a pleasant stand of shore pine, spruce and salal.
Seneca Fouts Memorial State Park - 425.50 acres, Hood River County, located off Interstate 84 (eastbound access only), six miles west of Hood River. The original 150.5 acres for the park were given by Seneca Fouts in 1944. Later tracts were purchased from the Oregon Board of Forestry and private owners in 1959, 1961, and 1963. In 1978, an exchange was made with Hood River County that added lands to this park and Wygant State Park for surplus land in Wygant State Park.
The park is located on the steep south bank of the Columbia River within the gorge. It is rocky, forested land which is generally undeveloped except for trails to interesting vista points.
Seven Devils State Wayside - 54.37 acres, Coos County, located off the Oregon Coast Highway, 10 miles north of Bandon. Acquired in 1966 and 1967 from private owners by purchase and litigation. The wayside is an open shore line tract at the mouth of Two Mile Creek on the Seven Devils Highway. Generally lowland with shrubs, grass and scattered trees, the wayside fronts on Merchants Beach, a fine sandy ocean front attractive to visitors. The area has been developed for day use.
Shelton State Wayside - 180 acres, Wheeler County, located along the John Day Highway (Oregon Highway 19), 10 miles south of Fossil. The first tract of 3.38 acres was a gift from the Kinzua Lumber Company in 1927 with a reservation that the area be a public park known as Shelton Park. The balance of the wayside was purchased from Kinzua in 1930.
The park lies along Service Creek in a gently sloping canyon forested with old ponderosa pine, Douglas fir and juniper. It is developed for camping and day use.
At the request of the Kinzua Lumber Company, a plaque was placed in the wayside to honor L. D. W. Shelton, an Oregon pioneer of 1847 who resided in the area. Shelton had been a soldier and surveyor.
Shepperd's Dell State Park - 518.79 acres, Multnomah County, located along the Columbia River Scenic Route (old U. S. 30), 28 miles east of Portland. It was acquired by gift, exchange and purchase between 1940 and 1984. The original tract of land, including the dell, was given first to the city of Portland in 1915 by George G. Shepperd as a memorial to his wife. Later the tract was given by the city to the state of Oregon.
The park lies on the south bank of the Columbia River Gorge in a rugged, rocky, section bordered on the north by the Union Pacific Railroad and bisected by the old Columbia River Scenic Highway. Shepperd's Dell is a rugged rock-bound nook through which Youngs Creek flows in a series of cascades and low waterfalls. The old highway crosses Youngs Creek on a concrete bridge against a backdrop of high basalt columns. The cliff overhanging the highway just east of the bridge is most spectacular. It was much photographed in the past and often appeared in old picture post cards of the Columbia River Highway. There is trail access to the dell. Parking, however, is limited.
Sheridan State Park - 11.50 acres, Hood River County, located along Interstate Highway 84, some 41 miles east of Portland, between Bonneville Dam and Cascade Locks. The land was purchased from the Oregon-Washington Railway and Navigation Company (now Union Pacific) in 1923. Though once developed for day use on the old highway, the park is now a sloping forested river bank tract. From this location on the Oregon shore in 1856, Lt. Philip H. Sheridan and a group of soldiers and civilians crossed to relieve settlers on nearby Bradford Island who were under Indian attack.
Sheridan, known particularly for his cavalry actions in the Shenandoah Valley in Virginia during the Civil War, rose to the rank of Lieutenant General of the U. S. Army. The park is presently undeveloped.
Shore Acres State Park - 745.07 acres, Coos County, located off the Oregon Coast Highway, 13 miles southwest of Coos Bay. The initial holding was purchased from Louis J. and Lela G. Simpson, his wife, in 1942 and included the Simpsons' ocean front estate with its formal garden. Later additions were acquired from other owners between 1956 and 1980. The park is well developed for day use. In the garden are innumerable varieties of native and exotic ornamental plants and flowers, including azaleas, rhododendrons, roses, irises, dahlias and others. In addition, there are many types of trees, all beautifully laid out in a formal plan. The garden fell into disarray in the period 1942-1970 but it has been restored to perhaps an even grander scale than that achieved by Louis Simpson. The history of Shore Acres is interpreted for the visitor in the garden and in the observation building.
"Shore Acres" was the name given by the Simpsons to their large estate on the spectacular Cape Arago sea coast. The house sat on a precipitous bluff overlooking the rocky ocean shore where now the observation building sits. From this point are seen unusual vistas and, in the winter, some of the most spectacular wave action on the Oregon coast. Trails extend from the observation area along the spruce and pine-forested bluffs. These are much used by artists and photographers.
The Simpson family was important in the development of the Coos Bay area, beginning with Captain Asa M. Simpson, who founded the town of North Bend after his arrival on Coos Bay in 1855. Simpson and his sons were leaders in shipping and the lumber industry. They owned land from Cape Arago to North Bend.
In 1986, a Shore Acres State Park cooperative association was created under agreement with the Oregon State Parks and Recreation Division. This group provides information to park visitors and sponsors events such as the popular annual Christmas Lights program.
Silver Falls State Park - 8,706.23 acres, Marion County, located on Oregon Highway 214, 26 miles east of Salem. Lands for the original Silver Creek Falls State Park were acquired by purchase and gift between 1931 and 1945. The gifts were from Marion County. This land included portions of canyons of the north and south forks of Silver Creek with their waterfalls. In 1948 and 1949 the U. S. Government, through the National Park Service, deeded 5,989.58 acres adjoining the original holding to the state of Oregon with a reversionary clause requiring continued use of the land for park purposes.
The federal government had acquired its land in the area between 1934 and 1942 as a recreational demonstration area for public use with the purpose of eventual state ownership and administration. Silver Creek Recreation Demonstration Area was one of only two such massive acquisitions undertaken on the West Coast in an effort to reclaim agriculturally submarginal and logged-over forest lands. (The other, Mendocino Woodlands on Big River near Mendocino, California, is now a unit of the California State Park system operated as a non-profit camp concession.)
After 1949, additional lands were leased, purchased and traded to round out park holdings. Some of these tracts were acquired after the federal government permitted the sale of isolated property to obtain land purchase funds. Finally, in 1984, the late Leo Cieslak bequeathed 160 acres to bring the total acreage to 8,706.23.
The largest state park in Oregon, and considered by many to be the crowning jewel of the system, Silver Falls State Park encompasses a large portion of the watershed of the north and south forks of Silver Creek. Located in the western foothills of the Cascade Mountains, most of this land has been forested in Douglas fir, western hemlock and western red cedar with maples, alder and cottonwood along stream bottoms. Over the years, logging, fire and land clearing have altered the forest cover, but now the forest cover is general, ranging from young reproduction to over 500-year-old conifers.
However, the land forms and waterfalls are most attractive to the public. Elevations in the park vary from 200 feet in the northwest to 3,200 feet in the southeast. This portion of the Western Cascades is composed of thick lava flows, tufts and agglomerates of the Miocene period resting on older rocks. The rocks were deeply eroded and covered with a thick soil mantle. In later erosion of this basin, more resistant rock in the side canyons formed ledges causing nine major waterfalls in the main canyons ranging in height from 27 feet at Drake Falls to 177 feet at South Falls.
There are also five smaller falls on other tributaries. The minor falls are accessible by trail. Particularly popular is South Falls with its nearby lodge, parking areas and picnic facilities. Briefly, in 1926 and again in 1935, the area was reviewed for possible designation as a national park.
The name Silver Creek may have originated with James "Silver" Smith who came into the region with nearly a bushel of silver dollars in the 1840s. In the 1880s, the townsite of Silver Falls City was surveyed, and future President, Herbert Hoover, allegedly helped in the survey. The parking area of South Falls lies in the old townsite. There was a hotel in the town as well as a sawmill on the stream. Many tracts of land were cleared for agriculture, and hunting lodges were scattered through the Silver Creek watershed. Logging was carried on in the upper basin by the Silverton Lumber Company and other operators.
In 1926, at the request of Senator Charles McNary and the Salem Chamber of Commerce, the National Park Service investigated the Silver Creek Falls area as a possible national park. C. G. Thomson, then superintendent of Crater Lake National Park, made the study and recommended against addition to the National Park system. He felt the area was too much altered by man but was suitable as a state park.
By 1929, Silver Falls City was populated by one family and South Falls was owned by D. E. Geiser, who charged 10 cents admission to see the falls, where he occasionally staged promotional stunts. These included putting a man over the falls in a canvas-covered canoe which was to be guided by a wire on the 177-foot drop. The wire failed and the canoeist was fished out of the base pool somewhat worse for wear. Later Geiser ran unoccupied old cars over the falls, charging 25 cents apiece to see the events. The Geiser property was acquired in 1931, and State Parks Superintendent Samuel Boardman continued to work on land acquisitions in the north and south fork canyons. Trails were built for viewing the falls, and the park was managed by a caretaker.
With the economic depression of the 1930s, the federal government bought up economically submarginal farm land to produce public recreation areas for later transfer to the state. The Silver Creek Recreation Demonstration Area (RDA) in Oregon was chosen to provide youth camps offering group camping experiences for urban children as well as public camping and other developed recreation opportunities. In 1934, the Highway Commission agreed to sponsor the Silver Falls project. In the next eight years the Silver Creek RDA was developed by the U. S. Department of the Interior, National Park Service, using Works Progress Administration (WPA) and Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) labor. Youth camps were constructed on Silver Creek and on Smith Creek for use primarily by YMCA and Girl Scout groups, respectively. The camps each included cabins, latrine-shower or wash houses, infirmary, dining hall, recreation lodge, crafts building, administration building and swimming pool. Other camps were planned, but the advent of World War I in 1941 prevented construction. The RDA was administered by a National Park Service project manager. The last to serve, Harry B. Buckley, later became superintendent of parks for the city of Portland.
The project, which was to encompass the entire upper watershed of Silver Creek, originally included 18,785 acres. Options were taken on 11,896 acres of private land which expired by 1940. Included in the 1940 National Park Service master plan for Silver Creek RDA was a public camping area. This was dropped in deference to State Parks policy of the day, which discouraged overnight camping in state park areas.
In 1948 and 1949, the U. S. Government transferred the RDA to the State of Oregon for park purposes. This, with the existing park at South Falls, formed the outline of the present park. In 1950, Parks policy was changed to include overnight camping, and construction of a campground was begun on former RDA land.
Many recreational developments have been added to Silver Falls State Park. During the 1930s, the CCC built a fine stone concession building with restaurant (now called the lodge), a log lodge, and kitchen shelter as well as trails, picnic facilities, parking access, water systems, and related improvements in the original Silver Creek Falls State Park. Later developments for group use were added as land was acquired, such as the Davidson Ranch facilities. A horse camp with equestrian trails was developed at Howard Creek. The old CCC enrollees' camp at North Falls became a group camp, and the trail system was expanded throughout the park.
In 1975, a conference center for group use was proposed for Silver Falls which would take advantage of close proximity to public agency offices in Portland, Salem and Eugene. Use of Smith Creek Camp was in decline and thus seemed a logical location for the development. Following approval by the Oregon Legislative Assembly, construction was started in 1977 and completed in 1980. Much of the center is new construction, but some buildings of the old group camp were adapted also.
In 1983, a nine-acre area encompassing the historic Silver Falls Lodge ensemble and South Falls view-point was listed by the National Register of Historic Places.
In 1986, a Silver Falls State Park cooperative association was created under agreement with the Oregon State Parks and Recreation Division. This group has been helpful in promoting activities and providing information to park visitors.
Sisters State Park - 27.78 acres, Deschutes County, located at the east edge of Sisters at the junction of Oregon Highways 20 and 126. A tract of 4l.38 acres was purchased from Louis W. Hill of St. Paul, Minnesota, in 1939 to be used as a state park or for other public purpose. The tract is flat, pine-forested land lying along Squaw Creek and is bisected by the two highways and their junction. In 1983, the developed area of 13.60 acres adjacent to Sisters was given to the city for a park. The balance is held in state ownership. Sisters is named for the Three Sisters peaks in the Cascade Range nearby to the southwest.
Smelt Sands State Wayside - 3.86 acres, Lincoln County, located at the north end of Yachats off the Oregon Coast Highway (U. S. 101). Obtained by purchase from private owners in 1971 and 1972, the wayside is a long, narrow sloping beach access tract bordering the Pacific Ocean. It is bordered north and south by private home and motel developments. The wayside offers public access to the ocean particularly for smelt fishing. Here, in 1990, after 15 years of effort on the part of public-spirited citizens, an adjoining former county road right-of-way known as the Yachats 804 Trail was dedicated for public recreational use as a hiking trail.
Smith Rock State Park - 623.80 acres, Deschutes County, located off The Dalles-California Highway (U. S. 97), nine miles northeast of Redmond. The park was obtained between 1960 and 1975 by purchase and by gifts of land from the city of Redmond and Harry and Diane Kem.
The park is located in the steep, rocky canyon of the Crooked River, east of the community of Terrebonne. On the bluff above the south bank of the river, day use facilities are located on a gently sloping to flat area with pine and juniper trees. The real attraction of the park, however, is the steep ridge on the north bank of the Crooked River. The north ridge is widely known for its challenges to rock climbers. Smith Rock is the name generally applied to the formation that rises several hundred feet above the river and is vividly colored by geologic striations.
Smith Rock is thought to have been named for John Smith, who "discovered" the feature during a trip over the Cascades into the Crooked River country in 1867. A pioneer of 1852, Smith had been sheriff of Linn County and a member of the Oregon Legislature. At the time of his trip through the Crooked River country, he was agent at Warm Springs Indian Agency.
South Beach State Park - 434.21 acres, Lincoln County, located off the Oregon Coast Highway (U. S. 101), across Yaquina Bay from Newport. The park combines two areas once separately maintained, South Beach Wayside and South Newport State Park. The land was acquired by gift, exchange and purchase between 1933 and 1970. Gifts were received from Edith M. Bowman, Robert and Cherie Kiewel, Lincoln County and W. J. and Janet Wineberg.
The park begins just south of the Yaquina Bay Bridge in South Newport and extends south several miles along the coast. It includes much shoreland of sandy beach with adjacent shore pine and spruce forest. It is flat to gently rolling with a rising ridge near the bridge and includes part of the south jetty entrance to Yaquina Bay. The lands were obtained to protect the south bridge area from encroachment and also to provide public access to the beach. South Beach State Park is fully developed for day and overnight use and is intensively used in the summer season.
Squaw Creek State Wayside - 6.95 acres, Lane County, located on the Oregon Coast Highway (U. S. 101), some seven miles south of Yachats. The tracts in two separated parcels were purchased from private owners between 1971 and 1975. Squaw Creek Wayside is located north of Squaw Creek, between the Coast Highway and the ocean. It is sloping land partly open and undeveloped. It was acquired to protect the ocean shoreline and provide beach access.
Stage Coach Forest Wayside - 231.00 acres, Douglas and Josephine counties, located on Interstate Highway 5 at the Douglas-Josephine County line about 18 miles south of Canyonville. The first land for this wayside was given by Douglas County in October, 1945. In the same month, the balance of the wayside was purchased from private owners.
The wayside consists of steep forested ground in the Klamath Mountain region cut up by several draws in Stage Coach Pass, at the divide between Cow Creek and Wolf Creek. The land was purchased partly to protect the roadside forest for public view. The forest here is Douglas fir with ponderosa pine, incense cedar and madrone. A major goal in the acquisition was land for the relocation of the Pacific Highway (now Interstate 5) and its later expansion to freeway standards. The area is not developed.
The area is located along the old stage road from Grants Pass to Roseburg and includes a major summit and pass on that route.
Starvation Creek State Park - 152.62 acres, Hood River County, located along Interstate Highway 84, 10 miles west of Hood River and accessible only to east bound traffic. It was acquired by purchase from private owners between 1930 and 1960. The original lands encompass the spectacular waterfall on Starvation Creek as it plunges toward the Columbia River in the gorge. At this point, the basalt gorge walls are very steep, but there is a small forested flat near the freeway that is developed for public day use. The Union Pacific Railroad and I-84 separate the park from the Columbia River.
There are two theories on the origin of the name Starvation Creek. It is said that a party of overland pioneers nearly starved here for lack of provisions. The place also was called Starveout after two Union Pacific Railroad trains were stalled in the area by heavy snows in the winter of 1884-1885. For some days, the passengers were kept from starvation by men who packed supplies from Hood River on skis.
Stonefield Beach State Wayside - 19.30 acres, Lane County, located on the Oregon Coast Highway (U. S. 101), six miles south of Yachats. The property was acquired by purchase and litigation from private owners between 1967 and 1969. The wayside is located along Ten Mile Creek between the Coast Highway and the Pacific Ocean. It is primarily an open, grassy flat extending into a fine ocean beach at the mouth of Ten Mile Creek. The area is developed for public beach access.
Succor Creek State Recreation Area - 1,910.00 acres, Malheur County, located off Oregon Highway 201, 30 miles south of Nyssa. The land was obtained between 1966 and 1969 by patent from the U. S. Government (Bureau of Land Management), and by purchase and litigation with private owners.
The recreation area lies in the spectacular, steep rocky canyon of Succor Creek and extends some five miles along the creek and highway. Though the vegetation in much of the canyon is limited, there are occasional alders and willows along the stream bank. The area has long been of interest to geologists. Succor Creek Wayside is developed for day use and primitive camping.
The name Succor Creek is said to refer to early travelers in the Snake River Basin who, having been saved by the creek's fresh water, applied the name as a corruption of the Spanish word socorro, meaning help or aid.
Sunset Bay State Park - 395.49 acres, Coos County, located off the Oregon Coast Highway (U. S. 101), 12 miles southwest of Coos Bay on the Cape Arago Highway. The land for the park was obtained between 1948 and 1984. The original tract, including the bay front, was given to the state for park purposes by Coos County in 1948. Ralph Barker gave a water supply location in 1954. Later tracts were acquired by patent from the U. S. Government (Bureau of Land Management), and by purchase, litigation and exchange with private owners.
One of the most scenic parks on the Oregon coast, Sunset Bay includes the steep-walled bay front with its wind-carved headlands backed by spruce-hemlock forested points as well as the low bottom land on Big Creek. Big Creek empties into Sunset Bay from the south and along its banks is the camping area. Day-use and beach facilities are provided along the bay front.
The park has long been a favorite of surf bathers, fishermen, photographers and artists. Because of the effects of color and light, vistas from the bay at sunrise and sunset can be spectacular.
Sunset Highway Forest Wayside - 1,084.30 acres, Clatsop, Columbia, Tillamook and Washington counties. Located variously along the Sunset Highway (U. S. 26) from about two miles west of Buxton some 36 miles to the entrance road to Saddle Mountain State Park. Land for this wayside was acquired between 1937 and 1980. Originally, these forest lands were obtained for scenic roadside enhancement. However, management of substantial acreage over many miles of highway and the large Tillamook fires of the 1930s and 1940s presented serious concerns. As a result, in 1951 much of the land was exchanged with Oregon State Board of Forestry for other park properties at Oswald West State Park. In addition, an isolated tract was sold to the Sunset Logging Company in 1941.
The forest wayside is on both sides of the road following the climbing and descending path of the Sunset Highway as it crosses the Coast Range and descends to the Nehalem and Necanicum rivers. Though much of the route was burned by past forest fires, it has been largely reforested naturally and with trees planted by school children as well as by park and highway crews. Included within the wayside are occasional stands of old growth Douglas fir and alder missed by the fires, and at the west end are tracts of Sitka spruce with western hemlock and alder.
Originally called the Wolf Creek Highway Forest Wayside, the holding became confused with other Wolf Creek place names in Oregon. In 1946, the name of the highway and wayside was changed to Sunset Highway and Forest Wayside. The name honors the 41st, or Sunset Division of the U. S. Army which played a conspicuous role in both First and Second World Wars and included many soldiers from the Pacific Northwest.
Susan Creek State Park - 27.91 acres, Douglas County, located some 29 miles east of Roseburg, along the North Umpqua River and Oregon Highway 138. This property was initially a gift to the state of 27.91 acres from Douglas County. In 1956 and 1962, additional lands were leased from Douglas County and the U. S. Bureau of Land Management. Over the years, the park was developed with camping and day use facilities. Due to budgetary problems, the leased lands were returned in 1981. The Bureau of Land Management now operates the area for park purposes. In 1983, the 27.91-acre Douglas County gift was proposed for return to the county. To date, the land remains in state ownership.
The park is an attractive riverside area forested in Douglas fir, sugar pine, cedar, yew, maple, lowland white fir and hemlock. The North Umpqua River region is very popular as a summer recreation area.
Sweet Myrtle Preserve - 16.00 acres, Coos County, located along Oregon Highway 425, eight miles east of Bandon near Lampa Creek. The tract is held under agreement made with the land owner in 1946, the purpose of which was to preserve the Oregon myrtle trees along the highway. There is no development of the wayside. At the time of the agreement, the road was the main Oregon Coast Highway.
The Cove Palisades State Park - 4,129.80 acres, Jefferson County, located off U. S. Highway 97, 15 miles southwest of Madras. The original park land in the Crooked River Canyon was acquired by lease agreement with the U. S. Department of Agriculture in 1940. Additional land was obtained by purchase from the State Land Board, Jefferson County and private owners between 1941 and 1961. The acquired lands included a gift of eight acres from the U. S. Department of Agriculture in 1946. When Portland General Electric Company's Round Butte Dam was constructed near the confluence of the Crooked, Deschutes and Metolius rivers between 1961 and 1964, land exchanges were made with Portland General Electric, and the surplus released to the U. S. Department of Agriculture and Jefferson County. Additional lands were acquired in 1966 and 1977.
The Cove Palisades includes a great expanse of central Oregon semi-arid plateau dissected by the deep cutting river channels of the Crooked, Deschutes and Metolius rivers as they meet to form the larger Deschutes River. In the steep canyon walls is revealed the geologic history of the region, starting some 10 to 12 million years ago in the Pliocene Epoch. At this time, volcanism was building the Cascade Range, and westward streams sought northerly courses to the sea. In later episodes, layers of volcanic ash were deposited and the area was uplifted. Basaltic lava flows occurred in the last 50,000 years, which filled canyons in the park. Again, the rivers began to erode these canyons to their present configuration, and large landslides occurred in the steep-walled canyons. The "Cove" refers to a bench half way down the Crooked River Canyon wall which was visible before the dam pool was formed.
In the 1950s, the visitor drove into the Crooked River and Deschutes River canyons to see the geologic formations. The area was modestly developed for camping and day use. Now these canyons are flooded to a depth of 800-900 feet by Lake Billy Chinook behind Round Butte Dam. The park consequently serves many more people with larger campgrounds, day-use picnic areas, boating facilities, as well as concession areas. Swimming, fishing and boating are popular activities at the park.
Tolovana Beach State Wayside - 3.31 acres, Clatsop County, located on the Oregon Coast Highway (U. S. 101), one mile south of Cannon Beach in the subdivision of Tolovana Park. Lands for the wayside were obtained by purchase from private owners between 1967 and 1969. A street vacation in 1970 completed the present holding.
The wayside is essentially a developed beach access area in the midst of the community of Tolovana Park. It is surrounded on three sides by houses, motels and other improvements, but provides access to a popular sandy beach distinguished by a well-known landmark, Haystack Rock. North of the wayside, at a location overlooking Haystack Rock, Governor Oswald West built his family's vacation retreat, a massive log bungalow. In action now widely recognized as a signal event in the state's conservation movement, Governor West encouraged the legislative designation of Oregon beaches as public highways in 1913, thus ensuring the public's right of access to them long into the future.
The subdivision known as Tolovana Park was the historic setting of a rustic oceanside hostelry of the early days known as the Warren Hotel.
Tou Velle State Park - 54.16 acres, Jackson County, located off Oregon Highway 62, some nine miles north of Medford. The park was obtained in two phases. In 1946, Frank L. Tou Velle gave the state of Oregon 35.29 acres for park purposes, and, in 1964, an additional 15.87 acres was purchased from the Tou Velle estate.
The park is a relatively flat tract of land on both sides of the Rogue River at Bybee Bridge. It is partly tree-covered in oak and poplar and is developed for day use.
Tryon Creek State Park - 630.16 acres, Clackamas and Multnomah counties, located off Interstate Highway 5 on Terwilliger Boulevard, some 6 miles southwest of downtown Portland. Land for the park was acquired between 1971 and 1988 by gifts from Multnomah County, Friends of Tryon Creek, Annette T. Kraft and John and Julie Des Camp, as well as by purchase from private owners.
The park was obtained to provide a natural area typical of the moist Willamette Valley ecosystem within the Portland metropolitan area that would be available for public study and education. It is a shallow, steep-walled canyon bordered on the east by Terwilliger Boulevard and on the west by Boones Ferry Road.
Tryon Creek flows into the Willamette River beyond the south end of the park. The area was mostly logged in the past, but now supports a Douglas fir forest with alder and maple as well as shrub areas, grassy meadows and marsh. Tryon Creek State Park is developed for day use and has an extensive trail system for hikers, horseback riders and bicyclists. The Nature House provides park interpretation. Much interested in the assets of the park, Friends of Tryon Creek has a cooperative agreement with State Parks to support and promote the area. Formally established in 1969, Friends of Tryon Creek was instrumental in creating the park, and the group continues its volunteer work on a regular basis.
Tryon Creek is named for Dr. Socrates Hotchkiss Tryon, an Oregon pioneer of 1850, who settled a claim near Oswego on which the park land is located.
Tub Springs State Wayside - 40 acres, Jackson County, located on Oregon Highway 68, 18 miles east of Ashland in the Cascade Mountains. It was purchased in 1939. The wayside is a forested tract lying in a shallow mountain depression bisected by the Greensprings Highway. Trees found in the wayside include Douglas fir, ponderosa pine, sugar pine, white fir with an under-story of manzanita and ceanothus. The main attraction of the area is the spring of clear, cold water available to the public in three rock tubs beside the highway for which the wayside is named. It is developed for day-use picnicking.
This location was the scene of a major timber trespass in the early 1950s. The wayside contained large examples of old growth pine and Douglas fir, whereas the surrounding property had been logged. A crafty timber thief moved in, using an erroneous harvesting permit. Trees were cut, and logs were sent to both Klamath Falls and Medford. The high quality of logs and demands for payment of woods workers prompted the receiving saw mills to make inquiries to State Parks. Investigation of the area, stumps and other details led to a charge of criminal trespass. The case was settled out of court after several pre-trial appearances of the confessed malefactor. Following this experience, a careful survey of state wayside boundaries was made at Tub Springs in June, 1954, and iron pins were set at the boundary corners.
Tumalo State Park - 329.99 acres, Deschutes County, located off U. S. Highway 20, five miles northwest of Bend. The original land for this park was a gift of 115 acres from Deschutes County in 1954. Other tracts were acquired by purchase and exchange up to 1984. In 1972, Deschutes County gave an additional 190.86 acres to the state.
Tumalo State Park lies in the canyon of the Deschutes River above the crossing of the McKenzie-Bend Highway, U. S. Route 20, near the town of Tumalo. The park was obtained to preserve a scenic portion of the Deschutes River Canyon where basalt bluffs extend down to the stream. In the canyon is a good stand of juniper and occasional ponderosa pine with willow and poplar near the water. The park is developed for camping and day use. It is a popular summer picnic location. Congestion was reduced by the relocation of U.S. Highway 20. It is thought that the name Tumalo comes from the Klamath Indian word "temolo," meaning wild plum.
Twin Rocks State Wayside - 22 acres, Tillamook County, located west of the Oregon Coast Highway (U. S. 101) and the Southern Pacific Railroad, about two miles south of Rockaway. The wayside is essentially beach and tidal land between the ordinary high tide line and the line of vegetation as established by Section 8 Chapter 601, Oregon Laws of 1969. The shoreline at this location is distinguished by a pair of offshore outcrops called Twin Rocks. The wayside is undeveloped and was purchased in 1971 to protect public beach access.
Tygh Valley State Wayside - 298.53 acres, Wasco County, located on Oregon Highway 216, 39 miles south of The Dalles. The area was acquired between 1969 and 1978 from private owners. In 1969, Pacific Power and Light Company gave the state of Oregon 255.13 acres. In 1970, the state received a patent on 40 acres formerly held by the U. S. Bureau of Land Management, and in 1978, after litigation, an exchange was made with a private owner to complete the wayside.
The wayside lies on both sides of the White River at the falls and includes a portion of the spectacular river canyon slightly more than a mile above its juncture with the Deschutes River. Pacific Power and Light Company acquired the falls area for hydroelectric generation in 1910 and produced electricity here to 1963. The park is also at the lower (eastern) end of Tygh Valley, an agricultural region. The wayside was established to protect scenic values at the falls and the river canyon. Here, also, is a traditional Indian encampment area. The wayside is developed for day use.
Ukiah-Dale Forest Wayside - 2,986.80 acres, Umatilla County, located on U. S. Highway 395, beginning three miles south of Ukiah and extending for some 14 miles to Dale. Land for this wayside was acquired between 1944 and 1947 by purchase from private owners and Umatilla County. In 1956, eight acres were sold to the Pilot Rock Lumber Company. This land was previously under lease for a headquarters logging camp, located near the south end of the wayside, between the highway and the North Fork of the John Day River. A number of the tracts were purchased with grazing reservations. The U. S. Government has reserved the mineral rights in portions of Section 29 and 32 T.5S., R.31E. Willamette Meridian.
Situated in the steep and forested canyon of Camas Creek, and extending south beyond its junction with the North Fork of the John Day River, Ukiah-Dale Forest Wayside is a scenic roadside protection area. Included in the wayside are good examples of ponderosa pine, western larch and Douglas fir. The area was acquired to protect the forest stand along the highway, which over the years has been widened for safety purposes. The rock cliffs of the stream canyons add to the beauty of the wayside.
There is a small primitive overnight camp development at the north end of the wayside, near Ukiah Junction.
Umpqua Lighthouse State Park - 450.02 acres, Douglas County, located along the Oregon Coast Highway (U. S. 101) about one mile south of Winchester Bay. Lands for this park were acquired between 1930 and 1951. Much of the original park was given to the state of Oregon for park purposes by Douglas County. Additional lands were purchased from the U. S. Government (Treasury Department and General Land Office) and private owners. In 1951, Menasha Wooden Ware Company donated 111.81 acres. In 1968, a surplus of 31.86 acres was returned to Douglas County. With the creation of the Oregon Dunes National Recreation Area (NRA) on the surrounding Siuslaw National Forest in 1972, an exchange of land was made with the U. S. Forest Service. The state of Oregon deeded 2,265 acres to the NRA in exchange for 1,006.48 acres of potential park land in Deschutes, Klamath and Lane counties. This exchange was completed in 1981.
In its original conception, Umpqua Lighthouse Park was acquired to preserve the forested basin of Lake Marie plus a large ocean frontage with adjoining sand dunes. The park extended to the Oregon Coast Highway and bordered Clear Lake, the Reedsport water source, on its westerly side. Trees in the park included large Sitka spruce, western hemlock and shore pine as well as large specimens of rhododendron. From vista points on the highway, the visitor obtained views of the mouth of the Umpqua River. The present Umpqua River Light was built in 1894 to signal the entrance to the Umpqua River. It replaced an earlier aid to navigation and remains a feature of the adjoining U. S. Coast Guard lighthouse reservation. Development of facilities in the state park began with trails and a picnic area at Lake Marie constructed by the Civilian Conservation Corps in the 1930s. In the late 1950s, an overnight camping area was added.
Umpqua Myrtle Preserve - 4.85 acres, Douglas County, located along Oregon Highway 38 some eight miles west of Elkton near Paradise Creek. The preserve consists of undeveloped tracts of myrtle trees lying between the highway and the Umpqua River. In order to preserve the myrtle trees for public view, agreements were made in 1947 between the Oregon State Highway Commission and the land owners for the protection of these trees. The owners preserve the trees from removal, the state keeps them clear of undergrowth.
Umpqua State Wayside - 110.82 acres, Douglas County, located along Oregon Highway 38 in five separate tracts beginning seven miles east of Reedsport and extending to 6.6 miles west of Elkton. These lands were acquired between 1946 and 1982 by purchase and by gifts from Douglas County and Ian McLeod. Save the Myrtle Woods, Inc. contributed to the purchase of several tracts. Mostly located between the highway and the Umpqua River, they were acquired to preserve the fine stands of myrtle trees, maples and other native species which make the highway along the lower Umpqua one of the most scenic in the state.
There are picnic facilities and a boat ramp at the tract seven miles east of Reedsport.
Unity Forest Wayside - 85.27 acres, Baker County. The wayside consists of two separate tracts. The first is situated on U. S. Highway 26 about seven miles southeast of Unity; the second is located on Oregon Highway 245 about 15 miles south of Baker. The lands were acquired between 1928 and 1931 by purchase from a private owner and the State Land Board. The first area, in the canyon of Camp Creek, was acquired to protect a scattered roadside stand of ponderosa pine with associated juniper, aspen and willow for public view. The second area also was acquired to protect roadside trees near Dooley Mountain Summit and to supply material for road work. Neither site is developed for public use and they are separated by some 40 miles. The wayside is named for the proximity of the southerly tract to the town of Unity.
Unity Lake State Park - 39 acres, Baker County, located on Oregon Highway 245, 53 miles east of John Day. Thirty acres of the park are managed under a 1959 lease agreement with the U. S. Bureau of Reclamation. The additional nine acres were purchased from a private owner. Unity Lake was formed after the damming of Burnt River by the Bureau of Reclamation to provide agricultural irrigation water. The park was created to provide public access to the lake. It lies on generally flat open ground with mountains rising to the north. It has been well developed for camping and day use and is popular with anglers, boaters and vacationers. Trees have been planted to enhance the developed area.
Valley of the Rogue State Park - 277.53 acres, Jackson County, located on Interstate Highway 5, 12 miles east of Grants Pass. Acquired by purchase from private owners between 1959 and 1969. The park lies on a flat-to-sloping bench above the Rogue River and between the highway and the river. It is partly wooded with oak, some pine and planted trees. Development is extensive with a campground, boat and fishing access as well as day-use picnicking. Important as an area for public river access, the park also serves as a highway rest area for Interstate 5.
Viento State Park - 247.91 acres, Hood River County, located along Interstate Highway 84 in the Columbia River Gorge, eight miles west of Hood River. It was acquired between 1925 and 1967 by purchase from private owners. The purchase of the first tract was financed by Pacific Telephone and Telegraph Company to compensate for damage to trees when the company cleared its line rights-of-way in Oregon park areas.
The park was established to provide a shaded picnic and rest area for travelers on the old Columbia River Highway. It is a gradual to steep-sloping forested tract lying along Viento Creek extending to the Columbia River and bisected by both the Union Pacific Railroad and Interstate Highway 84. Initial development was carried out by the Civilian Conservation Corps in the 1930s. Overnight camping facilities were added in the 1950s.
Although viento is the Spanish word for wind, and trees in the area show the shaping effects of strong winds in the Columbia Gorge, the park name was taken from a nearby station on the railroad -- the title of which supposedly was composed of the first letters of surnames of the railroad builder Henry Villard, capitalist William Endicott, and a contractor named Tolman. These men were active in railroad building along the Columbia River in the 1870s and 1880s. Viento was a station on the Oregon-Washington Railway and Navigation Company line (now Union Pacific).
Vinzenz Lausmann Memorial State Park - 126 acres, Hood River County, located off Interstate Highway 84 (eastbound access only), six miles west of Hood River. The area was a gift from the Lausmann family to the Columbia River Gorge Commission in 1954. In 1964, the Gorge Commission gave the tract to the state of Oregon for park purposes stipulating that it be named in memory of Vinzenz Lausmann.
The park is Douglas fir forested land located south of Interstate 84 rising steeply on the north facing slope. It was acquired to protect the scenic features of the Columbia Gorge. Lausmann park adjoins Seneca Fouts and Wygant state parks and is developed with a trail system.
Wallowa Lake Highway Forest Wayside - 313.66 acres, Wallowa County. The first tract for this, one of the earliest highway forest waysides, was 47 acres purchased in 1925. Later acquisitions were made through 1958. The wayside is located on both sides of Oregon Highway 82, starting two miles east of Minam and extending for five miles along the banks of the Wallowa River. It is forested with ponderosa pine and some Douglas fir native to the steep sloping river canyon. There is a small picnic area in the wayside.
Wallowa Lake State Park - 165.80 acres, Wallowa County, located at the south end of Wallowa Lake, some six miles south of Joseph and 80 miles from LaGrande via Oregon Highway 82. The park is in two units. One, on the Wallowa Lake shore, was acquired by purchase and litigation between 1941 and 1954. The other, one mile south on the east fork of the Wallowa River, is an 18-acre tract leased from Pacific Power and Light Company from 1954 onward.
The park was created to provide public access to Wallowa Lake and the pleasant forested area at the inlet of the Wallowa River. Trees present are cottonwood, ponderosa pine, Douglas fir, with some western larch and grand fir. It is extensively developed for both day use and overnight camping. The park is popular with anglers, hikers, swimmers and boaters.
Wallowa Lake is a glacial lake at the base of the heavily glaciated Wallowa Mountains. This range is in the Wallowa-Whitman National Forest and includes the renowned Eagle Cap Wilderness. Wallowa Lake State Park is a base from which visitors can explore the mountain country and the approaches to the Hell's Canyon National Recreation Area on the Snake River.
"Wallowa" is believed to be a Nez Perce word describing part of a stick-framed fish trap of the kind used by the Nez Perce Indians on the Wallowa River.
Washburne State Wayside - 37.3 acres, Benton and Lane counties, located on Oregon Highway 99W at the Benton-Lane County line, four miles northwest of Junction City. The property was purchased from William C. and Mae E. Washburne in 1926. It is a nearly flat Willamette Valley farm woodlot, which contains a fine second growth Douglas fir forest. Over the years a small part of it has been developed as a roadside picnic area.
W. B. Nelson State Park - 2 acres, Lincoln County, located on Oregon Highway 34, one mile east of Waldport. It was given to the state by W. B. Nelson in 1959. The park is a small spruce forested area on the west bank of Eckman Slough extending to the highway, where there is a picnic area and boat dock.
Willamette Mission State Park - 1,686.17 acres, Marion and Yamhill counties. Located off the Wheatland Ferry Road, 12 miles north of Salem on both sides of the Willamette River. The Wheatland Ferry landings are situated near the center of the holding. The park was acquired between 1971 and 1982 by purchase and litigation and by gifts of land from Marion and Yamhill counties as well as the State Land Board.
The area is one of five river-oriented greenway parks authorized by the 1973 Oregon State Legislature to serve public recreational needs along the Willamette River. It is an attractive river bottom location offering many day use opportunities for boaters, anglers, and general river recreation users.
The park occupies land on which the nucleus of Oregon's first mission to Indians was founded in 1834 by the Reverend Jason Lee and his band of Methodist missionaries. Members of the Methodist Mission were later active in the formation of Oregon government. In 1841, the mission headquarters was moved to Salem and eventually the land at the Willamette station was sold to settlers such as Daniel Matheny, who started a ferry across the Willamette at this place in the early 1850s. As successor to Matheny's Ferry, the present day Wheatland Ferry represents the longest continuing service of its kind on the Willamette.
Willamette River Greenway - 4,021.12 acres, Benton, Clackamas, Columbia, Lane, Linn, Marion, Multnomah, Polk and Yamhill counties. Located along the Willamette River and its middle and coast forks extending over 255 miles from St. Helens to Cottage Grove. Lands were acquired by exchange, gift, purchase and lease between 1972 and 1985. Former Oregon Governors Tom McCall and Bob Straub, in particular, supported a plan for preservation, public access, and long-term recreational use of the Willamette River. The Willamette River Greenway program was endorsed by the Oregon Legislature in 1967 and 1973. Since that time, the program coordinated by the State Parks and Recreation agency in close cooperation with other governmental entities has involved designation of over 50,000 acres as potential greenway. The Parks agency has developed 43 small public river use sites within the greenway which are improved for boat access, fishing, hiking, primitive camping and related activities. In addition, there are numerous local parks and five major state parks that occur in the greenway corridor.
Willamette Stone State Park - 1.60 acres, Multnomah and Washington counties, located on Skyline Boulevard, four miles west of downtown Portland. The property was acquired in 1945 to preserve the origin point of the land survey system for Oregon and Washington. The park is a small forest tract surrounding the site of a stake in a concrete apron marking the point of intersection of the Willamette Meridian and Willamette Baseline as established June 4, 1851, by John B. Preston, first surveyor general of Oregon. It was from this fixed point that all lands in the public domain in Oregon and Washington were sectioned. There is a parking area and trail to the current monument, re-dedicated in 1988.
William M. Tugman State Park - 560.30 acres, Coos and Douglas counties, located off the Oregon Coast Highway (U. S. 101), eight miles south of Reedsport at the Douglas-Coos County line. The park was acquired between 1962 and 1976 through gifts from the Oregon State Game Commission and purchase from private owners. The park protects the public access to and use of Eel Lake, which over many years had become partly filled with logging debris. The lake was cleaned out by the Game Commission prior to its transfer for park purposes. The area has been extensively developed for camping and day use, including boating and swimming. The name commemorates William M. Tugman (1894-1961), prominent newspaperman of Eugene and Reedsport. Tugman headed Governor Paul Patterson's State Park Advisory Committee, which made the important citizens' report and recommendations on State Parks in 1956. He became the first chairman of the State Parks and Recreation Advisory Committee, which was formed in 1957.
Wilson River Highway Forest Wayside - 790.99 acres, Tillamook and Washington counties, located along the Wilson River Highway (Oregon Highway 6) for 21 miles between Glenwood and Tillamook. The tracts were acquired by purchase and gift from 1931 to 1973. Originally, 3,166 acres were obtained to protect forest alongside the highway and the Wilson River. Most of the area was burned in the Tillamook fires between 1933 and 1951. In 1951, 2,426 burned acres were transferred to the Oregon Board of Forestry in exchange for land at Oswald West State Park and along the Wilson River. Between 1950 and 1953, Tillamook school children planted trees to aid in reforestation of the wayside. The wayside is undeveloped.
Winchuck State Wayside - 6.80 acres, Curry County, located between the Oregon Coast Highway and the Pacific Ocean on the north bank of the Winchuck River, near the California-Oregon State line. The holding was purchased from a private owner in 1964 as a possible beach access site. Because highway access is difficult, the area is undeveloped.
Wolf Creek Tavern State Wayside - 3 acres, Josephine County, located off Interstate Highway 5 at Wolf Creek. The tract was purchased in 1975 from a private owner to protect an historic tavern, or hostelry located on the former stage road from California to Portland, the general course of which later was developed as the old Pacific Highway. The holding includes the tavern and its immediate setting on the north bank of Wolf Creek at the community center. The exact construction date is undocumented, but the large wood frame building with its colonnaded two-story front porch is believed to have been built between 1873 and 1880. Considered a fine example of the dozens of similar way stations once associated with the network of early roads and trails in western Oregon, it was restored under state and federal auspices and is operated as an inn under state concession. It was dedicated as a state wayside on February 15, 1979.
Wygant State Park - 666.73 acres, Hood River County, located on the south side of Interstate 84, some seven miles west of Hood River (east bound access only). Land for the park was acquired between 1933 and 1978 by purchase and gift. The original 251.50 acres were given by Simeon Reed Winch and his wife, Olivia, and mother, Nellie, in 1933 in honor of Winch's grandparents, Theodore and Margaret Wygant. Theodore Wygant was an Oregon Trail pioneer of 1850. The Highway Commission agreed to commemorate the Wygants in the name of the park. Hood River County also gave land to the park.
The park is forested, steep-walled Columbia River Gorge land. In the 1930s, day use developments, including trails, were made by the Civilian Conservation Corps. With reconstruction of the Columbia River Highway to freeway standards in the 1960s, public access to the park was restricted to trails.
Yachats Ocean Road State Wayside - 79 acres, Lincoln County, located off the Oregon Coast Highway (U. S. 101) on the south side of the Yachats River in the town of Yachats. The property was given to the state over the period 1931 to 1962 by Equitable Trust Company, George P. Stonefield and Lincoln County. The wayside protects access to the Yachats River at the river's meeting with the Pacific Ocean. It is a spruce-forested tract backed by ocean front homes. There are minimal day use facilities.
Yachats State Park - 93.6 acres, Lincoln County, located off the Oregon Coast Highway (U. S. 101), at the west edge of Yachats, and bordering the Yachats River at its entrance to the ocean. The park was acquired by purchase from private owners and gifts from Lincoln County and L. P. Gill in the period 1928-1986. Yachats Park protects a public fishing location and also preserves the fish spawning sand along the beach. The rocky ocean-front park is popular with anglers and day-use ocean viewers.
Yachats is an Indian word which is thought to mean "at the foot of the mountain." The steep face of Cape Perpetua rises just south of Yachats.
Yaquina Bay State Park - 32 acres, Lincoln County, located along the Oregon Coast Highway (U. S. 101) in Newport at the north end of the Yaquina Bay Bridge. It overlooks the mouth of Yaquina Bay and its entrance into the Pacific Ocean. The property was given to the state by the U. S. Lighthouse Service in 1934 and 1971. It is a spruce and pine forested bluff containing an historic lighthouse later used as a lifeboat station. The lighthouse has been restored and is open to the public. The park originally was developed for day use in 1930s by the Civilian Conservation Corps.
The old lighthouse at the harbor entrance was erected in 1871 but was discontinued in 1874 in favor of the Yaquina Head Lighthouse several miles to the north. The Yaquina River is named for the Indian tribe that traditionally occupied the drainage territory. The adjoining city of Newport is a busy fishing and commercial port very popular with summer travelers.
In 1988, a Yaquina Bay State Park cooperative association was created by agreement with the Oregon State Parks and Recreation Division. The group provides information for visitors and tours of the lighthouse.
Yoakam Point State Wayside - 25.52 acres, Coos County, located two miles west of Charleston, adjoining the Cape Arago Highway. It was purchased from private owners in 1968 and 1969 after negotiation and litigation. The wayside is a rocky point forested with spruce and pine and jutting out to sea near the mouth of Coos Bay. Spectacular ocean views are available from the point. It is undeveloped at present.
Last Updated: 06-Aug-2008